We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterfront

$$ - $$$, Barbecue,
269 Fontana Blvd, Abbey Resort, Fontana, WI 53125-9604
+1 262-275-9034
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good42%
  • Average19%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“cod” (6 reviews)
“burgers” (10 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 4:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, Barbecue, Grill, American
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
269 Fontana Blvd, Abbey Resort, Fontana, WI 53125-9604
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Good service, casual dining and good food. Stop here for a cocktail in the afternoon with a great view of the harbor.

Thank Captaincarl_11
Adrienne S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review and for choosing our restaurant! I'm happy that your enjoyed your dining experience and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our restaurant.

Reviewed 1 week ago

The all you can fish was based on you placing your first order and afterwards they bring you one piece of fish at a time. That was unexpected however at the same time it was funny because it was six of us and we all...More

Thank WestsideSouthside
Adrienne S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your dining experience. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our Waterfront Management Team. We do hope you give us another chance as we will definitely improve our...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Slow service for being off-season and only 10 customers. Food okay. A few annoying flies kept buzzing us (gross).

Thank TJOswego
Adrienne S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your candid feedback. I am sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with your visit to The Waterfront. We have sent your feedback to the restaurant management team.

Reviewed 16 October 2017

It is amazing how different restaurants in the same facility can vary. The Waterfront at the Abbey missed all the boats. Can you imagine waiting 45 minutes after the second round of drinks for the wrong hamburger? Only two other tables and a half filled...More

Thank Jimgo
Adrienne S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am very disappointed to hear that you found our service to be below your standards. We have sent your feedback to the personnel concerned I apologize for this bad experience. We hope you can give us another chance to make it up to you.

Reviewed 3 October 2017

This is the casual side of dining at the Abbey Resort. The food was fine , although not at the same level as the inside restaurant 240 west. It's perfect for a casual lunch or dinner by the harbor.

Thank JoyceM715
Adrienne S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you, we hope to welcome you back to the restaurant in the near future!

Reviewed 9 September 2017

On our recent stay my wife and I had lunch here. The food was finger licking good. They serve decent portions, try the cheddar soup! They also had live entertainment which was nice.

Thank Jose D
Adrienne S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for all of your positive comments! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Waterfront.

Reviewed 6 September 2017

Waitress was incredibly unfriendly, food was good but service terrible. We sat outside on the patio and enjoyed the view. Also it was my granddaughters birthday and the hostess told us they would bring her a surprise dessert. However the waitress told us they didn't...More

Thank 145jjwi
Adrienne S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

I am very disappointed to read about your visit with us. I am very sorry for the issues you faced. Please note that this information has been passed on to our concerned Restaurant Manager. Despite this, we hope to be able to welcome you back...More

Reviewed 29 August 2017

We had lunch and dinner in this restaurant and really enjoyed it. The service was very good (Thank you Jesse) and the food was very tasty.

Thank marvinm242
Adrienne S, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

I appreciate your positive feedback about our restaurant! We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area again soon, don't hesitate to stop by!

Reviewed 26 August 2017

So if i could give it zero stars I would. Went last Friday night. August 18, 2017. No hostess so walked around until we found someone. She suggested outside seating because there was a kids birthday going on and it was loud. Okay. Took about...More

Thank brownieLuv2trvl
AbbeyFontana, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

We have sent your feedback to the restaurant manager. I sincerely apologize for this bad experience. This is very disappointing to hear, but we hope you give us another chance to make it up to you. Please direct message me with your phone number so...More

Reviewed 16 August 2017

we were told there would be a 10 minute wait on a Sunday night at 7:00. We waited almost a half an hour even though the restaurant was over half empty and when we were called, our table wasn't set, so we stood around it...More

Thank Y4813BWbills
AbbeyFontana, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear that your experience in The Waterfront was not up to par. Please note that this information has been passed on to our concerned team. Despite this, we hope to be able to welcome you...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Chuck's Tavern
101 reviews
.38 km away
240 West
159 reviews
.04 km away
The Coffee Mill
55 reviews
.34 km away
Gordy's Boat House Bar & Restaurant
227 reviews
.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Waterfront at The Abbey Resort
73 reviews
.00 km away
Yerkes Observatory
220 reviews
2.99 km away
Belfry Music Theatre
104 reviews
6.18 km away
Highfield Farm Creamery
5 reviews
6.68 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Waterfront staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$30 - US$30
Cuisine
Bar, Barbecue, Grill, American
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 269 Fontana Blvd, Abbey Resort, Fontana, WI 53125-9604
    (Highway 67)
  • Location: United States  >  Wisconsin (WI)  >  Fontana
  • Phone Number: +1 262-275-9034
  • E-mail
Description
The Abbey Resort's very own Waterfront Restaurant is known for its casual, laid back vibe. It's the perfect place to unwind, either on the patio or indoors, and serves lunch, dinner or drinks. We use the techniques of award-winning Pitmaster Matt Whiteford to create specialties like the Waterfront's famous mouthwatering barbecue, salads and wraps . The Friday Fish Fry is a fun and delicious experience, especially when there's live entertainment. And did we mention drinks? From Wisconsin's own Spotted Cow beer to signature cocktails like the Bloody Mary with a touch of bacon (yes, bacon!), you're in for a one-of-a-kind experience. There's also a full children's menu and take-out.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing