We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kookaburra Hotel

$$ - $$$, , Vegetarian Friendly
125-127 Grampians Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
+61 3 5356 4222
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“crepes” (24 reviews)
“beef cheeks” (16 reviews)
“duckling” (15 reviews)
Open Now
6:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Gastropub, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
125-127 Grampians Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Did not know what to expect from the outside of this “hotel Restaurant “ as its not really a hotel.as such ,but once inside a great place to eat a meal. As

Thank Linlou64
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is deceiving, looks like a pub but it is more like a restaurant. Staff were friendly, menu had variety though somewhat a little pricy, big meals, not your traditional ‘pub fare’, definitely with a different taste and style, not bad.

Thank NY4DM
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We decided to come here for some food while in the area. We had the fillet steak and the kangaroo. Both came out with a very nice sauce and cooked to perfection. They also had the somerset cider thatchers gold. We would be coming back...More

Thank Alex P
Reviewed 1 week ago

I tried this place again to take small group trips. We just want good food. If you're after good food (at any cost), keep driving and head to the Royal Mail in Dunkeld. It's OK, but you're better to pay more and get fabulous! It...More

Thank Sharon_Wildlife
RickHeinrich, Owner at Kookaburra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your comment. We are a hotel not a two hat restaurant and if you choose to drive the extra hour to go to Dunkeld then that is your choice . You are right in adding the rider "at any cost" We try to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sadly dinner options are limited in Halls Gap for quality food. This pub meal was soggy, flavourless, low in quality and disappointing! A real waste of money.More

Thank katev78
RickHeinrich, Owner at Kookaburra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

When you complained that you thought that the schnitle that you had ordered was not properly thawed it was explained to you that we do not use frozen products but that we hand make them daily and they are pan fried as opposed to being...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was highly recommended for their meals. We arrived early and our table was available which we appreciated The service was average. The meals were also average given the prices they charged all in all to write home about.

Thank sandie2705
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We didnt have a reservation and were made to feel a little unwelcome to begin with. Food came out quickly despite staff warning us we may have to wait a while. The food was a little pricey but that is to be expected in a...More

Thank RumiAlex
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice spot for a pub lunch. We had the blackened barramundi and crispy duckling, both excellent. We found it quite pricey ($35+ for both, desserts about $14) but it was a nice treat.

Thank Melody W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Didn't have a booking but was accomdated even though very busy. Foid was of a high standard, reasonably priced and we eerent kept waiting for long. Worth a visit

Thank Louise B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Dinner for family of 4, upper price pub meal but good quality. Bill for 2 drinks each and 2 adult meals and 2 kids just under $200More

Thank camm275
RickHeinrich, Owner at Kookaburra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am surprised at the amount that you claim to have spent. Adult mains are around $35 and Kids meals $start at about $15 wine by the glass is $9. By my estimation you should have spent around $120 at the most. Please check your...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Halls Gap
Mountain Grand Guest House
94 reviews
.06 km away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
217 reviews
.23 km away
Halls Gap Motel
133 reviews
.31 km away
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
266 reviews
.37 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Coolas Ice Creamery
320 reviews
.30 km away
Livefast Lifestyle Cafe
737 reviews
.36 km away
Spirit of Punjab
535 reviews
.43 km away
Nearby Attractions
Venus Baths Loop
84 reviews
.96 km away
Steve Morvell Wildlife Art
32 reviews
.38 km away
Chatauqua Peak
26 reviews
.97 km away
Mount William (Mount Duwil)
21 reviews
.68 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
JenD195365
19 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Geoff D | Reviewed this property |
No idea.
0
Votes
Kraz2013
24 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Teck29101972 | Reviewed this property |
Open on some public holidays but best to call to confirm
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$31
Cuisine
Gastropub, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 125-127 Grampians Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Grampians  >  Halls Gap
  • Phone Number: +61 3 5356 4222
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing