We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Viking Lobster Co

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
366 Tonawanda St, Buffalo, NY 14207-2732
+1 716-873-1079
Website
Tuesday
Closed
Hours:
Wed - Sat 17:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 70: English reviews
Strykersville, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

not what you would expect - not the greatest neighborhood - it is soooo quaint -excellent food- but a little overpriced for the amounts you are served - but the owners and staff are great--homemade soups n deserts.

Helpful?
Thank heracr
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Viking Lobster Co was an absolute delight! The atmosphere was cozy and unique as it's a old bar which keeps with the "best kept secret" motif. All of the servers were friendly and funny! The food was fantastic! We ordered the Viking feast for two and were impressed with how much food we received! I highly recommend trying their creamy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bradleyr09
East Amherst
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We ordered the viking feast for two- more food to eat than humanly possible! It also came with soup and salad which were both outstanding as were the scallops, fish and shrimp. Service was very slow, perhaps due to the fact that our server was relatively new., but darling! The tables were not all full. Watered down butter or margarine,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
Lewiston, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2016

When you drive by this restaurant, you would not likely want to go in, but don't let the outside deceive you. If you like live Maine lobster, clams, and oysters, this is absolutely the best place in Western New York to satisfy your appetite. Go for it.

Helpful?
Thank gdomuuse
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Took my parents there they love it. Also you B.Y.O.B. cause they don't sale alcohol but they have liquor license

Helpful?
Thank Caesar C
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

My Budapest buddies are connected through our study abroad in Budapest. We met to discuss the latest conflicts in Europe w/Brixit and Hungary immigration. The restaurant was the choice of a friend. I had the paella and my other friends shared the lobster and crab feast. The prices were reasonable. it is a BYOB which is nice if you don't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Coachbaby48
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

A group of friends tried Viking Lobster for restaurant week. The specials were good but we ended up ordering a "feast". It was excellent and more than enough food. Lobster, crab legs, haddock, shrimp, and the biggest scallops I've ever seen. With salads and two sides it was more than we could eat. Even with all that food, do not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann14223
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

I booked reservations for my mothers birthday that included a party of 7! The atmosphere I for one did not expect, the food was awful!! Everyone in the dinner party had to send there 99.00 dinners back because the seafood was spoiled and undercooked! Very disappointed that the management team did not try to at all compensate for anything! Our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nerverevaagain
jeff b, Manager at Viking Lobster Co, responded to this review

We're always sorry to get a bad review, and make every effort to rectify any problems or complaints at the time of incidence. With that said, the only dinner costing anywhere near $99.00 dollars are the Five Pound Lobsters, so the Bill should have been over Seven Hundred at the very least. Ultimate Seafood Platters are $99.00 for two or... More 

Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

My fiance and I went here for Valentines day dinner, and were not sure what to expect after the mixed reviews. We had reservations for 5:00, and walked in and the place was just a really weird maze/setup and needed signs. There was a regular main dining room, and then we were led through a cold hallway past the kitchen... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank yankeefangirl526
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2016

I heard of this place through a friend who had heard it described as a gem hidden in a whole in the wall in a decaying neighborhood. Well, except for the food, this description was accurate. I was disappointed to find that nothing there relates to vikings, not in the decor or the menu. The place looks like an old... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ana H
jeff b, Manager at Viking Lobster Co, responded to this review

Return to reality `response, the reason the name is the Viking Lobster Co. is that is the featured menu item in sizes LIVE from 1&qtr to 5# LOBSTER, along with U10 dry Scallops, 16/20 Blk Tiger Shrimp, Fresh North Atlantic Salmon, Fresh North Atlantic Haddock, Fresh Hard Shell Clams, Fresh Oysters, Jumbo Snow Crab Clusters, King Crab Legs, Steak Stuffed... More 

Travellers who viewed Viking Lobster Co also viewed

 

Been to Viking Lobster Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$19 - US$59
Cuisine
American, Seafood, Soups
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Cash Only
Open Hours
Wednesday
17:00 - 22:00
Thursday
17:00 - 22:00
Friday
17:00 - 22:00
Saturday
17:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 366 Tonawanda St, Buffalo, NY 14207-2732
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  Buffalo
  • Phone Number: +1 716-873-1079
Description
We are a VERY unique establishment Located in Black Rock, Buffalo. We specialize in fresh seafood (nothing frozen) Live lobsters , as well as Prime cuts .We are a Reservation & Cash ONLY establishment:No credit cards or checks are accepted) . We also have a unique Byob policy : No alcohol is served but feel free to bring a libation of choice (ID's are checked to ensure legal consumption of the alcohol.)

When it comes to booking larger groups (10-20) there is a specific menu as well as limited space to accommodate these types of groups : A deposit is required to ensure responsibility for that table as well as ordering the proper amount of live product as well as scheduling staff accordingly. Because we are a cash only establishment the deposit ($100) needs to be dropped off atleast 2 business days prior to the reservation.The deposit is given back upon arrival or taken off the bill at the end of your experience (whichever is more convenient )

The Only reasons the deposit would not be returned :
~ Damage to our property as a result of rowdy behavior
~ The amount of guest that were initially reserved do not show up and there is no prior notice upon arrival OR there is an extended period of time between full arrival and time of reservation ( more than 45min.)

We take great pride in what we serve as well as the customers experience , these policies are to ensure that everyone has a delicious meal and a great evening .

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Viking Lobster Co and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Viking Lobster Co staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?