We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bistro Henry

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1942 Depot St, Manchester, VT 05255-8404 (East Manchester Road)
+1 802-362-4982
Website
Monday
Closed
Hours:
Sun 17:00 - 21:00
Tue - Thu 17:00 - 21:00
Fri - Sat 17:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 214: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

From service, to food, to wine list, everything about this place was just about excellent. While my wife's filet mignon was a bit overlooked, this could have been a simple misunderstanding one we knew could have been resolved but she said no it was fine. My veal shank was perfect as was my friend's pepper steak. Desserts were out of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris G
bistrohenry, Owner at Bistro Henry, responded to this review

Chris, Thanks so very much for the kind words. I especially appreciate your taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. We strive to be the best we can be. Everynight. Thanks, Henry More 

Wayne, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Ate at the Bistro two nights in a row. Food was excellent and the service and staff were warm and attentive. Each night there was a nice selection of well cooked meals. On Thursday evening the chef even served us. The food exceeded our expectations and Chef Henri did a fine job on his preparation of each meal. I've passed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael K
bistrohenry, Owner at Bistro Henry, responded to this review

Hi Michael, Thanks so much for taking the time to share your satisfied guest testimonial! I am especially delighted to know that we will see more of you. Make sure to say hello on you next visit. Glad to have another regular customer. Thanks again, Henry, Dina & the staff of Bistro Henry More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Recommended by a friend. Driven by it several times before. Steaks were cooked perfectly. Waiter was attentive and friendly. Enjoyed the food. Would return again next time we are in Manchester.

Helpful?
Thank Adam S
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Albeit a busy weekend but the hostess, bartender and server were rude and not welcoming to guests, even those with reservations. They were clearly overwhelmed but it's no excuse and if we had another option I would have left right then and there. The server's attitude greatly improved once we sat down clearly working on her gratuity. The fried calamari... More 

Helpful?
Thank SMAO64
bistrohenry, Owner at Bistro Henry, responded to this review

Hi Sally, I am sorry your conclusion was that you are underwhelmed and not coming back. That is never our intention. We were quite busier than expected and because patrons were not closely adhering to reservation timing, our ability to manage our customer flow was severely compromised. Perhaps some of the staff felt that pressure and were not as gracious... More 

NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Ultimately we ate a nice meal. We were there for an hour and a half before our entree's came. Maybe it took longer because it was a holiday weekend but the restaurant was not completely full.

Helpful?
Thank familywith2kidsNj
bistrohenry, Owner at Bistro Henry, responded to this review

Hi familywith2kidsNj, I am really sorry you waited an inordinate amount of time for your dinner. Please accept my apologies. We did break records this holiday and we were short staffed due to a team member who lost someone, but that is not really an excuse. The plain and simple is that we screwed up and i hope you will... More 

Niskayuna, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2017

We were very disappointed with the food. The crab cakes as an appetizer were made with thin shredded crab and uncooked red peppers. They were not hot when served. My husband ordered veal marsala and was described as veal madallions but was "veal for stew" 'and a very small portion. It was tough and at $32 was criminal. I ordered... More 

Helpful?
Thank jadagem
bistrohenry, Owner at Bistro Henry, responded to this review

Hi jadagem, I am truly sorry you were very disappointed by your dinner at Bistro Henry. I wish we had been able to make it right while you were here. It would have been easier to take care of in person, rather than via the internet. My humble apologies. Henry More 

NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Bistro Henry catered our New Years Eve dinner at the Green River Inn in Sandgate! 30 delighted revelers enjoyed hazelnut crusted pork medallions with an awesome gravy, tasty chicken piccata and delicious chicken Marsala with several wonderful side dishes including perfectly roasted rosemary potatoes, freshly baked bread, salad and pasta. All delivered with easy to follow serving instructions. So happy... More 

Helpful?
Thank lmshlsras
Saylorsburg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Every time we are in Manchester we seem to eat here. Service is always friendly and quick, food is great and the environment is casual. We love it and we'll keep coming back!

Helpful?
Thank Lindseyrc
nyc
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2016

although the setting is simple in keeping with the country environment, the food is very good. not heavy as is much of the food in the restaurants in the area. the service is friendly and efficient. we definitely would go back there if we were in the area

Helpful?
Thank diane119
Carmel, New York
Level Contributor
443 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Our experience was varied by the dishes that were ordered. Some things were quite good (bread, steak, dessert). Other dishes fell down (Caesar salad, chicken francaise). If you are a fan of salt, you'll be very happy. Service was terrific.

Helpful?
1 Thank milliegordon2

Travellers who viewed Bistro Henry also viewed

 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Bistro Henry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$18 - US$50
Cuisine
Italian, French, American, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations
Dining Style
Fine Dining
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 21:00
Thursday
17:00 - 21:00
Friday
17:00 - 21:30
Saturday
17:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1942 Depot St, Manchester, VT 05255-8404
    (East Manchester Road)
  • Location: United States  >  Vermont (VT)  >  Green Mountains  >  Manchester
  • Phone Number: +1 802-362-4982
Description
BISTRO HENRY has been delighting local and visitor alike for over 20 years with a unique blend of French & Italian and for our next 20 years bring you Steakhouse! I guarantee you will be delighted as well. The lovely restaurant on top of the hill is also the home of Henry's Summer BBQ & Dina's VT Baking Company. There is a large deck with beautiful views for a relaxing cocktail or outdoor dining. The spacious restaurant can accommodate private dining and we will cater nearly any type of party with our talented chefs, don't forget our Authentic BBQ. Year round we offer our $25 Three Course from 5-6 PM nightly and all night on Tuesdays (3 courses $25). I hope to see you soon. - Henry Bronson, Bistro Henry

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bistro Henry and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Massena, New York
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bistro Henry staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?