We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whitewater

35 South Steyne, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
+61 2 9977 0322
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good31%
  • Average21%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“affogato” (5 reviews)
“fish chips” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
35 South Steyne, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Greeted nicely by a kind waiter with long hair, wasn't introduced to him so I am not sure of his name. After that, our waiter changed 3 times. We ordered the pale ale and a glass of white wine, which took a long time considering...More

Thank RachelSilveira
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Right on restaurant strip on the beachfront. Classy decor. Service a little slow to start - but other than that good. Calamari was wonderfully tender - and the salad serve large and good quality (pine nuts/Parmesan). Others at table had good food too (personally I...More

Thank amr100
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After wandering along the street looking at menus at every restaurant we settled for Whitewater....glad we did... Great service.. the little English girl couldn't be nicer and got me bread that wasn't on the menu! My partner had the angus beef and for once didn't...More

Thank WeekendTraveller1969
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Hi there! Thank you for visiting us at Whitewater and leaving such a kind review! We love the feedback on the food, but even more so about the service! We hope to welcome you back again soon! Whitewater Management and Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here last night after a failed attempt at The Bavarian which I'm afraid I cannot recommend. I was greeted politely, brought menus and asked if I wanted a drink, this was miles ahead of the last place I tried! But enough of that, I...More

Thank Mal H
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Hi Mal, Thank you for visiting us at Whitewater, and for leaving such a positive review! We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back here again soon! Whitewater Management and Team

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Decided to stop here for lunch and the food was amazing. I had swordfish with chips and my son had kids fish and chips. We both enjoyed our food alot.

Thank LeighBristow
Management response:Responded 18 August 2017

Hi Leigh! We are so happy you and your son enjoyed your visit to Whitewater! We really appreciate your review and we hope to see you here again soon! Whitewater Management and Team

Reviewed 6 August 2017

Service was pretty good on arrival, I was given a choice of table outside or near heaters. It is across the road from the ocean. Decor was lovely and place welcoming. However when I received my coffee, not one but both were lukewarm and coffee...More

Thank ingarr2016
Management response:Responded 18 August 2017

Hi there! Thank you for visiting us at Whitewater, and for your review! We do appreciate all the feedback we get especially if it helps us to improve! We do apologise you didn't have a great experience and I am very keen to rectify this,...More

Reviewed 24 July 2017

Great service, good varied menu, and a warm cosy restaurant on a cold windy night. Well priced meal.

Thank KPG2503
Management response:Responded 26 July 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to see that you enjoyed your night with us. We hope to see you back at Whitewater in the near future! - The team at Whitewater

Reviewed 18 July 2017

Yes it's right opposite Manly beach, prices are reasonable but the food is a bit average. Tempura Barramundi is not what was served up. Small piece of fish ( nice) in a thick batter, serve of chips and no sign of even a scrap of...More

Thank Mark F
Management response:Responded 18 August 2017

Hi Mark, Thank you for your review we do appreciate all feedback especially if it allows us to improve. We do apologise you wasn't to happy with your visit, but all feedback will be passed on and we hope you give us another shot! Whitewater...More

Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Good service, good food. Enjoyable, relaxing and fuss-free mid-week family lunch overlooking Manly beach!

Thank Jim L
Management response:Responded 15 July 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us here at Whitewater! We hope to see you here again soon! - The Team at Whitewater

Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

We went for a late lunch after walking around the seafront. We shared grilled cauliflower, and bruschetta, with our coffees, The food was delicious, and the service was prompt and efficient.

Thank Tenorman41
Management response:Responded 6 July 2017

Hi Tenorman41, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are always happy to hear that our customers have enjoyed their experience here at Whitewater. We hope to see you back here in the near future!

Nearby
Manly
A 40-minute ferry ride from Circular Quay will take
you to the famous northern beach of Manly. The beaches
here are perfect for learning to surf or spending the
day sun-tanning. The walk from Spit Bridge to Manly is
a great way to experience Sydney Harbour Bay and the
Australian bush land. Along the foreshore, there are
plenty of watering holes and wine bars with excellent
cuisine. There are plenty of kid-friendly restaurants
...More
Nearby Restaurants
The Pantry Manly
733 reviews
.10 km away
Manly Grill
537 reviews
.02 km away
Manly Fish Cafe
208 reviews
.08 km away
Bluewater Cafe
330 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
4 Pines Brewery Tours
117 reviews
.39 km away
Manly Beach
5,766 reviews
.04 km away
Joel Coleman Gallery
13 reviews
.20 km away
Manly Ocean Adventures
158 reviews
.35 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Whitewater staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$17 - US$32
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover
Good for
Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 21:30
Monday
11:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:30
Thursday
11:00 - 21:30
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 35 South Steyne, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Sydney  >  Manly>  > Manly
  • Neighbourhood: Manly
  • Phone Number: +61 2 9977 0322
  • E-mail
Description
A Contemporary Australian Menu, Whitewater Restaurant is popular with Sydney siders looking for that extra special seaside experience. Sit back and relax Whitewater's chic beach house atmosphere with a glass of wine and an exquisitely prepared meal. Here gorgeous water views, an impeccable menu, sharp service, great coffee and subliminal wine list all combine to create the perfect dining experience. A fabulous degustation tasting menu is available for dinner for something special, plus the kids are welcome too with a special kids package.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing