We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Hart

$$ - $$$, British,
Main Street | Poole in Wharfedale, Otley LS21 1LH, England
+44 113 203 7862
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good29%
  • Average20%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (16 reviews)
“pudding” (28 reviews)
“steak” (24 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street | Poole in Wharfedale, Otley LS21 1LH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Rang a few days prior to book a table and requested the area to be seated. Advised on the phone this could not be guaranteed however on arrival at the venue we were cheerfully greeted and were sat in our requested area of the restaurant....More

Thank Deborah N
TheWhiteHartMgr, General Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello Deborah Thank you for your review & visit to The White Hart, I will make sure Vicky gets to read your comments We hope to see you again very soon

Reviewed 4 days ago

The occasion was a repeat visit having being pleased with previous visits. On this occasion it was evident the table service in the bar had been abandoned ( drinks ordered and brought to your table) which I believe to be s retrograde step. Regardless however,...More

Thank John S
TheWhiteHartMgr, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello John Thank you for your visit & taking the time to complete a review We are still offering full table service in the bar for either food or drink, in fact it has taken off really well. I have passed your comments on to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the first time we have returned since the refurbishment the menu had hardly changed with the exception of a very limited vegetarian choice service was good but the menu does need updating and more varietyMore

Thank carolrC9859XI
TheWhiteHartMgr, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Carol Thank you for taking the time to review The White Hart. Our menus are changed twice a year in which there was a new menu just as we reopened after the refurb and we are going to having another new menu in January....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Actually we had planned a lunch in Kirby Overlow but we discovered that pub closed Monday's so we decided on the White Heart in Pool - somewhere we hadn't been in ages. Place looked very nice but not much on the menu suited a light...More

Thank patsy952
TheWhiteHartMgr, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Patsy Thank you for your review & visiting us We feel your review is not a true reflection on your visit When asking for the bread it was asked to go with your starter, our breaded Brie & no butter was mentioned. It was...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

A group of ten of us (six adults, four pre-teens) have been lunching for many years and today was our first visit to the White Hart (some of us have eaten there before, but we've never visited as a group). It really was superb on...More

Thank Alice P
TheWhiteHartMgr, General Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Alice P Many thanks for having your family meal with us here Your review will make Vicky's day when I show here later, it really does make their day. Don't forget if your booking another family meal the festive season will soon be upon...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall very enjoyable. Initially sat next to a family with screaming children and a newborn which was not so pleasant for Sunday lunch but not any fault of the pub. Food was super and well prepared, Sunday roast was great , maybe the same issue...More

Thank DebbieWaudby
TheWhiteHartMgr, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Debbie Thank you for your review on your visit It made holly's day when she saw her name in your review Thank you & hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We settle down in the bar area..... my husband went to the bar every wine he asked for (no sorry we dont have that one) so eventually i settled for a glass of pinot grigio and he got a pint of beer .We ordered 2...More

Thank shepherds p
TheWhiteHartMgr, General Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello shepherds p Thank you for visiting us on Sunday & taking the time to complete a review We have just changed our drinks range & unfortunately a couple of the wines have not come in as yet. Hope this has not put you off...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely setting. Was busy at 3pm even on a Sunday. We all enjoyed our food - the Yorkshire puddings were huge! The only criticism is that we were sharing the vegetables between 3 of us and I think the portion should have been larger.

Thank Jacksta88
TheWhiteHartMgr, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello jacksta Many thanks for your review & spending your Sunday with us Your comments have been passed onto the kitchen team. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have just returned home from an evening with friends at the White Hart. To be exact, we were a group of local mums whose children all attend the school in Pool in Wharfedale and we were out to celebrate the birthdays of two of...More

5  Thank MissW36
TheWhiteHartMgr, General Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello missw Please could you get in touch with us by email, enquiry@thewhitehartpool.co.uk Many thanks

Reviewed 11 October 2017

This was my 4th visit and we consistantly have a good evening here. The service is excellent and the surrounings and decor very tasteful.Once again our food was delicioue,but on the expensive side,and therefore we limit our choices. However ,we shall return,and eat on this...More

Thank 176av
TheWhiteHartMgr, General Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hello Thank you for continued visit we are pleased you have enjoyed them all Please have a look at our Wednesday mid week treat menu, it's a set menu with wine included See you again soon

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Wharfedale Inn and Restaurant
83 reviews
1.35 km away
The Rumblin Tum Cafe
169 reviews
.34 km away
The Local Pantry Cafe
121 reviews
1.60 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wharfe Meadows Park Otley
94 reviews
4.29 km away
Otley Courthouse Arts Centre
33 reviews
4.35 km away
None Go Bye Farm
26 reviews
3.29 km away
Kirkgate Arcade Shopping Centre
40 reviews
4.41 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Captain M M
30 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from MGeering | Reviewed this property |
Yes, fully open.
1
Vote
Chloe M
5 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from John H | Reviewed this property |
The Dining Room was packed when we visited - but we did not see any dogs Best telephone them I guess. Hope this helps. Rgds, John
1
Vote
estateagent47
8 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Jim O | Reviewed this property |
Not sure who you want this to go to but I live near Leicester. I think you should send this to the White Hart!
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$40
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street | Poole in Wharfedale, Otley LS21 1LH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Otley
  • Phone Number: +44 113 203 7862
  • E-mail
Description
A beautiful building with 200 years of history as a public house. Open fires, beams, stone floors, fantastic outside seating, exceptional quality fresh food, great selection of dishes and drinks. Professional, friendly and welcoming team.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing