We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bowling Green

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
18 Bondgate, Otley LS21 3AB, England
+44 1943 858980
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 147: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had tea here last night great burger great price , we then had evening drinks in here with friends again great value drinks, and well i was on holiday so we also had breakfast in here and it was really nice and only £2 99 well done wethersoons.

Helpful?
Thank jules893
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good food and good value and an excellent selection of beers. It's always very busy but the staff are friendly and attentive.

Helpful?
Thank Harrisparis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a tea with work friends, was very busy , ordered food which was served quickly ,friend ordered a separate coleslaw that came in a very very small dish , when asked if this is wat she paid for , she was told yes it was a teaspoon amount , not very good , but the staff member did... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tara R
Grassington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

5mth since last visit! Now much improved, just sort the tired furniture,and it's back to where it should be

Helpful?
Thank Dusty1946hustwick
TheBowlingGreen, Manager at The Bowling Green, responded to this review

Hi glad you can see the improvement, we are on with the furniture another couple of months and it will have all been replaced:) hope to see you again soon More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a table 4 week's ahead of Mother's Day, to be told no booking could be found. They did accommodate us on the day, but! They were severely under staffed (one person on the bar), the wait for the food was 45 minutes, the food for the table arrived in 4 stages. The second lot arrived as the first... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebekah O
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sunday morning 10.20am just about took the last available table. Ordered 2 breakfasts, only waited 10 mins, it was piping hot and delicious. Coffee to die for and all inexpensive. Couldn't fault it!

Helpful?
1 Thank Green-Banana-Man
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Enjoy the countryside in Wharfedale and then onto a reputable Wetherspoon's. Large diner, great menu, helpful staff. Good for children. A welcoming embrace to Otley. Enjoy. I ordered the steak & peppercorn sauce which was sublime. Top Marks

Helpful?
Thank Sean B
TheBowlingGreen, Manager at The Bowling Green, responded to this review

Hi Sean glad you enjoyed your visit, we agree the countryside around the area. Hope to see you again in summer months to enjoy our beer garden :) More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We have been to this venue before with the same friends and it has always been good pub grub, served promptly, with no cause for complaint. However, this occasion was the exemption. Most of the staff seemed to have been drafted in from the Skipton restaurant, with no training in the layout or operation of the Otley one. Our food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Billy W
TheBowlingGreen, Manager at The Bowling Green, responded to this review

Hi Billy we are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit on this occasion. The Otley staff were on their long waited for Christmas night out when you visited. We can assure you that your experience is nothing like the service you would of received if we were all here and the Skipton team that covered have been made... More 

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

This was my first visit to Otley and decided to have lunch at this particular Wetherspoon's (big mistake).Its quite a small establishment and was really busy.First impressions are that it is nice and cosy with two coal fires.However, this place is in desperate need of a makeover as well as a deep clean. The furniture is tired and worn,we saw... More 

Helpful?
Thank PippinBoo
TheBowlingGreen, Manager at The Bowling Green, responded to this review

Hi PippomBoo Sorry you didn't enjoy your visit. We are in the process of recovering all the chairs in the pub and are on the list for a re ferb which we know is long over due. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2017

we are regular visitors to weather spoons in Leeds but lately the food hasn't been very good at all the last time we visited the headley verity in Leeds the food was very poor we had the steak and the peas were cold the chips weren't vey hot either the only thing that was piping hot was the steak .so... More 

Helpful?
Thank catherine l
TheBowlingGreen, Manager at The Bowling Green, responded to this review

Hi Catherine glad you enjoyed your visit! we also wish the pub was bigger and are always thinking of ways to make space for extra tables at peak times hope to see you again soon More 

Travellers who viewed The Bowling Green also viewed

 

Been to The Bowling Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 18 Bondgate, Otley LS21 3AB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Otley
  • Phone Number: +44 1943 858980

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bowling Green staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?