We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant Castell De Besalu

C/Pont 2 | Local-bajos derecho, 17850, Besalu, Spain
+34 872 20 80 40
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good41%
  • Average16%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“nice garden” (2 reviews)
“nuts” (2 reviews)
“gardens” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Spanish, Grill
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
C/Pont 2 | Local-bajos derecho, 17850, Besalu, Spain
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017

The food here is cheap. The set menu was about €13, including some wine. My wife had a massive goats cheese salad, but her main of chicken rolled with dates/ nuts was very poor. My pork broth to start was lukewarm, and my hake as...More

Thank Idler
Castelldebesalu, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Restaurant Castell De Besalu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario.

Reviewed 20 July 2017

Went there intending to have lunch, waitress sat us at the terrace, it wasn't full. We were served drinks but waited for half an hour & no one came to take our orders. We asked 3 times but all staff said another colleague will attend...More

Thank gilliancartel
Castelldebesalu, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Restaurant Castell De Besalu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017
Google Translation

Lamentamos el inportunio.Miraremos de solucionarlo. Muchas gracias

Reviewed 14 July 2017

I have been to this restaurant 3 times now but have eaten here just once. The first time I had a nice meal with my partner at the terrace overlooking the medieval bridge. I thought this would be a nice place to take visitors. The...More

Thank Glen M
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Deservedly cheap as not good, even the waiters seemed apologetic. Wine undrinkable.but melon starter redeemed it. Brilliant biew though but not enough to change our opinions of the restaurant. Best avoided once you have seen the view

1  Thank Denise C
Castelldebesalu, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Restaurant Castell De Besalu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017
Google Translation

Agradecemos su comentario,intentaremos solucionar los problemas. Muchas gracias.

Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

We did not have a reservation, but was able to get a table out in the gardens within half an hour. However, so much on the menu was unavailable that our choices were limited. It is a busy restaurant and perhaps as it was a...More

Thank Jackie B
Castelldebesalu, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Restaurant Castell De Besalu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario. Thanks.

Reviewed 9 June 2017

I ate a salad with nuts and goat cheese, and it was the best salad I ate during my trip to Spain. The restaurant has great views and it was busy even thought it was 3pm. The servers were fast and very nice.

Thank silviadventures
Castelldebesalu, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Restaurant Castell De Besalu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario. Thanks.

Reviewed 6 June 2017

one of the hi marks from visiting Besalu, was sitting at the terrace in this restaurant, overlooking, the river, bridge and old Besalu from our table. Very good service, food and wine were also nice addition

Thank iglana
Castelldebesalu, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Restaurant Castell De Besalu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por dejar su comentario. Thanks.

Reviewed 31 May 2017

Average food, average service, no real interest in clients, waiters almost don't speak English. Nice garden.

Thank LevAri
Castelldebesalu, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Restaurant Castell De Besalu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por dejar su comentario. Thanks.

Reviewed 17 May 2017

The food is local, fresh and is good value. The staff are busy and brisk and while functional it doesn't feel like a warm welcome. Our kids were given out to for putting their hands into the water fountain. For a Spanish owned family restaurant...More

Thank Shevzo
Castelldebesalu, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Restaurant Castell De Besalu, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios.Thanks.

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Great view of the Besalu bridge from the garden . Colourful lighting and typical Catalan cuisine with some pizzas . Friendly waiters .Hotel with accommodation attached . We didn't stay over . Worth a visit when in Besalu if you can get a spot in...More

Thank kevin v
Castelldebesalu, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Restaurant Castell De Besalu, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios.Hasta la próxima. Thanks.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Amb els 5 sentits
475 reviews
.30 km away
La Taverna Restaurant, Prat de Sant Pere 5 Besalu Giron province
135 reviews
.29 km away
Cal Tronc
623 reviews
.25 km away
Pont Vell
310 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bridge of Besalu
1,052 reviews
.01 km away
Castle Besalu
122 reviews
.09 km away
Micromundi- Museum of Miniatures and Microminiatures
187 reviews
.28 km away
Monasterio de San Pedro de Besalu
50 reviews
.28 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Restaurant Castell De Besalu staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$14 - US$24
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: C/Pont 2 | Local-bajos derecho, 17850, Besalu, Spain
  • Location: Europe  >  Spain  >  Catalonia  >  Province of Girona  >  Besalu
  • Phone Number: +34 872 20 80 40
  • E-mail
Description
Besalú is a medieval village, famous for the micvé and the Jewish bath which was discovered in 1964. It is the first building of its kind found in Spain and third in Europe. It is an underground room and a pool that is filled naturally with water from a defunct fountain. Its function was the purification of the soul through total immersion of the body. Castell de Besalú is located in the former home of the village doctor. We are a family-style, our team is extensive but well-matched. For any queries Turn to any of us. We have two types of menu, home and the barbecue. Special dishes of grilled meat, toasts, pizzas, kids menu, paellas and tapas. We want all this to your liking.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing