We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sussex

20-26 Sussex Street, Rhyl LL18 1SG, Wales
+44 1745 362910
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good30%
  • Average21%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“sirloin steak” (4 reviews)
“curry” (4 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
20-26 Sussex Street, Rhyl LL18 1SG, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just called in for drinks on the way home, very busy, but that's never changed. Nice to see a Whether spoons with enough staff on ? Hope the manager doesn't get the sack ?

Thank 364RONO364
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There is a few tables outside and we were lucky enough to get one. So sitting in the sun, people watching and enjoying a beer was great. Inside is very spacious, the staff are quick to serve and the beer is very reasonably priced. A...More

Thank Anthony J
TheManagmentTeam, Manager at The Sussex, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit See you again

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We called in while visiting Towyn , staff are always friendly tables are always clean & the food is always well presented.

Thank armchairlfc
TheManagmentTeam, Manager at The Sussex, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review We hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 16 April 2018

We visited The Sussex in Rhyl yesterday 15th April 2018 for a family meal. After ordering the 5 meals my daughter noticed that 1) the table legs were quite unsteady 2) the table itself was not clean - we did ask for it to be...More

2  Thank David S
TheManagmentTeam, Manager at The Sussex, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us on this occasion. If you do have any issues with furniture or food, if you let a manager know we will be more than happy to solve the problem for you while you are...More

Reviewed 7 April 2018

Met up with our friends who were visiting for a bite to eat staff really nice and helpful, food was very nice had the full breakfast and wife had a breakfast wrap with coffees and water, the young man took the time to let the...More

Thank Steve P
TheManagmentTeam, Manager at The Sussex, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review I will pass your comments onto our team We hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Just a typical wetherspoons with microwave burgers and cool chips ... Sorry wetherspoons but your food ain't as good as next door

2  Thank marcus r
TheManagmentTeam, Manager at The Sussex, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us. Although we keep our food reasonably priced we make sure we serve food of a high quality

Reviewed 31 March 2018

went as a group of four ordered two cocktail jugs and pint of beer good value for money went twice during our holiday

Thank Anna B
TheManagmentTeam, Manager at The Sussex, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Only because I have to do a score I would give this place a zero came in for tea with friends what a disaster from the start my burger came was burnt and cold chips hard sent back when replacement arrived no better burger still...More

3  Thank rhino261
TheManagmentTeam, Manager at The Sussex, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

I am very sorry for your poor visit with us on this occasion. I have past your comments on to the team and will be looking into it Thank you for your review and we hope it hasn't stopped you from visiting us in the...More

Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Why do when you get your meal does some companies think you will not say anything when your food is Stone Cold!!!! So after waiting for your food, you have to send it back and wait again, wasting everybody’s time, money and food. Sort it...More

4  Thank Steven B
TheManagmentTeam, Manager at The Sussex, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you for taking your time to review. I apologise for the visit you had with us and I have passed your comments onto the kitchen We hope you will visit us again

Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Bad food, lousy chefs! I don't know what is happening but train your chefs!! Grub came out cold and the staff not bothered!More

3  Thank Ste-philly89
TheManagmentTeam, Manager at The Sussex, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

I am very sorry for the poor visit you had on this occasion. We aim to provide a high standard but clearly we fell short this time. I will past your comments onto the team and hope this hasn't stopped you from visiting our establishment...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Rhyl
Premier Inn Rhyl Seafront
38 reviews
.20 km away
Westminster Hotel
621 reviews
.24 km away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
395 reviews
.34 km away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan
481 reviews
3.88 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Rossini's
182 reviews
.06 km away
La Galleria Coffee House
116 reviews
.09 km away
Chilli Pink
402 reviews
.09 km away
The Glanglasfor Club
42 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rhyl Town Hall
18 reviews
.14 km away
Children's Village
53 reviews
.21 km away
Les Harkers Amusements & Bingo
36 reviews
.14 km away
O'Grady's Irish Bar
6 reviews
.09 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
tambimaple
2 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Milie H | Reviewed this property |
I'm not sure as wetherspoon policy state no dogs inside and in beer garden at owner digression. I don't recall seeing fogs but would be interester in knowing if they do Thanks
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20-26 Sussex Street, Rhyl LL18 1SG, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Denbighshire  >  Rhyl
  • Phone Number: +44 1745 362910
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;