We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Deer

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Joseph Locke Way, Crediton EX17 3FD, England
+44 1363 774248
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 258: English reviews
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Plenty of parking and you do not have to book we have been 6 times the first 3 times we went there were no complaints but after that we had 2 unlucky visits my friends fish was not cooked properly and my chicken was on the dry side the 6th time we went was a quite day mid week and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 848ronalda
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Eaten here several times with no cause for complaint. However a very poignant important family get together booked 2 weeks in advance and confirmed by email was spoilt by The Red Deer telling us we didn't have a booking! They cobbled a table together for our party of 9 but we then had to wait an hour for our meal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine S
reddeer_crediton, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi Christine, I'm sorry you feel let down, it would be usual practice to investigate from managers above and this is not from disbelief from the customer but more understanding how it got to a certain point and for members of the company to be accountable. Please let me do some digging and I will pick this up and contact... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I used to regularly visit the Red Deer when it first opened. Unfortunately in the last 12 months the standards have dropped. We have visited 3 times in the past 4 months and each time part of the seating area has been blocked off which means that everyone is crammed into one area (if you want to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi Lorraine S, Thank you for your honest review about your recent visits to us here, as a new manager I am always looking to improve the standards of service and now the business is gaining stability again after a rocky previous 12 months we certainly want to start using the lower seating area on key trading times. if you... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent value for money and the staff were brilliant. I was there with my daughter and granddaughter ...,

Helpful?
Thank Paul V
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi Paul V, Thank you for your brief but positive review, we look forward to welcoming you and family here again soon. Regards Liam Wright-(General Manager) More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the Red Deer last night to celebrate our parents anniversary. Unfortunately the evening did not go well. On arrival we we're advised that there was no coke/lemonade available despite Tesco's being right next door! Then one of our starter choices was unavailable and they had to choose again. We were advised delivery of stock was due the... More 

Helpful?
Thank nikynackynoo
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi nickynackynoo, Thank you for your detailed review of the issues you had during your visit, I certainly remember the day as we were promised by our engineer to be up and running with our Pepsi dispense by 12 O'clock and it did take him a little longer and was more around 1 O'clock until we were ready, the majority... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been to the Red Deer on a number of occasions and it is usually fine. There have been occasional issues with orders being messed up, but they have been rectified without bother (mostly). The food is generally basic but fine. And Peroni on daft, so that is a plus. My feeling is that more thought could go into... More 

Helpful?
Thank jackrobson97
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi jackrodson97, Thank you for your review, I am glad to hear on the occasion we did not quite get your order right it was all rectified. For some more of our vegetarian options have you had a look at our specials board, some good ones to look out for are the; Spiced red pepper pasta bake or the vegetable... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Unfriendly staff food very average 🙁 4/10 by far the worst pub meal of are holiday and we have been dining out all week

Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hello Philip W, Thank you for your brief review. We serve hundreds of happy customers offering exceptional value on our 2-4-1 offer, If you would like to pop me an email; reddeer.crediton@marstons.co.uk with some more feedback about the unfriendly member of staff that looked after you. Regards - Liam Wright (General Manager) More 

1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Really sorry to have to write this review ,first I would like to thank the management for letting us take away two dinners for guest that couldn't make it to the lunch due to work , I know what hard work catering is but today we had a 70th birthday lunch for my mum at Red Deer for 27 adults... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue P
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi Sue P, Thank you for your review, you are right it did take us a little while to get your food out my apologies, 27 roast dinners to be served at once can be a challenge. we do have a limited area to plate up food and do our best to send the meals in 3- 4 waves on... More 

Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

We arrived at The Red Deer for lunch at around 13:10. We had quite along wait to be served but as we were looking at the menus, this didn't matter much, though it was annoying that there seemed to be only one waiter available (it wasn't particularly busy but still). After ordering we had a VERY long wait for our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi Tracy P, Thank you for your review, my apologies for the delays you experienced. You are certainly right our dedicated fish fryer had packed in and with it being a Friday a lot of customers were ordering fish giving delays on food. Luckily we were up and running with a new fryer ready for that evening. We hope to... More 

uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

visited for a curry night. 2 curry's and 2 drinks for £12. can't go wrong with that? my wife wasn't happy with the meat in her curry but at that price your not going to get the best. I went for the veggie curry and chose to 'add prawns for £2extra'. the prawns came out cold in a different bowl... More 

Helpful?
Thank blackpoolnick
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hello blackpoolnick, Thanks you for taking the time to post a review for us. I am sorry you left disappointed this is never how we want our guests to leave. We serve thousands of happy customers who return time and time again so it's a real blow that you feel we let you down. If you had of wanted fresh... More 

Travellers who viewed Red Deer also viewed

 

Been to Red Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Joseph Locke Way, Crediton EX17 3FD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Crediton
  • Phone Number: +44 1363 774248
Description
Telephone: 01363 774248

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Deer staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?