We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chocolate Brown Cafe

6 Mill Lane, Warkworth, Auckland, New Zealand
+64 9-422 2677
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good35%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (19 reviews)
“cheese rolls” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, European, New Zealand, Delicatessen, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
6 Mill Lane, Warkworth, Auckland, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visit Chocolate Brown again and again for their incredible hot chocolate, made with ... chocolate! Sooo delicious. I also love the charming chocolate-shop.

Thank Y L
ChocolateBrownnz, Owner at Chocolate Brown Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments! We are glad you like us - we like you too!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful sums this place up perfectly...beautifully set out, beautiful hot chocolate and a beautiful shop. We were meeting a colleague to sort out some product and she recommended we stop here for a coffee or a hot chocolate. No regrets at all and sorted out...More

Thank shionac219
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We had a disappointing experience a few months ago. The manager was very apologetic and we came back. We are so glad we did. The food was great and the service was better than the previous time.

Thank Tabatha1998
ChocolateBrownnz, Manager at Chocolate Brown Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review us, very happy to know that you had a good experience with us. Hope you liked the new menu!

Reviewed 14 November 2017

A local sent us to Chocolate Brown the first time, we couldn't help but stop the second time. Our initial visit was a late lunch. We were tempted by the items in the case, but it was a chilly, gray day and we both opted...More

Thank Eatsmeister
ChocolateBrownnz, Manager at Chocolate Brown Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback, we really appreciate it! Such good news to hear that you were please with your orders. We have just released a new menu today so next time you call in there will be lots of new...More

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We were traveling though this town and I looked up the reviews for a great venue for breakfast. Seemingly this establishment got the prize but sadly this was not our experience. The food was nicely presented but lacked taste - eggs were far too runny...More

Thank Sandiwells13
ChocolateBrownnz, Owner at Chocolate Brown Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We were busy as we are popular, sorry it didn't match your expectations. The menu states our eggs are served soft poached, with options to cater for personal preferences. The toilets are cleaned regularly, but are only as...More

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

On recommendation from TripAdvisor we visited CB for a family breakfast while on a road trip north. The place is appropriately hipster fresh with a cool vibe from outside. Inside it's nothing special but still comfortable and clean. The coffee was fantastic - one of...More

Thank chrisg276rec
ChocolateBrownnz, Owner at Chocolate Brown Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hi - thanks for your review. We have taken your comments on board - staff have since been told to look for families with children and offer them the highchairs. Usually these are in the cafe in full view. The water is help yourself, next...More

Reviewed 10 October 2017

I have been to this cafe several times for brunch, lunch and just cabinet food. The food has always been excellent (special thumbs up to the mince on toast - delish!!) but the mocha is the best I have ever had! EVER! You need to...More

Thank VictoriaHem
ChocolateBrownnz, Manager at Chocolate Brown Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it. The Mochas are amazing Even better with a savory scone, we look forward to seeing you again & I'll pass on the message to the team.

Reviewed 8 October 2017

If you're having brunch, lunch or just coffee and cake this place is definitely worth a visit. Great menu with all the regular favourites, plus some. Service was fast and friendly even though the place was really busy. Try their slices...hard to resist! Highly recommended....More

Thank Steve C
ChocolateBrownnz, Owner at Chocolate Brown Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thanks for your lovely comments - glad to hear we hit the spot! Susan

Reviewed 8 October 2017

I'd rate this as one of the tip cafes in Warkworth. Great coffee. Delicious Fries. Great Chocolate shop right next door. Good Kids menu . Seating inside & out. Close to main street of warkworth.

Thank Kirsty W
ChocolateBrownnz, Manager at Chocolate Brown Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we appreciate it. Will pass your compliments on to the Chef. Have a great day

Reviewed 1 October 2017

My Daughter and partner arrived for lunch on Saturday ,30/9/17 found plenty of tables to sit at, i ordered the bloody burger and fries, and the others ordered the summer salad with coffees, The burger was very nice and filling, with the best fries i...More

Thank David G
ChocolateBrownnz, Manager at Chocolate Brown Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thanks for your feedback - we appreciate the time you take to review us. We are so glad you enjoyed your time here & you liked the Halloween special & Salads. We aim to please. Will keep an eye on the music level, have a...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Warkworth Hotels
Warkworth Lodge
81 reviews
.27 km away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
86 reviews
.47 km away
Rosemount Homestead
1 review
4.30 km away
Snells Beach Motel
153 reviews
5.92 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Wharf Street Bistro
71 reviews
.33 km away
Bridgehouse Lodge
179 reviews
.23 km away
So French Cafe Deli
72 reviews
.28 km away
Nearby Attractions
Of Hand & Heart
47 reviews
.24 km away
Snells Beach
40 reviews
.50 km away
Warkworth i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
8 reviews
.34 km away
New Zealand Diving
29 reviews
.20 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Williamsone
4 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Susan V |
Hi Erika. We can't respond on this site - you need to email us. We have an ad on Trademe - please look up the ad and reply to the email address. Many Thanks
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Monday
7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6 Mill Lane, Warkworth, Auckland, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland  >  Warkworth
  • Phone Number: +64 9-422 2677
  • E-mail
Description
Award Winning - cafeteria and chocolaterie A Kiwi Styled menu, Handmade Cabinet food and Specialty drinks. Next door in the Chocolaterie are British Sweets, Dutch Licorice, Kiwi lollies, Fresh Fudge and Handmade on-site chocolates. Come and be warmed by our fire in Winter or sit in the sun over a beautiful Kiwi Summer. We would love to see you here soon. Open for Breakfast and Lunch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing