We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Rock and Fountain Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Llanvaches Road, Penhow, Caldicot NP26 3YD, Wales
+44 1633 400297
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

515 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 515: English reviews
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Attended a business dinner with colleagues. I had the pork belly with a jacket and it was very good. Everyone in attendance was very complimentary of both their meal and the service. Highly recommend

Helpful?
1 Thank Randy P
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This place is our absolute favourite, we've never been on a Sunday so rang and got a table for 1.30. We didn't have the Sunday lunch as we do love the "normal" menu, once there we were shown straight to our table and asked if we'd like drinks which were brought to us. To start we both had the spicy... More 

Helpful?
Thank lucyvictoria1980
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Good food, well presented in a warm and friendly environment- just right for a birthday celebration.

Helpful?
Thank Chris B
Caldicot, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

After eating Sunday lunch at the village inn with our family which was excellent except for the poor service at the bar and the general cleanliness. We thought we would give the rock and fountain a try being as it's the same owners. The Sunday dinner was no where near as good but service was 100 times better and immaculately... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarbish_17
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

One of our local pub/restaurants which in the last couple of years has built a reputation for good value and good food. Lunch time offers 2 courses for £10 with an interesting and changing menu, third course for just £3.50. Meals are always well cooked and presented.

Helpful?
Thank 77whiskers
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited with my husband and my brother. Food was lovely, £10 for two courses, great value. Husband and brother had sausage and mash, and I had belly pork. Was delicious, highly recommend this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tresta M
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First time eating here whilst visiting family in the area. We were a group of 9 and all had only praise for the food and service. The prices were very reasonable too and certainly not what I would have expected to pay for such lovely food. Would definitely go again.

Helpful?
Thank Catherine J
Gareth L, Owner at The Rock and Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Hi Catherine and thank you for such a wonderful review. We are always happy to see or hear that first timers love what we do. Hope to see you back soon Regards More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Food quality, quantity, service and ambience disappointing. The place was cold and even though they moved us to a table close to the lovely open fire, it was still drafty by the windows. There are damp?places where paint is flaking off the walls. Must be difficult to heat the building in the winter. The soup was lovely and warming but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Frequent_flyerUK
Gareth L, Owner at The Rock and Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit frequent flyer. I see by your TripAdvisor page that you are a very experienced reviewer with a lot of establishments being reviewed. It's a pity that you couldn't convey the words into actual conversation on the day because after you were moved to a warmer table and had a replacement beef you were checked on... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A friend and I were enjoying a couple of days golf at celtic manor and we had a recommendation for somewhere local to go for dinner. We were advised to book as it is usually busy and so it proved to be. On arrival it was very busy and we had to wait for our table for 10 minutes or... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank skippychef
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I took my wife for lunch , both had different meals and both were excellent, real good value . We then took our daughter and grandson during the same week , can't fault the food or the service , will definitely be returning.

Helpful?
1 Thank MAKARIOS P

Travellers who viewed The Rock and Fountain Inn also viewed

 
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Rock and Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$12 - US$12
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Llanvaches Road, Penhow, Caldicot NP26 3YD, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Monmouthshire  >  Caldicot  >  Penhow
  • Phone Number: +44 1633 400297

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Rock and Fountain Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Rock and Fountain Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?