We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Stanford Road, Stanford, Biggleswade SG18 9JD, England
+44 1462 812293
Website
Today
12:00 - 20:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 20:00
Mon - Fri 12:30 - 21:30
Sat 12:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 260: English reviews
Abergele, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights & used restaurant for breakfast, lunch & dinner. Food was excellent & staff were polite & attentive. We will visit again next year when we're in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Brian H
Mark A, General Manager at The Green Man, responded to this review

We look forward to seeing you again next year and your comments will be passed on to our staff so thank you More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here 2day with my daughter and a friend exerlent home made food very nice pub will diffently go there again lovely country pub

Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
Mark A, General Manager at The Green Man, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review More 

Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Excellent food and nice relaxing atmosphere. Large car park with children's play area. Nice country location will visit again

Helpful?
Thank trudgetts
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for us hope to see you again soon More 

UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016

We recently attended our son's wedding reception at The Green Man & we all had a wonderful evening. We found Mark & the staff very pleasant & accommodating. The food was well cooked & plentiful & the burgers are definitely a 'must try' from the menu. The accommodation has recently been refurbished to a very high standard and is clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank SilverD
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a great review regarding staff, food and rooms we will share your comments to all our staff, who all work hard to make sure things run as smoothly as possible. We are so pleased you all had a great time and hope to see you again in the future. More 

South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

Visited this restaurant for Sunday lunch, we were seated next to a party of around 30 or 40 people who were very loud including some of them who found it nessesary to gain attention by loud whistling which made it very difficult for us to hear each other, we did eventully ask to be moved which they did but maybe... More 

Helpful?
Thank stokesrob
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this review

We are pleased that your seating arrangement was resolved by our staff and hopefully you found it quieter for your party, unfortunately when we have large parties of people we do not know how loud or quiet they are going to be until they arrive as party to party differ all the time. Thank you for your remarks about how... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for somewhere to wait 2 hours for your main then this would be perfect! And then also to be charged for meals and extras which we did not order!? Food was of an average standard nothing special very disappointing as we were the only table in there other than a table of 25.

Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle S
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this review

So sorry that you had an unusually long wait for your meals and that you were disappointed, we do try to make everyones visit here a good one. Because all of our meals are cooked from fresh and made to order there is some waiting time and unfortunately if a large parties order has just gone in before yours there... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

The place has had a referb. Rooms are done to a good standard. Food is excellent. I can honestly say the pizza is the best I've eaten.

Helpful?
Thank James C
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we are grateful for good reviews such as yours. We hope to see you again soon More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We were a large group but had pre-booked so we were expected. Food took a very long time to arrive and did not arrive together, in fact some meals were missed from the order and some meals were incorrect. Staff were friendly and did their best to rectify the mistakes but it shouldn't really have happened. The food was ok... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darren M
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this review

So sorry that you had a long wait for your meals. If there is a party over ten we would prefer to have a pre-order this then guarantees that your party get the meal they would prefer and also it should cut the waiting time down, as all our meals are cooked to order with fresh ingredients this does unfortunately... More 

Shipley
Level Contributor
82 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2016

Called here when on a visit to the area. The pub was quiet for a Friday lunchtime and though we had booked we pretty much had a choice of tables. The internet menu varies from that on offer but nonetheless we made our selections. My wife chose the gammon which although a fair size it was very thin and well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan C
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this review

we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to us here at the green man, our waiting staff and chefs are here to try and make your experience a pleasant one. we hope that you may give us another try in the future. More 

Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016

If you like a wait and you have booked then go here An hour before the starters came out Food was average Prices a little high for the amount and quality of food Service no comment Bar prices high Bar staff not able to serve alcohol

Helpful?
Thank Jeanette J
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this review

thank you for your comments which we will take on board More 

Travellers who viewed The Green Man also viewed

Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
 
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
Northill, Bedfordshire
 
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Green Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$24
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:00
Monday
12:30 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:30 - 21:30
Thursday
12:30 - 21:30
Friday
12:30 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stanford Road, Stanford, Biggleswade SG18 9JD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Biggleswade  >  Stanford
  • Phone Number: +44 1462 812293
Description
Our Old English Restaurant with its oak beams, inglenook fireplace in our front bar and new log burner in our eating lounge room area which is very popular with our patrons especially in our winter months. Good quality meals are enjoyed in comfortable surroundings with a choice of our Chef's Specialities on the A La Carte menu. Our ever popular Sunday roast lunches are available from 12 noon.The restaurant seats approximately 150 guests and bookings for parties both large and small can be catered for. This includes weddings, see our wedding package on our website. You will receive a warm welcome if you choose full meal or a just drink at the bar. We have now launched our new senior citizens menu, two courses for £7.95 And three courses for £9.95. We also have a lunch deal available to all ages, this includes two course for £9.95 or three course for £11.95. We have also just launched our Christmas 2016 menu which is also available to view on our web site

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Green Man staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?