We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Up In Smoke

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
94 South Main Street, Buffalo, WY
+1 307-217-2290
Website
Sunday
Closed
Hours:
Fri - Sat 16:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 71: English reviews
Sheridan, Wyoming
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016

We visited after the summer crowds had gone back to their own states. Up in Smoke was limiting their hours after summer, but really the place was full on Friday night in September. I think that even though the clients filled all the seats inside and out, you could reasonably refer to the ambiance as intimate. We had the all... More 

Helpful?
Thank William C
California, USA
Level Contributor
1,089 reviews
529 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

nice outdoor seating area. friendly stuff very attentive brat 2 sides and api beer $20. recommended meutermedia

Helpful?
Thank MeuterMedia
Pleasant Hope, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2016

Since my husband LOVES BBQ, we decided to stop here for our first meal during our 3-day stay in Buffalo. We opted for the outdoor patio, and loved the cozy atmosphere and hanging planters everywhere. We decided to order the 2-meat entree with 2 sides and split it. We always like to try a local draft beer, and a tasty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beth D
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2016

This is THE WORST place to eat in Buffalo. The "barbecue" is enhanced with Liquid Smoke, the sides are bad (our coleslaw was way to the left of spoiled that it was bubbling it was so fermented) and the owners are downright liars and cheats. I am not sure why anyone goes to this place. Seriously. Drinks can range anywhere... More 

Helpful?
Thank EpicTraveler2110
UpInSmoke94, Owner at Up In Smoke, responded to this review

Wow, an epic rant. If you have read this review please scroll down to others. We rarely get crucified like this. As for Epic Traveler, allow me address your issues... we do not use liquid smoke, our cole slaw does not bubble, those drink prices you listed are standard, I really don't intentionally keep my head down and pretend not... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Buffalo for one night, and stopped into this place for dinner. It was a good experience. We both had brisket, which was very good. Local beers on tap for $4. Service was friendly. We got plates, and total came up to around $40 including premium sides and beer, for 2. Not cheap, but a fair price. Place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gabe D
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2016

The ribs are fantastic. So is the cole slaw. Dining inside can be problematic (except in the winter), but the back patio is a great place in the summer. Tiny, tiny insides, but worth it if only for the ribs!

Helpful?
Thank Cynde G
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Sometimes it can get annoying trying to find a place to eat when you're vegetarian... Especially in a very small town. Luckily, this delightful, delicious restaurant gave both myself (veggie) and my boyfriend (carni) great options! Fair priced, and good beer. It's also located in what seemed to be an old house, so it does get pretty cozy!

Helpful?
Thank samseyapril
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

If i could give 0 stars, I would. We're locals and like to support local businesses, but this is one I would avoid. We had a bad experience at this restaurant two years ago that involved them charging us $15 for a plate of chips and passing off a frozen pizza crust as their own. We explained our extreme dissatisfaction... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R. H
UpInSmoke94, Owner at Up In Smoke, responded to this review

Michael, dishonest just doesn't apply. I did respond to your last complaint and apologized because there was obviously a mistake on the $15 charge and it wasn't a plate of chips. The extra charge for the mac and cheese is stated plainly on our menu. We charge extra for this side because of the cost of the ORGANIC products we... More 

wyoming
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2016

It is an obvious favorite with the locals as it was packed and loud. We were able to find a table and tried the bruschetta appetizer, which was good. They serve local beers that are also gold. The pulled pork was delicious, the brisket a bit dry and the Mac n cheese is out of this world.

Helpful?
Thank WyomingMomof3
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2015

We ate on the patio which had alive band - it was extremely loud - we could not have any conversation, We shard the fried pickles which were very good and a Pizza which was also very good. Just couldn't hear ourselves think!

Helpful?
Thank twofergusons

Travellers who viewed Up In Smoke also viewed

 

Been to Up In Smoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$7 - US$29
Cuisine
Barbecue
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Cash Only
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Friday
16:00 - 23:00
Saturday
16:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 94 South Main Street, Buffalo, WY
  • Location: United States  >  Wyoming (WY)  >  Buffalo
  • Phone Number: +1 307-217-2290
Description
Texas style BBQ. Serving ORGANIC fresh made food everyday. All our food is cooked in house, no artificial colors, chemicals, flavorings, high fructose corn syrup or take out styrofoam in our place. We have many menu items that are GLUTEN FREE.
We serve hand stretched artisan pizzas, weekend specials that are not BBQ. We have a full bar and an extensive SINGLE MALT SCOTCH SELECTION. WE HAVE 10 WYOMING MICROBREWS ON OUR TAPS and we serve Wyoming made spirits. Join our DRINK 307 program or take home a growler.
Our PATIO is open in the summer and we have LIVE MUSIC ON THE PATIO.
It's a fun, energetic place with a laid back attitude serving great food and cold beer.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Up In Smoke staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?