We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pickwick Inn

St Anns Chapel | Bigbury, Bigbury TQ7 4HQ, England
+44 1548 810310
Call
Website
Save
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (32)
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good37%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (111 reviews)
“lasagne” (8 reviews)
“garlic bread” (6 reviews)
Closes in 10 min
12:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Pizza, Pub, Italian, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
St Anns Chapel | Bigbury, Bigbury TQ7 4HQ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the pub one lunch time in November. There was a good fire going and the pub had a cosy atmosphere. The 4 of us all had a good meal. They cater well for gluten free food too. I can thoroughly recommend the gluten...More

1  Thank Julie D
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to take a weekend away from the city and stayed in Bigbury Court. Within 10 minutes walk away we found Robert the landlord of the Pickwick Inn. We popped in for an evening meal as a treat to get us out of some...More

Thank Hannah C
Reviewed 1 November 2017

We visited here on a Monday lunch time.Easy to drive by, as not imposing from the outside, but inside nice and cosy.We sat on the sofas by the fire which was lovely on a chilly day. Some food was off the menu which was a...More

1  Thank Stephen J
Reviewed 30 October 2017

I won't say too much but... We used to visit the Pickwick loved the food and experience. Change of owner we visited in September on Saturday night most of the specials had gone. when we ordered the steaks only one left. portion size was small...More

1  Thank Paul G
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Stopped for lunch. No sandwiches available and asked for the soup but this had been taken off the menu. Lunch was nice but we did notice that a lot of food on the menu wasn’t available when we got there.

Thank Sarah T
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

We visited the Pickwick Inn on a Monday evening whilst on holiday in Bigbury on sea to celebrate my birthday and we weren’t disappointed 😊 As 3 of our party have celiac disease , I contacted the pub ahead of our visit and felt reassured...More

2  Thank Melgordon
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Wow... this place is amazing! Don't be put off by the shabby looking exterior. Inside you are welcomed by an open roaring fire, candle lit tables and friendly staff. The Italian cuisine is outstanding with superb choice. An added bonus to this lovely place is...More

1  Thank Ellie P
Rob H, Owner at The Pickwick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

We are glad that you have had a great time at the Pickwick. The fact that you have chosen to visit us again, the following day, says more about our food and our service than I possibly could. We love our customers, their dogs, and...More

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Popped in here, on way back from visit to Burgh Island, for lunch. Very friendly and chatty staff. Sat at the bar and had the soup of the day and burger. All homemade and delicious. Tables nicely spaced out with comfortable sofas around the fire....More

2  Thank Boatjude
Rob H, Owner at The Pickwick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Thanks for taking the time to share your review. We're glad you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area. Kind regards, Carrie-Ann and Robert

Reviewed 25 September 2017

Billed as an Italian restaurant, the hand made pizzas were good. I had a small Bolognese which was poor. Not hot, the sauce was mixed with the spaghetti (which I hate) this is the first time I have had this topped with grated cheddar rather...More

Thank PaulSansom2014
Rob H, Owner at The Pickwick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

We are very sorry that you had such a disappointing visit. We had a new chef in, covering our head chef while he was on holiday. Sadly, he was not able to keep up with the high standards that people have come to expect at...More

Reviewed 17 September 2017

Great variety, great service. Our family of 4 ate here 4 times on holiday and we never had a bad meal. Everything was lovely and dogs are welcome.More

Thank Frazer M
Rob H, Owner at The Pickwick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

I think the fact that you chose to return so often speaks volumes about our food and our service. We are glad you enjoyed your time at the Pickwick and hope it is a fond memory of your holiday in lovely Devon. We would love...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Oyster Shack
883 reviews
1.76 km away
The Journeys End Inn
357 reviews
1.78 km away
Fishermans Rest
66 reviews
2.97 km away
White Hart Hotel Restaurant
316 reviews
4.43 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bigbury-on-Sea Beach
363 reviews
3.31 km away
Bantham Beach
182 reviews
3.61 km away
South Devon Chilli Farm
200 reviews
6.77 km away
Hope Cove Beach
498 reviews
7.21 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ellie P
24 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Pat H | Reviewed this property |
I think so - but give them a ring to make sure.
1
Vote
Ellie P
24 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Rob H | Property representative |
Hi. Yes dogs are very welcome at the Pickwick. We even have a tub of treats for them. 🐩🐕
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$32
Meals
Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: St Anns Chapel | Bigbury, Bigbury TQ7 4HQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Bigbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1548 810310
  • E-mail
Description
Open for lunch and dinner seven days a week and throughout the afternoon on Saturdays and Sundays, The Pickwick Inn is a great treat for everyone, from those looking for a light lunch to those after a gourmet three or four course meal. Our fully stocked bar is also perfect for those wishing to sample a local real ale or to unwind after exploring the fantastic South Devon scenery.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing