We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Heron Inn

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Trenhaile Terrace, Malpas, Truro TR1 1SL, England
+44 1872 272773
10:00 - 23:00
Open now
All hours
Sun 10:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 10:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

235 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 231: English reviews
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sat on the banks of the river the view is lovely and really good pub grub. Staff very friendly in a nice clean well presented pub. Also worth watching the lady bus driver turn her double decker around without any drama in a space most people would struggle with a car.

Thank Jimmybird
ahemming2015, Manager at Heron Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we agree the view is stunning all year round. Our local bus driver Debbie is a talented driver, and navigates these small cornish roads with skill. We do hope you visit again soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We wanted to meet up with friends and chose this lovely place to enjoy a meal and a glass or two. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly and attentive. Highly recommended.

Thank paulw1001
ahemming2015, Manager at Heron Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit whilst here on holiday, perhaps we will see you again when you next visit Cornwall. Thank you for your kind review. More 

Faversham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arriving on a dark, wet winter evening, we stepped into a wonderfully cosy and friendly smartly decorated pub. Supper beside the fire was some of the tastiest food - ever. We ate stea k pie with excellent, fresh, al dente veg and an amazing crab rissotto with crisply cooked fillets of sea bream. The scoops of home made ice cream... More 

Thank mari0nb8
ahemming2015, Manager at Heron Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, our steak pie dish is proving a firm favourite on these cold dark winter nights, the Sea Bream Risotto was a dish designed by one of our younger team members who is glowing with pride knowing that you have enjoyed your meal. We do hope to see you here at The Heron... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We cannot thank Amanda and her team enough for their calm accommodating, professional service in providing our wedding lunch in September for ourselves and our eight guests. From our initial enquiries nothing was too much trouble. The food was delightful, the service impeccable and the welcome and efforts on all of the staff outstanding. The Heron is a beautiful, traditional,... More 

Thank jwtollhouse
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

My partner and I called in for a roast on Sunday lunchtime. We couldn't decide whether we wanted roast pork or beef so the barman suggested we could have a bit of each. The roast was lovely with the vegetables on the side which were well cooked and served nice and hot. We will definitely be back again soon

Thank cornwall_199220
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

Popped into this scenic pub early in the morning and was surprised to find it open at 10 am. Hot Coffee and succulent bacon sandwiches available before the River Fal boat trip We were spoiled for choice in terms of drinks and food available, before our scenic visit to the River Fal, . A really nice welcome from landlady Amanda.

Thank Professor B
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Three of us ate here. Food clearly very fresh. 1 Thai chicken soup - delicious. Fishermans pie, cod and chips, child's portion of scampi and chips -again smashing. 2bread and butter, 2 chocolate brownies. 2 pints of cider, 2pints of beer and 2 diet cokes = £76. The food is very nice, but the pub prices are pretty much london... More 

Thank mrsmeeke
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

nice venue but found food disappointing and bland and not enough of it ..annoying when you order the same meal as those on the next table but yours seems half the size meat was tough the roast pots were just about ok but only had two these being cut in half so looked more ..was not the best roast we... More 

1 Thank david g
ahemming2015, Manager at Heron Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do take on board all feedback, good and bad and act upon all of them, however I do recall your recent visit, as you spoke to several of my team members on the day. You ordered, small roast dinners, priced at £6.95 these meals are aimed at children or adults with smaller appetites. Our... More 

Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

We were three adults and two children. The children enjoyed they food, one adult had the risotto which was good, another the scampi which was quite tasteless and the chips soft, the third had halloumi which was burnt, although enough was edible as it was a large portion. Service was friendly but a bit slow too, probably 30 minutes +... More 

Thank David C
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

We took the ferry from Falmouth to Truro and were recommended The Heron Inn by some people earlier in the week. We made the decision to go here for lunch as it was such a lovely day and thought we could do Truro on a rainy day instead. Glad we made that decision as the food was lovely and it... More 

1 Thank NeilFCook

Travellers who viewed Heron Inn also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall

Been to Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$23
Bar, British, Pub
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
10:00 - 22:30
10:00 - 23:00
10:00 - 23:00
10:00 - 23:00
10:00 - 23:00
10:00 - 23:00
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Trenhaile Terrace, Malpas, Truro TR1 1SL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Truro  >  Malpas
  • Phone Number: +44 1872 272773
The Heron Inn is a beautiful waterside pub, with stunning views over the river Fal. We are open all day, every day from 10am, serving freshly prepared homemade meals, ranging from a light lunch to hearty meals, and an excellent range of daily specials. Booking is adviseable but not always necessary.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Heron Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?