We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


1100 W 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-3350
+1 907-222-5212
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good38%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“fried rice” (14 reviews)
“steak” (10 reviews)
“scallops” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
1100 W 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-3350
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

My wife and I had dinner there very recently and couldn’t be happier with our choice. The food was cooked perfectly to our order, tasty and healthy!

Thank Tom R
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Our dinner at Benihana was super good. We had a very large group and everyone enjoyed their food. Portions we're more than enough. Our wait time was minimal and service was excellent. My order got messed up a bit but they quickly corrected it with...More

Thank BrooksHaines
Stay in the know!Get the latest updates on restaurants and more in Tyler.
Join TripAdvisor
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The sushi menu is small, and all made by frozen fish. Go there if you want to eat teppanyaki. The teppanyaki show looks good and exciting. The pricing is midrange.

Thank Balu_Dakar
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Balu, On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We will be sure to share it with our Guest Relations Team.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Made reservations for early dinner. Got there early, so we sat at the bar and had a drink and appetizer. Drinks where good, the gyoza was just alright. Reservation time came, so we went to the hostess station. Stood there and we weren't even acknowledged....More

Thank Kevin R
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kevin, Your feedback is appreciated. We will be sure to share your kind words with the team.

Reviewed 4 February 2018

Maybe the food is great, but we finally left after being seated and waited we for 20+ minutes for a staff member to come by. Other guests looked famished - didn't look like much food was being served. That was our only time to this...More

Thank Christine G
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Christine, we understand your disappointment as this shouldn't have happened. From behalf of our team here at Benihana, we sincerely apologize for the negative experience. Please take a moment to reach out to our Guest Relations team directly via benihanalistens.smg.com/ so that we can make...More

Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

And they handled us well! The show is as good as the food. And the food is tasty. The group was 15 in count and I heard no complaints. A couple of us big eaters thought we were going to still be hungry were not....More

Thank Robert D
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Robert, We appreciate you dining with Benihana, thank you for the kind words!

Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Attended with seven family members for a weekend birthday lunch. Service was excellent as was our personal chef. As he was preparing our food he was entertaining and he paid attention to each person’s order very closely to ensure it was seasoned as they wanted....More

Thank johnellisak
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

John, Our goal is to create great guest memories. We are pleased to hear we were able to do so for you and your family.

Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

Good downtown location off the Delaney Park Strip. Benihana is popular for teppanyaki. We opted to eat in the lounge/bar area. My friend had a birthday certificate by signing up for the Chef’s Table program to receive a $30 certificate emailed on his birthday every...More

Thank MarktheWay
Benihana M, Owner at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience!

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Very entertaining but the restaurant layout is minimal compared to other Benihanas I've been too. Still, they have great food at great prices and it is always a fun place to go with a group of friends.

Thank dedicated2run
Reviewed 22 September 2017

The cook for our table of 8 people was great. The food was great and he barbecued over the fire well. A definate for Anchorage.

Thank Michele176210
Nearby HotelsSee all 74 hotels in Anchorage
Clarion Suites Downtown
466 reviews
.06 km away
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
197 reviews
.11 km away
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
724 reviews
.31 km away
The Voyager Inn
299 reviews
.38 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Snow City Cafe
2,334 reviews
.47 km away
The Crow's Nest
400 reviews
.45 km away
Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill
1,814 reviews
.40 km away
251 reviews
.44 km away
Nearby Attractions
Alaska Center for the Performing Arts
102 reviews
.59 km away
Resolution Park
117 reviews
.58 km away
Dena'ina Civic & Convention Center
32 reviews
.52 km away
Holy Family Cathedral
19 reviews
.46 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Benihana staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$21 - US$30
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Takeout
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
1:00 PM - 9:00 PM
11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:30 PM
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1100 W 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-3350
    (Between 8th and L street)
  • Location: United States  >  Alaska (AK)  >  Anchorage
  • Phone Number: +1 907-222-5212
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing