We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Village Larder

$$ - $$$
Cafe, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
81 High St, Woodend, Victoria, Australia
0354273399
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 110: English reviews
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
848 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nothing special about this place, but on Easter Monday we did not have much choice. Disorganised and untidy, with average staff. I ordered soup which was OK but overpriced at $18. Their sign says "Licensed" but little choice

Helpful?
Thank croftonMelbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017

I couldn't believe how bad this experience was. From cramped seating to terrible service and boring, stingy food. Our first waitress appeared to be off with the fairies, this was later confirmed when she forgot one of our orders and one of our party was left without food while the rest of our table ate. I don't know how it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mithril_Mayhem
Helen M, Owner at The Village Larder, responded to this review

I sincerely regret that your experience was such. We often receive fantastic verbal feedback regarding the quality of our meals. We use high quality, local produce and we prefer to go for quality rather than quantity. As for the service, I can only say sincere apologies. Whenever we receive a booking, we make every effort to ensure ample space is... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Seated outside to enjoy the autumn sunshine I had an hour to kill before a business meeting. I ordered lunch and a beverage and was asked to pay immediately as "the staff had trouble keeping an eye on outside." (Why have tables outside if the staff can't handle them?) I said if I pay now, do we have to go... More 

Helpful?
Thank Parp2013
Helen M, Owner at The Village Larder, responded to this review

Interesting post. Our outdoor tables are signed to pay and order inside as is also our front counter. The reason being people can easily forget whether they have paid or not when enjoying the Autumn sunshine. We were equally stunned when you came inside and asked us to return your credit card (which we never took). Point in order being... More 

Woodend, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

A group of friends and I met here for a cup of coffee to discuss a potential community group we wanted to form. The staff were really great at letting us loiter even though we didn't spend big bucks. I thought that was incredibly kind as we were taking up substantial covers during prime coffee time. Coffee was nice, ok... More 

Helpful?
Thank DrBronsterMonster
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Went with friends for brunch. Children had been before and recommended the french toast. Went with their recommendation, sorry I did as 1 small slice of bread with a skinny bit of banana for $17 is crazy! (I didn't have the bacon $20) I left feeling very hungry. Hubby had the same, not impressed either. 2 bowls of granola for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank muinchkin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Waited for 40 minutes for the worst over cooked bacon and eggs coupled with a terrible coffee. Avoid the poor service and the long waits

Helpful?
Thank MoorooducVic
Helen M, Owner at The Village Larder, responded to this review

We hear you. Our 40 seat cafe was swamped with a couple of hundred people due to a concert so yes there was a long wait and most customers understood this. We were running with two brand new baristas due to unforseen illness and accidents and did the best we could under the circumstances. We are sorry your experience was... More 

Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

This place has great coffee and they serve it nice and hot. The rustic decor is very comfortable and inviting. We also had on of the chocolate brownies because they had been suggested by a friend and it was delicious!

Helpful?
2 Thank nebochard
Essendon, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

This was a lovely place that has a good range and great coffee. Staff were friendly and the range of food would satisfy the fussy, the paleo, and the chocoholic! It's an eclectic vibe without hipster over the top things that can be annoying

Helpful?
2 Thank naomi3040
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

The coffee was very good, and the service friendly. All the dishes sounded really interesting but the two we had were quite bland and not constructed practically (kind of hard to eat).

Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh M
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Paid $19 for a tuna nicoise salad that I was assured did not use canned tuna. It came out with tasteless canned tuna; chef apologized; the cashier hadn't known they were out of real tuna and were using canned, so I ordered another salad of cauliflower and a deep fried egg. It was half the size; not even a main... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Christine R

Travellers who viewed The Village Larder also viewed

Woodend, Macedon Ranges
Woodend, Macedon Ranges
 
Woodend, Macedon Ranges
Woodend, Macedon Ranges
 
Woodend, Macedon Ranges
Woodend, Macedon Ranges
 

Been to The Village Larder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 81 High St, Woodend, Victoria, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Macedon Ranges  >  Woodend
  • Phone Number: 0354273399
Description
Telephone + 61 3 5427 3399

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Village Larder staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?