We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jeanne D'arc

715 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
+1 415-421-3154
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good26%
  • Average4%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“souffle” (76 reviews)
“escargot” (49 reviews)
“rabbit” (46 reviews)
Closed Now
French, European, Vegetarian Friendly
$$ - $$$
715 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Very unique restaurant. Downstairs, but the waitstaff, owner and historic decor made for an unexpectedly enjoyable dinner and a memorable experience.

Thank h0ust0ndave
Reviewed 1 week ago

Jeanne D'arc is located on Bush Street in soutch San Francisco, CA. Small restaurant, but so well cooked esp Chcken Shorma and Biryani. I just loved them with melton souce and shrimMore

Thank udaym2016
Claude L, Owner at Jeanne D'arc, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It is nice of you, dear udaym2016, to post a nice review but, we are not sure that you had our restaurant in mind. We are located between Union Square and Nob Hill, not south of San Francisco, and we do not serve "Chicken Shorma...More

Looking for a great restaurant?Our global travel community is ready to help.
Join TripAdvisor
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hosted a party of 8 here, every single person loved their entree. Personally I had the Lapin (rabbit) which was outstanding. And the souffle, WOW, beyond words. Can't beat the wine prices, really reasonable - a Chateneuf du Pape for $66!! Only negatives - small...More

1  Thank Joe H
Claude L, Owner at Jeanne D'arc, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Joe H, Good to be called a little bit of Paris. We thank you very much. Glad you enjoyed your dinner in our Restaurant Jeanne d'Arc. Some of our waiters may not speak perfectly well but they are faithful and hard working which is...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We go to SF several times a year and are always looking for small restaurants. This little restaurant is very conveniently located near Union Square just off Powell. The restaurant is in the basement of a small hotel. It is a pre fix 4 course...More

Thank SDTraveler033
Claude L, Owner at Jeanne D'arc, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear SDTraveler, We shall be delighted to have you in May. We are very happy that you enjoyed your dinner at our restaurant and liked our decor which is may be, more Orleanais than Parisian... (Jeanne d'Arc). We are very grateful for your kind review....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A San Francisco friend has urged me to go to this restaurant in the Cornell Hotel on Bush for months. We celebrated our birthdays together in Paris several years ago and it was almost like reliving the experience. I felt we would walk outside and...More

Thank Carol W
Claude L, Owner at Jeanne D'arc, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Carol, We are very grateful for your praising review and the generous five- star rating. So glad, you enjoyed your dinner at our restaurant Jeanne d' Arc. Good to know that you intend to come back to our place. We shall welcome you with...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located inside the Cornell Hotel is this wonderful restaurant offering a 4 course Prix Fixed meal at a very reasonable rate. Currently at $52.00 as of this review (2018). The meal includes soup, choice of salad, choice of main course: from fish, rabbit, lamb, and...More

1  Thank G-Whz
Claude L, Owner at Jeanne D'arc, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear G-Whz, So grateful for the well detailed, praising review that you posted on TripAdvisor. We are glad you appreciated so much our Restaurant Jeanne d'Arc, the cuisine and what we offer. We are ready to welcome you again. Warm regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place was stuffy, though apparently not all agree. Our waiter was abrupt, and spoke neither French nor English very well. The Prix Fix was high, and though I expected savory food at a French Restaurant, it was mundane. Nothing to write home about.More

Thank Jeffrey56
Claude L, Owner at Jeanne D'arc, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jeffrey56, Sorry we were not able to please you. We did not fully, understood the words of your review. Some of our waiters are not very articulate but..... rude? The place is hardly stuffy,,, a lot of space between tables! What is your meaning...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Paintings, statues and lots of laundry irons (I had to look it up, so do you) decorate this small basement restaurant in the Cornell Hotel de France. Service was excellent and the prix fixe menu had considerable options. We brought our own wine and we...More

Thank Phil4765
Claude L, Owner at Jeanne D'arc, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Phil, We are very happy you enjoyed coming to our restaurant Jeanne d'Arc. and liked our menu, service and decor that sometimes customers failed to notice. Thank you very much for the kind words of your review and the generous five- star rating. Warm...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed our evening at Jeanne D’Arc. Ordered the watercress soup, escargot, lamb loin and soufflé for desert. Dishes were nicely presented. Food came out in a timely fashion. Service was attentive. Only draw back was the strolling violinist decided to stop strolling, instead she poured...More

Thank Heidi R
Claude L, Owner at Jeanne D'arc, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Heidi, Thank you very much for complimenting our restaurant Jeanne d'Arc. Glad you enjoyed our menu, service and presentation. Sorry the violonist stopped strolling "too long" when "she should have been strolling again". She has been with us so long.. Visit us again, it...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a delicious dinner at Jeanne d’Arc. AND it was a beautifully paced, beautifully served dinner too. There is plenty to be said (positively) for this traditional menu. The prix fixe constraint should not deter you! The portions are large and we were not...More

Thank SMFSanFran
Claude L, Owner at Jeanne D'arc, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear SMF, Happy to know that you had a delicious dinner at our restaurant. Thank you for your kind and positive words when describing our traditional menu, the way it is served. We may be one, if not, the last authentic French restaurant in San...More

Union Square
Originally home to rallies supporting the Union Army
in the Civil War, this grand square has become the
city's premier shopping and entertainment district
containing the largest number of upscale department
stores, chic boutiques, art galleries and theatres in
the city. It's a large open area where tourists and
locals gather, watch cable cars and crowds go by,
enjoy a snack, or plan their day of shopping and
Nearby HotelsSee all 231 hotels in San Francisco
Cornell Hotel de France
1,839 reviews
.01 km away
The Grant Hotel
1,078 reviews
.05 km away
The Orchard Hotel
2,912 reviews
.06 km away
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
789 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Roxanne Cafe
832 reviews
.03 km away
Uncle Vito's Pizzeria
1,238 reviews
.02 km away
Last Drop Tavern
211 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dragon's Gate
69 reviews
.08 km away
Saks Fifth Avenue
39 reviews
.17 km away
The Color Factory
11 reviews
.14 km away
450 Sutter Building
9 reviews
.11 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Carol L
2 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Philip C | Reviewed this property |
No, there is only the menu. It would be a good move to offer dishes without the menu
Google Translation
Mary B
19 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Robert L | Reviewed this property |
In the basement of the Cornell Hotel de France, 715 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402.
21 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 2Freckles | Reviewed this property |
I think you would have to call them directly. They seem very accommodating but they do have a great wine list and a lot of split bottles to choose from as well.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$52 - US$60
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 715 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
  • Public Transportation: Cable car at Bush/Powell
  • Location: United States  >  California (CA)  >  San Francisco>  > Union Square
  • Neighbourhood: Union Square
  • Phone Number: +1 415-421-3154
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing