We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tea House on the Loch

Lochend Rd, Gartcosh G69 8BE, Scotland
+44 7856 719478
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good17%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“sandwiches” (22 reviews)
“soup” (10 reviews)
“brownie” (2 reviews)
Closes in 21 min
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Lochend Rd, Gartcosh G69 8BE, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A group of friends and myself booked in for afternoon tea. The Tea House staff gave us a warm welcome. It has a beautiful view over the Loch. The waiting staff were immaculate and very friendly and so helpful. The menu was varied with a...More

Thank Lorna R
susan d, Owner at Tea House on the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks so taking the time to write such a lovely review! See you sometime again soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is like going to a WI cafe that is v nice inside. Laid back and has the homely feel. Think quality home made with moist freshly made cakes to finnish off. Kick back. Read a paper or put the worlds to rights with your...More

Thank daveinglasgow
susan d, Owner at Tea House on the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for your lovely review! Thrilled you like our place so much. Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 29 June 2018

My wife and i dropped in last Sunday morning. Road in is a disgrace and your insurance will not cover damage on this private road. We got breakfast wraps that included scrambled eggs , crispy bacon and beans. Eggs and beans had been microwaved to...More

Thank David H
susan d, Owner at Tea House on the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit 2 at my tea house on father day David h. We are a log cabin at the end of a dirty track next 2 the loch and we do have to mentain the road ourselves, even...More

Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

We have been visiting Tea House on the Loch for some time and it never fails to give a warm and considerate welcome. My elderly father is in poor health and is in a wheelchair. On his good days, Tea House is the only place...More

Thank MRMMonaco
susan d, Owner at Tea House on the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Thanks so much for writing a lovely review. So glad you enjoy our tea house and we look forward 2 cing u and your dad soon. Regards Susan x

Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Stunning weather today so the hubby and l decided to have lunch at the tea house on the loch as it has a beautiful outside area to eat. As soon as we sat down the staff were over with a menu and offering us water,...More

Thank Jillian M
susan d, Owner at Tea House on the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Thank you for spending time to write a lovely review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time at our tea house. Hope 2 c u again soon. Regards Susan x

Reviewed 20 June 2018

Had a fab afternoon tea lunch today, we opted for the £19.99 for two which was soup a sandwich with any filling cakes and tea, it was lovely and we all thoroughly enjoyed our lunch.

Thank Hotpants54
susan d, Owner at Tea House on the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thanks so much for your lovely review. We are thrilled you enjoyed our deluxe afternoon tea option where u get to pick your choice of soup, sandwich, drink, cakes and scone! See you again soon x

Reviewed 19 June 2018

Have visited this place a few times over the past couple of years and have never had any complaints. My most recent visit last week was rather disappointing. My friend and I phoned to book a table and were looking forward to our catch up...More

Thank RJJLanarkshire
susan d, Owner at Tea House on the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

I am sorry to read you were unhappy at our tea house last Thursday. Sandra who served you is very efficient, maybe as it was busy and she had your table ready for you, as you had called and booked, this came across to rush...More

Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Although the official opening time was listed as 1000hrs, a quick telephone call confirmed we could arrive from 0945hrs which was helpful. What an amazing place which avoided the peril of motorway services. Breakfast was great - a toasted muffin with scrambled egg and salmon...More

Thank Jonathan H
susan d, Owner at Tea House on the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a lovely review. We hope to see you again some time soon x

Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Have been going here for a little while the scones and coffee are amazing I do love a scone with butter couldn't fault this lovely family run tea house will definitely return for more x

1  Thank hev327
susan d, Owner at Tea House on the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

We are thrilled you enjoy the home baking! See you again soon x

Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

What a fabulous lunch we had. Totally cannot understand a less that 5* review for this Teahouse. Even when extremely busy staff are pleasant and polite, food freshly prepared and wholesome, where else would you receive such a plentiful afternoon tea at the busy lunchtime...More

1  Thank 12Hester
susan d, Owner at Tea House on the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thanks jean for your lovely review. See you soon x

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Halo Crowwood House Hotel
373 reviews
1.88 km away
Premier Inn Glasgow Stepps (M80, J3) Hotel
753 reviews
2.77 km away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
764 reviews
3.08 km away
Mondo Hotel
173 reviews
5.46 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Soave's
10 reviews
1.52 km away
Chin Chin Bar Restaurant
386 reviews
.71 km away
3 Ragazzi (old Capo landa)
121 reviews
1.49 km away
Nearby Attractions
Summerlee - Museum of Scottish Industrial Life
618 reviews
4.62 km away
Drumpellier Country Park
198 reviews
2.41 km away
Delta Force Paintball - East Glasgow
17 reviews
4.02 km away
Adventure Planet
151 reviews
4.08 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Amanda C
17 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from BF49 | Reviewed this property |
Better to phone to avoid disappointment
0
Votes
Anne H
5 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from 12Hester | Reviewed this property |
The Teahouse is dog friendly, you can sit in the entrance conservatory area with your dog, best to phone and book a table first for lunch time as it gets busy.
1
Vote
Kathleen C
29 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from malamuteracer | Reviewed this property |
I have no idea, I was there for a meal with my partner. Please give the restaurant a call tomorrow to help with your enquiry.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lochend Rd, Gartcosh G69 8BE, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  North Lanarkshire  >  Gartcosh
  • Phone Number: +44 7856 719478
Description
Tea house on the loch is a log cabin built on the banks of Johnston loch in gartcosh. We offer a selection of homemade cakes as well as breakfast from 10am-12 and afternoon tea all day at a fantastic price of £9.95 for two. As well as paninis and baked potatoes etc. We are open 6 days (closed on Wednesday). Pop along for coffee and cakes or book a table by the window for lunch with friends. We will always be happy to welcoming you into our cozy tea house. Alfresco area available in summer months. See you all soon x
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing