We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room

8 Fort St, Springfield, MA 01103-1208
+1 413-734-7475
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good27%
  • Average10%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“schnitzel” (51 reviews)
“fried cheese” (18 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
American, German, European, Central European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
8 Fort St, Springfield, MA 01103-1208
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a really nice anniversary dinner here in Early June. I had the bratwurst with potato cakes. My wife had the special. We also got the fried brie appetizer that was excellent. This is a great place for special occasions or even just for a...More

Thank HotelAWeek1963
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for the nice review! Our fried cheese is a great start to an evening. The bratwurst is a classic German dish on Fort Street. I like it with a bit of sauerkraut. We are glad that you enjoyed your anniversary and we hope to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Carmel was extremely helpful with menu choices and photo ops. Thank You!! parked on the street just outside (meters FREE at night) but valet parking staff were waiting to make this an experience to savorMore

Thank John B
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

John we appreciate the nice review. Carm is a very pleasant server. Our valets do a great ob in making a first impression on our customers. I don't know if you enjoyed a lobster or lobster roll, even though Nova Scotia does a have some...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It started with free valet parking and stayed first class all the way. The staff was efficient and friendly. Our server had a great sense of humour, and made it an entertaining evening. The cuisine is German and our meals were delicious.

Thank Yvette C
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We appreciater the nice review. The valets do a great job in making a favorable first impression on our customers. I am pleased that your enjoyed he food and had an entertaining time on Fort Street. Thanks Again!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've been eating here for 30 years and have never been disappointed. Tonight was no exception. We were celebrating our grandson's promotion. I had one of the specials--fried belly clams which I ordered with crispy brussel sprouts. Delicious and plentiful! My husband's duck was perfect...More

Thank Karen L
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the nice review! I think that our fried clams are a great item, and you don't have to drive to the shore. it is too bad that you could not enjoy dessert. I guess that eat inf dessert prior to the meal is...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Every city should have a restaurant that is "an institution", inextricably linked to its history and fortunes, good and bad. For Springfield, that's the Fort, which has been making most customers happy almost every night and day since 1935. After its near death experience a...More

Thank ulysses4
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the kind words, Alan. The review means a lot coming from a long time and valued customer. Changes needed to be made, and a good job was done to brighten up the establishment while keeping the character intact. Some of the more obscure...More

Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Excellent food and service at Student Prince! We really enjoy it as we always do! Great atmosphere and decor.

Thank Phyllis W
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the nice review. People have been enjoying lunch on Fort Street for over eighty years...See you on Fort Street!

Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Free valet parking, bar on one side restaurant on the other. Two large dining rooms. Great waiter. Starters were great. Deep fried cheese and fried shrimp were yum. My first time trying New England clam chowder and it was tasty. I would leave out the...More

Thank Josey O
Bill P, General Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hello Josey, Thanks for the review, and for visiting the Student Prince. Hopefully the next time we can improve upon our food quality and flavor. Hope you will visit us again. See you again on Fort Street,

Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

My husband used to work the Big E and has been telling me about this place for 20 years. We finally had a chance to visit and it lived up to expectations. We had the cheese wedges and they are incredible. We both ordered the...More

Thank Lisa G
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

We are pleased that you enjoyed the establishment and shared your thoughts. We get a lot of business from the Big E. It is funny how we will become familiar with a lot of people during the run and then not see them until the...More

Reviewed 10 June 2018

The food was ok, Very pricey. Our server (Mike) did a poor job, There was 8 of us, he stood at the far end of our table and we had to shout our drink orders, we never heard him ask about apps. After we got...More

Thank firebear1961
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. We have spoken to your server and emphasized the need to pay attention to his work. The dining room management will keep a close watch on the interaction with servers and guests. If you...More

Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Co-worker and I were staying a few blocks away and walked over to this establishment. We could not have been happier. Sensational German vibe, with traditional Bavarian fare to match. We had a massive pretzel as an app, with some brew to wash it down....More

Thank Kent B
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Kent, thanks for your nice words. Our pretzels are delicious and a nice way to start an evening. If your family wants to stay put in the Buckeye state, we understand! By the way my mother moved from Ohio to Springfield around eighty years back.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Springfield
Tower Square Hotel Springfield
392 reviews
.25 km away
Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place
603 reviews
.29 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
722 reviews
.60 km away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Downtown
11 reviews
.66 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Theodore's
369 reviews
.10 km away
Panjabi Tadka
69 reviews
.13 km away
Adolfo's Italian Restaurant
87 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Springfield Armory National Historic Site
247 reviews
1.41 km away
Springfield Museums
411 reviews
.62 km away
Dr. Seuss National Memorial Sculpture Garden
394 reviews
.66 km away
Basketball Hall of Fame
560 reviews
1.31 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Christopher R
8 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Bill P | Property representative |
Sorry for the delay, Saturdays andSunday's you can park anywhere, street meters are free. We do validate for the Hampden Street lot at the end of Fort st., Monday thru Saturday for our lunch hours. We also have Monday thru... More
0
Votes
BuddyDogbostonterrier
1 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from StudentPrinceMgmt | Property representative |
Yes. Mikey and Al are still here.
0
Votes
BuddyDogbostonterrier
15 April 2016|
Answer
Response from Rudirup | Property representative |
I am still around. "I tried to get out, and they pulled me back in." I work a few shifts at the door and I am helping out with menus, etc. I will be working tomorrow evening, April 16. Thanks for asking., Come in and take... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$28
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8 Fort St, Springfield, MA 01103-1208
  • Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Springfield
  • Phone Number: +1 413-734-7475
Description
The landmark restaurant of Downtown Springfield with dedicated service and a German accent since 1935.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing