We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery The Oaklands

Studio Way, Borehamwood WD6 5JY, England
+44 20 8905 1455
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good32%
  • Average17%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
08:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Studio Way, Borehamwood WD6 5JY, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

First impressions awful! Ignored upon waiting to be seated when not busy. Barman, Manager & Waitress all had personality by-pass as just couldn't be bothered by looks of. Not stopping off to Mops & Brooms 👍. One star is generous but Guinness ok

Thank Tony G
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Oaklands, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Tony G, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Your feedback helps us improve, so thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did.

Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want a carver may be but the meat was not the best and there was a lack of other option, and breakfast was definatly not worth the money. the staff where good but that does not help the quality of the food.

Thank Leslie M
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Oaklands, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Leslie M, we appreciate your honest feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve. We have passed your comments onto the team.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We entered as a backup plan with a strong desire for a Sunday Carvery. Success as we were greeted and immediately seated in a lovely cove in the back. Our waitress was rather overworked but she was quick to our tables with drinks and we...More

Thank chris m
general manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Oaklands, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Chris M, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Toby Carvery Oaklands! We sincerely thank you for the positive review, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We popped in for a quick bite to eat and were impressed that there was not a great queue and the food was good. The Yorkshire pudding was massive. The meat portion was large and there was roast & mashed potatoes, green beans, cauliflower in...More

Thank MissMmc
general manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Oaklands, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Missmmc, thank you so much for your high rating! We're glad to hear we delivered such a great experience. We've passed your comments onto Aga :) Have a great day

Reviewed 1 week ago

it would never occur to me to serve Yorkshire puddings or gravy with breakfast they do here though. It was okay usual non functioning toaster. I think the Yorkshires were a way of filling you up !!

Thank jaxw
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Oaklands, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. Have a great day

Reviewed 1 week ago

on arrival we had to wait sometime before someone came to seat us , we ordered our drinks which arrived pretty quick , we went up to the carvery and waited for the chef to come out , one of the waitress opened the kitchen...More

Thank jeff278
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Oaklands, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Jeff278, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. We hope you'll come back and give us another try, as we clearly had a blip on this day. Hope you have a great day....More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had yet another wonderful meal in Toby carvery borehamwood, dispute being short staffed, the staff that were there working hard and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you

Thank AllyBP
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Oaklands, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello Allybp, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! Our team strives to deliver an excellent experience, and are glad you found this to be the case during your visit. If you have further needs or questions, please reach out!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Travelodge next door for a recording of the Chase next day. Due to travel problems by train and the weather didn't arrive at the premises till after 7.30pm. By the time I finally got to the carvery at 8.00pm their was only...More

Thank Graham E
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Oaklands, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Graham E, we regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with us. Unfortunately we had engineers working on the ovens in the morning and due to human error we didn't load meat in time for it be ready for the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went with lots of family and were served by a lovely lady who was so helpful with Gluten Free options and great advice Carvery wasn't at its best, 7.30pm on a Weds eve and very little veg options and beef really fatty. But that...More

Thank Lozy092
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Oaklands, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for the positive review! We have notified our beef suppliers thanks to your feedback as well as our own. Have a great day

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is attached to a Travelodge, and they appear to be in some kind of partnership. The breakfast, all you can eat for £4.95, seems like good value, until you add the price of coffee or orange juice. On the second night of our two...More

Thank ManorRoad
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Oaklands, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Manorroad, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Golden Plaice
150 reviews
1.02 km away
Shenley Sandwich Bar
42 reviews
1.29 km away
Jenny's Cafe and Restaurant
51 reviews
.92 km away
Mops and Brooms
173 reviews
.68 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dinosaur Safari Adventure Golf
135 reviews
1.30 km away
MegaJump Trampoline Park
103 reviews
.40 km away
Mops & Brooms - Borehamwood
30 reviews
.90 km away
Reel Cinema
29 reviews
1.26 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Anyone7
15 February 2015|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from general manager A | Property representative |
Hi, Yes we have BT sport and Sky Sports now.. thanks for asking, for further info please call 02089051455
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$16
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:30
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Studio Way, Borehamwood WD6 5JY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Borehamwood
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8905 1455
Description
Welcome to the Toby Carvery Oaklands Toby Carvery. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Borehamwood’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing