We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Greyhound

10 Low Road, Halton LA2 6LZ, England
+44 1524 812054
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (18)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good22%
  • Average9%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (10 reviews)
“pie” (7 reviews)
“potatoes” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
$$ - $$$
10 Low Road, Halton LA2 6LZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Popped in for lunch while out walking. Delicious choices of food at a good price, we both went with burgers, one lamb and one botanical. Thoroughly enjoyed the food and service was great too, very friendly. Toilets were absolutely spotless with plenty of hot water....More

Thank LancasterRam
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 11 June 2017

called in saturday night for some food ,superb steak, my wife had lasagne, both meals superb. very friendly landlord nothing to much trouble puddings also good, all in all great pub for food good choice of beers ,will definately be returning.

1  Thank mark g
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A dog friendly pub but only call with your custom when they are quiet .... we have been before with the dog and usually sit at the same table toward the back area, never a problem however we called on New Year’s Eve politely asked...More

1  Thank Janine W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent vibe to the pub, best pint of beer around. All welcome and always something going on. Get yourself down.

Thank Purdz94
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

We attended this pub on the 12.12.2017, my partners friend had come over from Australia, so we wanted to invite him for a nice dinner. Firstly, the downhill car park was frozen, and there was clearly not attempt to grit, or any safe way for...More

1  Thank xoxo197
YourNo1Pub, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

I am so disappointed in the whole experience you have received and I can assure you this is not the normal experience we offer. I will guarantee you that I will look into every point you have made as it is inexcusable. I am very...More

Reviewed 7 December 2017

28 of us went to the Greyhound Pub in Halton Dec 6 having pre-ordered all our meals for 1pm. Several of us ordered cheese and onion pie, chips, salad from the £6 menu. The woman behind the till however insisted we pay £7.95 for pie...More

1  Thank TB N
YourNo1Pub, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Many thanks for your review. I can say you did not pre order off the £6 menu. The £6 menu is lite bites. This menu is on offer Monday to Thursday 12-3. The leader of your group placed the pre orders so if you got...More

Reviewed 6 December 2017

Party of 25 went. Three people gave notice they needed to cancel food one tried to pay over the phone but the pub did not have the facility to do this!!!! The pub then expected the group to pay for for all cancellations. Which we...More

Thank lancsla55
YourNo1Pub, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

I would not be proud to be part of your walking group. Your organiser conducts a complete shambles. Your walking group are not welcome back to the Greyhound at Halton.

Reviewed 20 November 2017

Terrible service, ignored by girl with glasses behind bar, then she went to serve someone at the other side of the bar who arrived after me at the other bar. Not a friendly welcome, staff need training, food looked over cooked and sub standard for...More

1  Thank PaulDavieshistorian
YourNo1Pub, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Very sorry to here this and I can assure you this is not normally the case. I will look into this and rectify the problem so it doesn't happen again. I can only hope that if you do return you can post a better review....More

Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Took my elderly Mum for Sunday lunch all 3 of us had the roast beef dinner, it was too much for me to finish, although delicious & the lovely lady serving behind the bar/serving meals suggested a smaller portion for Mum. I have never seen...More

Thank mizzime
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

..went here on Thursday evening in June and was amazing. Then heard that it had down hill, but wnjoyed so much first time round that we decides to try the Roast beef Sunday lunch recently and it was dreadful. Didn't even have any horseradish for...More

Thank Diane H
YourNo1Pub, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

I am very sorry to hear your experience and you can rest assured I will be looking into this. Thank you for firstly coming to see us again and secondly for bringing this to my attention. I really do hope that you will try us...More

Nearby HotelsSee all Halton Hotels
Holiday Inn Lancaster
1,108 reviews
1.25 km away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
856 reviews
1.35 km away
The Royal Hotel
180 reviews
3.99 km away
Royal Kings Arms
95 reviews
4.17 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Red Door Cafe & Gallery
70 reviews
.38 km away
Amanda's Big Baps
48 reviews
.52 km away
Black's Finest Fish & Chips
36 reviews
.55 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Centre @Halton
15 reviews
.36 km away
Gresgarth Hall Gardens
30 reviews
2.52 km away
Williamson Park
960 reviews
3.72 km away
Lancaster Maritime Museum
141 reviews
3.87 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
5 April 2015|
Response from Colin S | Property representative |
Hi Thank you for your comment, all comments and reviews are gratefully received as they help us improve our offering. The answer to your question is of course no. And I appologise if your visit to the greyhound was spoilt... More
Frances M
18 February 2015|
Response from Colin S | Property representative |
Hi Frances we do indeed allow well behaved dogs into the pub, though we do restrict them to one half of the pub, we have our own pub dog, Seb the Italian Greyhound. regards colin
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$4 - US$17
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout, Reservations, Waitstaff, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
8:30 AM - 8:30 PM
12:00 AM - 8:30 PM
12:00 AM - 8:30 PM
12:00 AM - 8:30 PM
12:00 AM - 8:30 PM
8:30 AM - 8:30 PM
8:30 AM - 8:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10 Low Road, Halton LA2 6LZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Lancaster District  >  Halton
  • Phone Number: +44 1524 812054
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing