We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YE OLDE TAVERN

5183 Main St, Route 7a, Manchester, VT 05255-9772
+1 802-362-0611
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good24%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pot roast” (100 reviews)
“apple butter” (118 reviews)
Open Now
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5183 Main St, Route 7a, Manchester, VT 05255-9772
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Neither my husband nor or I found the food to be very good. We both felt it was overpriced and neither one of our meals was memorable.More

Thank 2getherwelove2travel
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for dining with us. I am sorry you were disappointed with your meals, I only wish you would have expressed that immediately so we could have corrected the situation to deliver the fantastic experience that is expected of our tavern. If you're ever...More

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Went there on Saturday night. After cancelling the reluctant panther. I liked the menu better at this place. Service was great and great prime rib. Classic place for dinner

Thank Dan B
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dan, Thank you so very much for the lovely review. I'm delighted to know you enjoyed everything about your Saturday night meal here. 'Til next time, cheers! Michael

Reviewed 4 days ago

The food was REALLY good! My wife always says the true test is if you need to add seasoning. We did not and everything was perfect. They offered the lobster mac & cheese as an appetizer and we were sooooo glad we got it! I...More

Thank CBR0107
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing experience here at Ye Olde Tavern. We would like to express our gratitude for the 5* rating & your kind words about our historic atmosphere, awesome staff & delicious food. Your motivating words keep us...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went for dinner. The building is truly old and very interesting history. The food was ok. Not spectacular. I had pot roast and my husband had turkey. Both were very uninspired. Not bad, just very basic meat and potatoes. Service was excellent.More

1  Thank Liz G
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Liz, We appreciate you sharing feedback about your experience at our historic tavern. We are thrilled you enjoyed the atmosphere, but we wish we had the opportunity to know that you were disappointed with your food while you were still at the dining. We strive...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Due to an impending thunderstorm, we made early reservations. Rarely do we dine early enough to qualify for the early bird menu, however that night we did and were pleasantly surprised. The waitress was pleasant, attentive and efficient. The décor was eclectic, interesting and quite...More

Thank JohnHistory
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

John, With a User-Name like 'JohnHistory' our c.1790 tavern should be right up your alley. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such positive feedback about your evening. The Early Bird Menu is a favorite with our guests and we are glad...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic service, beautiful food, all severed in a historic Inn. As English customers, it was lovely to see the Patriotic Inn and it's history. Very popular place, and it's evident why.More

Thank Ruth_Ryan
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Ruth, Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We are so glad you enjoyed your experience here at our historic tavern. It is always nice when visitors from other countries dine with us and can appreciate our Taverns 'True Americana' atmosphere. We look forward...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped here for our anniversary dinner while we were in town & loved the food. The service was excellent & the food was exactly what we wanted. The dessert menu looked fabulous, but we were too full to try any. The building has tons...More

Thank Artist-teacher4BES
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We are glad that you decided to celebrate your anniversary at our historic Tavern. We provide the perfect setting in which to showcase our Chef’s exciting creations. It is great that you enjoyed our food and stenciling. Historic buildings tend to have uneven floors. We...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Decent Food and service. Historic setting. New England type dishes with some variety. Decent wine at reasonable prices.More

Thank Fabe-Zippy
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for dining with us and taking the time to share your thoughts. We review all feedback about our guests dining experiences. We are happy that you appreciated our historic building and found our food, wine and service to be good. Hopefully, we will...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This restaurant is a must on a visit to Manchester simply because of its historic building and cozy dining experience. But you definitely will not be disappointed by the food and service. Our family tried various entrees and apps from the menu and all received...More

1  Thank KWLV
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for joining us recently. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit with us and would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We would be delighted to welcome you back again...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved the atmosphere at Ye Olde Tavern. Food & service were pretty good. We were a little chilly & waitress adjusted the direction of the fan on the AC unit away from us. We had an infant with us & they were very accommodating.More

Thank Wifey1979
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Love your TripAdvisor Name!!! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our historic tavern. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere and fare and that our team were able to resolve any a/c issues and ensure that you...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Manchester
Palmer House
369 reviews
.28 km away
Aspen at Manchester
127 reviews
.69 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
193 reviews
1.00 km away
Casablanca Motel
238 reviews
1.08 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Mrs. Murphy's Donuts
135 reviews
.47 km away
Zoey’s Deli & Bakery
125 reviews
.63 km away
Cilantro Taco
241 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Comollo Antiques
7 reviews
.76 km away
Tilting at Windmills Gallery
5 reviews
.69 km away
Backroad Discovery Tours
144 reviews
.51 km away
Northshire Bookstore
257 reviews
.50 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
roadtrip815
16 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from TheTavernCrier | Property representative |
Thank you for the inquiry about shipping our maple butter. Unfortunately we do not ship it, do the fact of the weight and that it would have to be next day air. If you are ever in the area and it is before opening time, we... More
0
Votes
Amy E
11 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from TheTavernCrier | Property representative |
Thank you for the inquiry about the historic Ye Olde Tavern. Our Early Bird Menu is offered Sunday-Friday from 5:00-5:59pm (you just need to be in the building by this time). It is not available during peak periods, such... More
1
Vote
NewtownBobby
19 October 2016|
Answer
Response from TheTavernCrier | Property representative |
We just got your message. As we focus our energy to our guests, we check TripAdvisor every other day and do not accept reservations or table requests via online websites. I just looked in the reservation computer and did... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$19 - US$34
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5183 Main St, Route 7a, Manchester, VT 05255-9772
  • Location: United States  >  Vermont (VT)  >  Green Mountains  >  Manchester
  • Phone Number: +1 802-362-0611
  • E-mail
Description
Ye Olde Tavern is open daily... Cocktails start at 4:30pm and Dinner is from 5:00pm with last seating at 9:00pm. Reservations are always suggested. Our Tavern is handicapped accessible and attire is casual neat. Ye Olde Tavern has private rooms for meetings and special events, such as Brunch, Lunch, Dinner and Cocktails. We can serve up to 90 people in the entire circa 1790 Colonial Inn.The State of Vermont has recognized our circa 1790 Colonial Inn as a 'Green Restaurants'. Wine Spectator & Wine Enthusiast Magazine have recognized our Wine List as one of the best in the country. Minna & Michael Brandt- Proprietors Cassandra Bender- General Manager Cliff Cooper- Executive Chef Reservations are suggested.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing