We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Palms Bistro and Venue

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
32 Wiroa Road, Kerikeri 0293, New Zealand
+64 9-401 7963
Website
Today
10:00 - 16:00
10:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 10:00 - 16:00
Thu - Sun 10:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 70: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2017

A lovely place in beautiful sub-tropical gardens. The food is pretty good but little things let it down. The lunch menu is too 'dinner-like' and could do with some smaller and less expensive options. Don't be afraid to ask for the breakfast menu, which gives better value. Service was poor: Salad dressings were requested and it took 15 minutes to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cris101
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2016

My wife and I dropped into the palm Bistro café for a leisurely brunch and both elected to have the “All day big breakfast.” at $21.00. It turned out to be the worst breakfast that we have had the displeasure to partially eat… The best that can be said was that there was a bountiful array of food, consisting of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Exaviator
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2016

We made a booking for breakfast for a table of 20. This location is awesome, Unfortunately the chef couldn't cope with a large booking, he seemed to have trouble producing soft poached eggs, most meals that were served had rock hard eggs, not the best for eggs benedict. The staff were very apologetic and offered free coffee. Unfortunate the breakfast... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ross B
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

My husband and I were in Kerikeri with our little dog and so were looking for somewhere to eat where she could be beside us and spotted this cafe sign. We were so glad we did - lovely service, fantastic coffee and wonderful food. The lovely manager even got our wee dog a drink. We plan to come back again... More 

Helpful?
Thank RachelleHod
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Visited this venue but was disappointed. Not a bad setting and the gardens are beautiful but the restaurant had little to offer. Service was slow and not particularly friendly. The food was alright but nothing special and the bill was very high.

Helpful?
2 Thank 634janeb
KERIKERI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Food fab, service excellent, plates not cleaned properly, loo rolls needed to be asked for, desserts to die for, well done guys.

Helpful?
Thank TROPHYKerikeri
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2016

A girlfriend and I ate lunch here on Wed.The place was very quiet at 2pm with one other couple eating.The gardens are of a sub tropical nature and make a nice setting.The food for both of us was very boring and pretty tasteless.The place lacks style and so do the meals.$11.00 for a glass of wine which I decided to... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah R
Nikki W, Manager at Palms Bistro and Venue, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review just to correct you on a coke of things you entered the restaurant at 230 pm not 2 as we had been full all day and were packing down re the wine you were offered house wine and turned it down and you were offered our wine from next door being Marsden estate... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Our organisation booked the Palms Bistro and venue for a function 12th November 2016. We could not have wished for better. The owners and staff are to be commended nothing was too much to ask for. The food is scrumptious, the coffee hot. 130 + very happy people. What a breath of fresh air there is still a venue that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shelley N
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We have tried to go to this restaurant for lunch several times in the past and recently. Each time it has been closed even on days it's supposed to be open. Saw other people pull in expecting the same. There is no sign to say they are closed - have even checked out the days they are supposed be open.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 171dee
Nikki W, Owner at Palms Bistro and Venue, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review we are open every week wed to sun for lunch at this stage and reopen for the summer for dinners in 2 weeks. We are always open during the week so a little confused with your review if we are closed it will be a private function as we are a venue for weddings and... More 

Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
182 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2016

This was the first time we had returned to the restaurant since new owners and we were impressed with the extensive lunch menu and specials board, You can choose to sit inside or outside. We were outside and there was a make shift marquee up which we think was to accommodate a function the next day, Hope it does not... More 

Helpful?
Thank KiwichickAuckland

Travellers who viewed Palms Bistro and Venue also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Palms Bistro and Venue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$28
Cuisine
Cafe, European, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
10:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 16:00
Thursday
10:00 - 16:00
10:00 - 22:00
Friday
10:00 - 16:00
10:00 - 22:00
Saturday
10:00 - 16:00
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 32 Wiroa Road, Kerikeri 0293, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Northland Region  >  Bay of Islands  >  Kerikeri
  • Phone Number: +64 9-401 7963
Description
Palms bistro and venue is open Tuesday to Sunday from 10 am to 4pm serving breakfast/ brunch,lunches a range of fresh coffees and teas, as well as a full bistro menu. We are also have a very extensive kids room we are open on Thursday Friday and Saturday sunday evenings from 5.30pm for Dinner. Bookings for lunch or dinner are welcome, in fact highly recommended. The bistro is fully licensed to serve a range of wines, beers and spirits. Please enquire if you have a wedding, special event or occasion in mind, the garden and cafe make a perfect venue and is available for private hire. The garden at Palmco is rated as a "Garden Of National Significance' by the NZ Horticultural Society. The pictures attached provide a preview, but a visit is an absolute must if you are in the Bay of Islands at anytime. Kids room on site with movies and things for the kids to do Free Internet wifi

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Palms Bistro and Venue staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?