We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Swan Terrace Restaurant

5641 Indian River Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23464-5247
+1 757-366-5777
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good17%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (35 reviews)
“bread pudding” (14 reviews)
“salad” (32 reviews)
Open Now
7:00 AM - 10:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Italian, American, Wine Bar, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5641 Indian River Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23464-5247
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food was amazing! The blt salad was enough for four people. We had the lamb chops which were divine! The salmon was prepared perfectly. Very impressed with four and service!!

Thank 581pattiv
Melissa G, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

581pattiv, Thank you for spending your night out with us! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed both the food and the service. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

Reviewed 1 week ago

The breakfast buffet has many options. It is overpriced, but it is a nice setting. The restaurant is overpriced for lunch and dinner, but you are also paying for convenience of location.

Thank Sunsetbaby418
Melissa G, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sunsetbaby418, Thank you for this feedback regarding our Swan Terrace Grill. As I mentioned in the other response, we will create specialty menus and buffets for your group the next time now that we have this feedback. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family party of 11 ate here for a 9 am reservation on 12/24. We were about the first people who arrived for the brunch. The food was very good, many choices. Service also very good. I thought the price was a bit high at...More

Thank Ron T
Melissa G, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Ron T, Thank you for spending Christmas Eve morning with us! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and variety of offerings. We hope that you will make this a family tradition. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

While the staff was extremely friendly and warm, and the food was ok, we were disappointed in the ambience. We were in search for something more intimate like Aberdeen Barn, who didn't have their buffet this year. We had a table for 3 near a...More

Thank Easycritic01
Melissa G, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Easycritic01, Thank you for this valuable feedback regarding your Christmas Buffet experience. We are sorry that you felt cramped in your seats and we would have been happy to move you to a different table if we had known. I will make sure our chef's...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We’ve been here twice for Christmas brunch. The food isn’t the greatest, it’s not the worst either. We go because the restaurant is gorgeous, waitstaff is generally very attentive. Our reservation was at 11AM, party of 6. Food- it was decent. Only complaint- the salmon...More

Thank VCJD
Melissa G, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

VCJD, Thank you very much for the feedback and for spending Christmas with us. We wish that you had said something to us about the seating because that is a very simple, easy fix that could have made your visit more enjoyable. We cannot fix...More

Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

My wife and I have been coming to the Swan Terrace for breakfasts when we visit the Founders Inn and Spa for the past three years. While we always enjoy our breakfasts here, the food was even better than we remembered. Plus Emily N took...More

Thank christopherhN6249YV
Melissa G, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

christopherhN6249YV, Thank you for being such a loyal guest for the past three years. It is always nice to see familiar faces in our Swan Terrace Grill. You are in great hands with Emily and we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us....More

Reviewed 10 December 2017

We stayed one night at the Founders Inn and were anxious to try out the Swan Terrace after reading the good reviews. The hotel was decorated quite nicely for the Christmas season and quite festive. We were seated at the restaurant promptly at our reservation...More

Thank lovlee
Melissa G, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

lovlee, Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am sorry to hear that you were not overwhelmed with our food and we could have done a better job with our food variety. I appreciate...More

Reviewed 26 November 2017

There are many better alternatives within a few miles of this place. The food is not particularly good and the staff would rather be somewhere else.More

1  Thank pecheurdetruite
Melissa G, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

pecheurdetruite, Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience in our Swan Terrace Grill. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the food or the staff. This is not the standard feedback that we receive and we are sorry you experienced less...More

Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Great place to take a big group! The buffet is on the pricey side, but the selection was worth the splurge. Our wait staff was very attentive. Leave room for dessert as the bread pudding is a real treat.

1  Thank 3prios
Melissa G, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

3prios, Thank you so much for your feedback regarding our Swan Terrace Grill. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the food and the service. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

Reviewed 3 November 2017

We absolutely love the Swan Restaurant at the Founders Inn! Wonderful value, excellent food and cheerful service really enhance the elegant vibe that greets you in the morning. For dinner the ambiance changes slightly to allow a quiet and intimate setting for a private dinner...More

Thank DeeLillian
Melissa G, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

DeeLillian, Thank you for your comments about our Swan Terrace Restaurant! We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit and we can't wait to see you again for our Illumination event. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 109 hotels in Virginia Beach
The Founders Inn and Spa
1,193 reviews
.05 km away
Wayside Motor Inn
1 review
3.32 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Chesapeake
787 reviews
3.74 km away
Extended Stay America - Chesapeake - Greenbrier Circle
73 reviews
3.81 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Hunt Room
26 reviews
.10 km away
Papa's Greek Restaurant & Pizzeria
28 reviews
1.20 km away
Red Ribbon Bakeshop
26 reviews
1.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Relax the Feet
34 reviews
4.66 km away
Cloud 9 Trampoline Park
52 reviews
3.71 km away
Cinema Cafe
54 reviews
4.56 km away
Eagles Nest Rockin Country Bar
9 reviews
4.34 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Frank S
20 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Douglas B | Reviewed this property |
Simi-formal in the evening Business casual during day
1
Vote
gdy2shws
12 May 2016|
Answer
Response from Melissa G | Property representative |
I checked our reservation system and we have you scheduled for Sunday Brunch on May 22 at 1:15. This is a full brunch menu (breakfast items and lunch items) and not an afternoon tea. Thank you very much.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$40
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Discover
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, View, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5641 Indian River Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23464-5247
    (Centerville Turnpike)
  • Location: United States  >  Virginia (VA)  >  Virginia Beach
  • Phone Number: +1 757-366-5777
Description
'Fresh, local cuisine with a touch of Southern elegance.' The award-winning Swan Terrace Restaurant takes guests on a sensory journey inspired by both regional and authentic Colonial dishes. The menu features locally grown fruits, vegetables and the freshest seafood as well as prime beef, lamb and pork prepared to perfection. Dine by the fireplace or alfresco on the lakeside terrace.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing