We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pickled Cactus Mexican & Bar

611 Oxley Drive, Biggera Waters, Gold Coast, Queensland 4216, Australia
+61 7 5537 3636
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good23%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“chimichanga” (16 reviews)
“chilli” (15 reviews)
“beans” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Mexican, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
611 Oxley Drive, Biggera Waters, Gold Coast, Queensland 4216, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have had a couple of visits to this great Mexican Restaurant and have never been disappointed with the food. Clean plates are a sure sign of sated appetites. The Calamari was tender, the nachos filling and the tachos tasty. Service was friendly although we...More

Thank Annette C
pickledcactus4215, Owner at Pickled Cactus Mexican & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm glad you had great food but am sorry to hear you had to wait to be served. That shouldn't happen but when everyone comes in at the same time, unfortunately that can occur. Hope to see you again soon Annette.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bought a $49 LivingSocial voucher, used it for a meal for two, and was pleased to be treated as welcome customers. Lovely staff, and the food is to die for. We shared a plate of ChickenTotopos (oh wow, so delicious) as starter, then i went...More

Thank L B
pickledcactus4215, Owner at Pickled Cactus Mexican & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Glad you came and enjoyed yourselves. We welcome all customers every time, that my motto. Unfortunately the disadvantage of multicolored tile tops is the slight out of alignment of tiles in some spots but the colors certainly make the place look lively.Hope to see...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food is the best mex in Australia. Such friendly staff (especially a lady named Ros), & the service always comes with a smile, also love the decor. Great for a small gathering or large group. Would definately recommend. 5 star!!!!More

Thank debbie960
pickledcactus4215, Owner at Pickled Cactus Mexican & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Always a pleasure my dear Deb and Ken. Hoped we may have caught up with you both when we were at Fingal, but not to be. Maybe next trip early december, we can camp nearby for a few days if we can squeeze in where...More

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Food is great, however drinks service is appalling. We nearly died of thirst. This aspect needs to be improved and Pickled Cactus would be 5 star

Thank BusinessTravellor500
pickledcactus4215, Owner at Pickled Cactus Mexican & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Im so sorry, But if you were the last couple of the night, we thought those four beers you ordeered were enough to put you over the limit driving home, especially since you were on business! If this was not you, please forgive!

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We went here for Father's day dinner with the kids and had a wonderful dinner. We had been here before for a night out and the chilli was brilliant. The meals are very generous servings and you can chose how hot you want it. The...More

Thank AnnMareeGC
roz p, Owner at Pickled Cactus Mexican & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thanks so much for your great review on our food, service and drinks. We all really appreciate when customers take the time to do a fabulous review 🌵You've made our day ✅😀

Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

this is the third time we have come here as a family the first time I really enjoyed my self the second time was average for myself and this time I considered it to be average for my self as well the other three people...More

Thank sarah b
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

The service was friendly and attentive, can't fault the staff. The food was also fantastic. We had the chicken chimichanga and the nachos, the little one had chicken crispers. All of it was really nice. Oh and we had potato skins as an entree, tasty....More

Thank BoagsLives
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We have had better Mexican food. Perhaps it was the dishes we ordered but they were very ordinary and we would not be returning any time soon.

1  Thank Normandjudy
roz p, Owner at Pickled Cactus Mexican & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

It's sad to read these comments. We always try to ensure every customer enjoys their experience at Pickled Cactus. If only we had known, we could have recommended many favourite crowd pleasers.

Reviewed 11 July 2017

My wife and I visited their new location opposite Harbour Town Shopping Centre. Now it's much more roomy. Menu is similar-they try and change every now and then to keep things new and interesting. Can have from very mild spice, to, as they say, Devilish...More

Thank peterrV6241BH
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

We had been to Pickled Cactus a few times at their old location. This was our first visit to their new location opposite Harbourtown. We were really impressed with their new menu. It was light, fresh, delicious and more authentic. Would highly recommend the 'Street...More

Thank paradisepointgc87
roz p, Owner at Pickled Cactus Mexican & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thanks guys, always a pleasure. Glad you liked our new location and fresh food offerings. We too, love the lightness of our new menu. see you again soon 🌵

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Butter Rhythm
109 reviews
.63 km away
Green Leaf Malay
28 reviews
.04 km away
Pizza Face
31 reviews
.79 km away
Nearby Attractions
Seaway Kayaking Tours
221 reviews
.55 km away
Pelican Feeding
42 reviews
1.31 km away
Harbour Town Outlet Shopping Centre
1,188 reviews
.97 km away
Ian Dipple Lagoon
47 reviews
.98 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Pickled Cactus Mexican & Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$24
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 PM - 8:30 PM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Tuesday
5:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Wednesday
5:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Thursday
5:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Friday
5:00 PM - 8:30 PM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Saturday
5:00 PM - 8:30 PM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 611 Oxley Drive, Biggera Waters, Gold Coast, Queensland 4216, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Gold Coast  >  Biggera Waters
  • Phone Number: +61 7 5537 3636
  • E-mail
Description
Combining both Tex Mex and Mod Mex, fresh and tasty food, great staff and great ambience, a place for a family gathering, parties, a romantic night out, or a catch up with friends. Just let us know what the special occasion and we will do our best to ensure your night is special. New menu out now
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing