We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moby Dick's

3225 State Hwy Rte 6, Across from Gull Pond Road, Wellfleet, MA 02667-7054
+1 508-349-9795
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good25%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (238 reviews)
“steamers” (92 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3225 State Hwy Rte 6, Across from Gull Pond Road, Wellfleet, MA 02667-7054
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've been going to Moby Dick's for many years and absolutely love it! The thing that makes them great is they always prepare the food exactly right. Cooking seafood can be a tricky business, and Moby Dick's is consistently amazing! Love them!

Thank parisusaparis
I979DXtoddb, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

It's an honor to have your continued support -- thank you! We can't wait to serve you again soon. Until then, Todd B, Owner

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Huge menu. Lots of variety. Everyone in our party was able to find something to eat. Everyone who works there are very nice. The building itself also has that classic seafood place. A great find.

Thank Owen D
I979DXtoddb, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Owen, I'm glad you're such a fan of the selection we have to offer! Thanks for your kind words. We can't wait to serve you again soon. Until next time, Todd B, Owner

Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Always great food and friendly responsive service BYOB always reduces any tab and allows you one more meal out Freshest seafood prepared the way I would cook it at home... perfectly

Thank SharonLynnRule
I979DXtoddb, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

It's a pleasure to have you as a fan, Sharon! We can't wait to have you back for more fresh seafood next season. Till then, Todd B, Owner

Reviewed 30 October 2017

Thought I had reviewed this already since we ate there 3 times during our visit this spring. We loved it almost every time. Whole belly clams were just great. Order at the counter and they bring your dishes to the table. My wife did get...More

Thank rkw321
I979DXtoddb, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thanks for leaving your review -- I'm so glad you're a fan! We can't wait to see you both next season. Till then, Todd B, Owner

Reviewed 13 October 2017

If you love seafood this is the place for you! If you don't love seafood your choices are very limited. The grilled chicken was so dry I couldn't cut into it. However the blue cheese wedge salad was great as was the key lime pie....More

Thank Linda C
I979DXtoddb, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Linda, we know we reached out on another platform, but we wanted to reiterate how much we appreciate your feedback. Your seafood should always be served to perfection, so we hope for another shot at those five stars next season! Best, Todd B, Owner

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Have driven by over the years,glad we finally tried it out! Beef tips were very tender and tasty, as we're the scallops. The corn on the cob and a baked potato rounded the meal out. Friendly staff, clean resturant, good food, we'll be back next...More

Thank bill_of_prospect
I979DXtoddb, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thanks for giving us a try! Glad it was a hit. Hope to see you next season! Best, Todd B, Owner

Reviewed 7 October 2017

Have ordered lobster on two visits, one year apart. The lobsters were tough on both occasions and not at all sweet. Also disappointing were the tasteless steamers. Will not return.More

Thank Barry O
I979DXtoddb, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Barry O, Sorry to hear that your visit did not meet your expectations. We buy only the best - local hard shell lobsters and Chatham steamers. That said, I wish you had let us know that you were not happy and we would have fixed...More

Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Touristy. Average food. Grilled shrimp on salad was over cooked. Fried calamari was small and tasteless. Friendly staff.

Thank Masters0558
I979DXtoddb, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

We always want to wow you with our food, that's for sure! It''s wonderful that the staff left that personal mark, but we hope to knock your socks off next season. Best, Todd B, Owner

Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We visit the Cape every October. We always find time to come to Moby Dick’s. This year was no exception. Great clam strips - my personal favorite. My husband had Pan seared scallops which he said was also fabulous. We enjoy the casual atmosphere!

Thank BA1991
I979DXtoddb, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thanks for coming to visit! Glad it was a great time. From the atmosphere to the meal, we always want it to be a hit. Hope to see you next season! Best, Todd B, Owner

Reviewed 5 October 2017

There were eight of us on a Saturday night, so we had to wait about a half hour for a table, which turned out to be upstairs at a large picnic table. Ordered at the counter before being seated, and food was brought to us....More

Thank Antonia R
I979DXtoddb, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Antonia, thanks for coming by for a visit! It's wonderful that you all enjoyed yourselves this much. Hope to see you all next season for a great meal. Love and lobster rolls, Todd B, Owner

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Wellfleet
Mainstay Motor Inn
52 reviews
3.42 km away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
190 reviews
7.01 km away
Wellfleet Motel
238 reviews
8.21 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
264 reviews
8.81 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Mac's Shack
546 reviews
1.44 km away
Winslow's Tavern
475 reviews
1.01 km away
The Wicked Oyster
419 reviews
1.36 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wellfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary
318 reviews
1.18 km away
Wellfleet Public Library
45 reviews
.98 km away
Duck Harbor Beach
35 reviews
1.24 km away
Wellfleet Historical Society Museum
11 reviews
1.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jbieber4
23 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from jowburston | Reviewed this property |
At lunchtime no. Don't know about dinner, but I guess yes.
0
Votes
Charliesgirl1963
12 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Abigail M | Reviewed this property |
Dress code is casual
0
Votes
VFRowe
2 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from revmeister62 | Reviewed this property |
I have only been there June - August. They are probably seasonal. Sorry you missed a great lobster.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3225 State Hwy Rte 6, Across from Gull Pond Road, Wellfleet, MA 02667-7054
  • Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Cape Cod  >  Wellfleet
  • Phone Number: +1 508-349-9795
  • E-mail
Description
Closed for the winter. See you May 2017

When we first opened Moby Dick’s in ‘83, we had no idea we’d become an establishment on Cape Cod. We simply wanted to start a BYOB restaurant that had fresh seafood, a relaxed environment, and a friendly staff that would make people feel at home. Well, three decades later, we’re still doing exactly that, opening every season in May to the delight of locals and visitors alike. Some people stop in for our lobster rolls while others come for an old-fashioned bucket of steamers. But everyone knows they can come to us for fresh family fun and a dining experience in Wellfleet they'll never forget.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing