We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
204/205 High Street | Lye, Stourbridge DY9 8JZ, England
+44 1384 424240
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 28: English reviews
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We get take out from here regularly. However, we ordered and paid for takeaway last night which came 90 minutes after order placed. One of the 2 main dishes ordered, plus the rice, was missing and when I called I was advised that the missing food would be sent out in 40-50 minutes. 80 minutes later I called to chase... More 

Thank katy d
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We as a group of 6 had the pleasure of having a meal here on a Saturday night. Our 2nd visit so far, and still as good . A friendly welcome , with a fantastic service, £1.50 a pint too! With a extensive menu to choose from, and at £11.95, for 4 courses!!! Food is to a high standard, taste... More 

Thank Mave75
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

I have never eaten inside this restaurant so the portions and value may be better but as a takeout customer this cost £17 WITH a 30% discount. I will not be ordering again.

Thank Becky N
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Once again as always absolutely superb food. Have been coming here for year's now with family and friends and it never disappoints. Food is delicious and plentiful. Love this place and the staff. Would never go anywhere else for my curry fix. Cheer guys for another fantastic night. See you all soon.

Thank holteender1980
Halesowen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

A group of friends ordered a takeaway, I rang up and added to the order. I ordered the tandoori baby lobster tails starter and paid £7.95. This is what I got. 2 pieces. This is an absolute disgrace. I have eaten what I can off one so you can see even what you get isn't all edible as it still... More 

Thank leecj23
Sam120965, Owner at Garam Masala, responded to this review

Dear Lee Thank you for the review and I remember your order as we are not a large business and I check that all orders are correctly made and packed , Your review is neither fair or correct, yes you paid £7.95 for 2 lobster tails , I presume you have not eaten lobster before or purchased any , because... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

Lovely restaurant perfect for a nice quiet meal extremely good value for food. Good attentive staff.

Thank blah28
Stourport, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

Good food and very cheap for a five course meal .drinks are cheap to for a licenced indian the staff are very friendly in there and always good with my two year old son he loves going there .

Thank meka-roxy
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2016

The worst place to eat in Lye. The staff are very deceitful and employ underhand tactics to bump up your bill. There are some great places to eat in Lye but this is really average food with awful décor and the worst staff. Honestly, don't waste your time at this poor excuse of a restaurant.

Thank GornalBaggie
Sam120965, Owner at Garam Masala, responded to this review

Dear Gornalbaggie Thank you for your review and the feedback , the review that you have left omitted the main facts that you was happy with your dining experience until the moment you received your bill , i;m sorry but 4 adults dining and having starters , mains and desserts and also indulging in expensive shots of cognac and paying... More 

Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Still eating it and already gotta give a review. I'm a veggie and the flavor isn't always great in veggie food, but this meal is absolutely delicious! Fast service and massive portions, very cheap. Thanks

Thank Ell_J_Hill
Sam120965, Owner at Garam Masala, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback More 

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2015

Went to the five course special.. Popadoms to start, then a choice of starters , then a main, if you choice one with lamb or prawns it's more expensive.. Then nan or rice.. I asked for chapati and gad this instead, then ice cream, and last coffee with biscuit. All for £7.50 - drinks was £1.50 a pint lager or... More 

Thank Shreko123
Sam120965, Owner at Garam Masala, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback More 

Travellers who viewed Garam Masala also viewed

Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands

Been to Garam Masala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Delivery, Reservations, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 204/205 High Street | Lye, Stourbridge DY9 8JZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Stourbridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1384 424240

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Garam Masala staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?