We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
American, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
17-39 West Rd, Manchester, VT 05254-0678 (Seminary Road)
+1 802-362-2568
Website
Today
17:30 - 21:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 17:30 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 173: English reviews
Sausalito
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were in Vermont last week for Thanksgiving and decided on the Reluctant Panther. It's always exciting trying a new restaurant that seems to have good reviews. But, unfortunately, this Thanksgiving meal was very, very disappointing. We started with the complimentary amuse bouche what was given to us but not explained. Served in a Chinese soup spoon, it was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank C V
Sean B, General Manager at The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear CV, Thank you for joining us for your Thanksgiving meal. We are quite disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your meal. It appears we may not have connected with you properly during your visit to have understood your dismay. We only wish you had raised any one of your concerns from your thorough review with us at... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After the disappointment of the Equinox Resort the Reluctant Panther was a total breath of fresh air. Service was friendly and efficient and the food excellent. The Chefs here can really cook. We had a memorable evening, thanks to all.

Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
Sean B, General Manager at The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Anthony, Thank you for your recent visit and thoughtful review! We are delighted you enjoyed your experience and will gladly share your thoughts with all the team. We hope to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Sean Burpee General Manager More 

Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friends and I had a nice meal here on Saturday night of Halloween weekend. Wait staff was helpful and friendly, nice range of offerings on the menu (something for everyone), with drinks and dessert came in at about $500 for four. Lovely atmosphere, very cozy, highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank mlledeparis
Sean B, General Manager at The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear miledeparis, Many thanks for your recent visit and fun evening with friends! Your thoughtful review is greatly appreciated, thanks for sharing! Safe travels, we hope to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Sean Burpee General Manager More 

Chaumont, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at The Reluctant Panther Inn for three nights, enjoying the late and warm leaf-peeping season in Manchester. Our wonderful experience staying at the inn is reviewed elsewhere. The evening of our second day, we ate in the dining room of the main inn, a very charming room with a view of Mt. Essex (I think)... More 

Helpful?
Thank JLG689
Sean B, General Manager at The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear JLG689, Wow! Thank you for your exhaustive review, it was fun to read! We are delighted to know you enjoyed every aspect of your culinary experience. Chef Sigal and her brigade, as well as the front of house team, take great pleasure in providing you with such a memorable evening. The Pheasant is soooo good, isn't it? If I... More 

Goldthwaite, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

A colleague and I shared a meal at Reluctant Panther based on the reviews. The salad was just super. The entree, through was a different story -- a shared ribeye gave each of us about 6 bites. The rest was fat. The side was good.

Helpful?
Thank texaswoman13
Sean B, General Manager at The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear texaswoman13, Many thanks for your recent visit to our Restaurant, we appreciate your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience, though apologize if our Dry Aged Ribeye was not trimmed to your preference. Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon! Warm regards, Sean Burpee General Manager More 

Katonah, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

We ate dinner one night at the restaurant, but stayed at a different hotel (sadly, because the Panther was booked!). The restaurant is a gem, with an imaginative seasonal menu, and real attention to details. This is definitely a fine-dining place, and not to be entered-into whilst on a budget. The staff is polished and professional. While my wife and... More 

Helpful?
Thank kpk232
Sean B, General Manager at The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear kpk332, Thank you for your recent visit to our Restaurant and your thoughtful review of your overall dining experience. We are sorry to learn we could not also welcome you to the Inn for your visit to Manchester. On your next trip, you might consider our two night 'Epicurean Package', including delicious welcome amenities and a three-course meal in... More 

Helmond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
437 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2016

We had dinner here twice when stying in the inn. The first time the food was much too slaty. The duck confit was good however. The icecream was nice, but the bread pudding was too dry. The pork chop was nice but not special. The prime rib was good. It is rather expensive however. Breakfast is very good.

Helpful?
Thank Hans_10
Sean B, General Manager at The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Hans_10, Many thanks for joining us for dinner during your stay at the Inn. We appreciate your review of your experience. Please know, we always strive to make every meal a treat and will always respond in the moment to correct any issue, when we are aware of one. Safe travels, we hope to welcome you again in the... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
202 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016

My husband's favorite meal in Manchester was at this restaurant. Michelle, our wait person, was incredibly personable and gracious. My meal was also good and enjoyable. The restaurant is in an intimate setting with multiple servers/wait people always at the ready to serve. It was a luxurious meal, not rushed at all, and very relaxing. We would certainly return to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terry H
Sean B, General Manager at The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Terry H, Many thanks for your recent visit to the Reluctant Panther, we are delighted you enjoyed your experience! Michelle is but one of our shining stars - I will make sure to pass along your thoughtful compliments, thank you! Safe travels, we hope to see you again soon. Sean Burpee General Manager More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2016

Our dinner here was excellent and the waitress was also excellent! I am overly critical of the ambiance since I am an interior designer, so read the following with that in mind. Upon entering, my husband and I were both a little worried about the quality of the meal we were going to have based on the interiors. If this... More 

Helpful?
Thank 588cherieh
Sean B, General Manager at The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear 588cherieh, Thank you for your recent visit to our Restaurant, we are delighted you enjoyed your culinary experience. We always appreciate creative input and will take your thoughts to heart as we look for areas to improve. Safe travels, we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Manchester. Warm regards, Sean Burpee General Manager More 

Mineola, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016

The restaurant was beautiful. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. The menu had a little bit of everything.

Helpful?
Thank svilleboss
Sean B, General Manager at The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear svilleboss, Thank you for your visit to our Restaurant, we are grateful for your review! Both the Front and Back of house teams enjoy providing you with a memorable culinary experience - your thoughtful compliments will be shared with all! Safe travels, we hope to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Sean Burpee General Manager More 

Travellers who viewed The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$30 - US$55
Cuisine
American, Contemporary
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Fine Dining
Good for
Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
17:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
17:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
17:30 - 21:00
Thursday
17:30 - 21:00
Friday
17:30 - 21:00
Saturday
17:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17-39 West Rd, Manchester, VT 05254-0678
    (Seminary Road)
  • Location: United States  >  Vermont (VT)  >  Green Mountains  >  Manchester
  • Phone Number: +1 802-362-2568
Description
The Restaurant features the Panther's renowned gourmet farm-to-table cuisine and offers a sophisticated dining experience that is among the highest rated in New England.
The Patio Raw Bar is open seasonally offering Al Fresco dining for dinner in a less formal atmosphere. With views over the gardens and Mount Equinox, the Patio is a picturesque venue for a casual dinner.
The Panther Pub is open for special events, private group dining and receptions and offers an intimate private dining or meeting experience.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Carefree, Arizona
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?