We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard

Market Place, Easingwold YO61 3AD, England
+44 1347 821698
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good39%
  • Average4%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“venison” (2 reviews)
“great idea” (2 reviews)
“nice food” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Mediterranean, European
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Market Place, Easingwold YO61 3AD, England
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We dropped in here early on a Friday evening after the cafes around the market square had closed for the day. We were after a simple cup of coffee, and they were able to quickly oblige, good value for money, with a cheaper rate if...More

Thank David L
Michael R, Owner at Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you, David, for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your time in The George. For clarification, only two of our main courses are over £15.00.

Reviewed 9 May 2017

This is our fourth visit to the George. So pleased that someone recommended this hotel to us. Good food, clean and comfortable rooms and hospitable service makes it a winner for us. The icing on the cake I am reliably informed by himself is the...More

Thank nurselindy
Michael R, Owner at Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the review. Pleased to read that we tick all the boxes, including the beer! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 30 April 2017

Only called in for a coffee on a Friday Evening but had a good buzz in the bar and seating available in nice restaurant area. Menu looked good with some great deserts. Reasonably priced. Will return to eat sometime. Coffee was good and gave the...More

Thank TheButler2014
Michael R, Owner at Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The George.

Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

A secret that needs to be told ! Whilst we want to keep The George our secret as it's special, you need to know how good it is so that the chef continues to create special dishes to be enjoyed

Thank playablancafan
Michael R, Owner at Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Thank you for your review, Brian and Christine. Our chef really does do some amazing dishes.

Reviewed 16 November 2016

We stayed at The George and had lunch and dinner on the Friday and breakfast Saturday & Sunday. I liked the food and my partner loved it! Friendly & helpful staff.

Thank Worksselina
Michael R, Owner at Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2016

We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Reviewed 30 May 2016

Stayed at the George bank holiday weekend and had a few meals at the market place restaurant the service was excellent tried a few different meals over the stay cannot fault the food it was excellent had to wait while it was cooked but well...More

Thank Susan C
Michael R, Owner at Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

Thank you for your review - we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We are committed to using fresh locally sourced products, that are cooked to order.

Reviewed 15 February 2016

We ate here both nights we stayed at the hotel and the food was lovely, very well presented and really tasty.

Thank Paula E
Michael R, Owner at Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write your review - we are pleased you enjoyed the food and hospitality.

Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

We had a family meal - personally I can not complain about the food. I had the venison off the specials board; it was really tender and juicy. I was delighted at the taste of the whole plate. To top it off I had a...More

Thank mattslambourne
Michael R, Owner at Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The Yorkshire venison has proved very popular.

Reviewed 5 November 2015

Attended mid week during half term. It was very quiet in their. It appears to be a very old building and rather old fashioned. The food however was very well presented and tasty.

Thank Littlecar1
Michael R, Owner at Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Reviewed 20 September 2015

18 of us, attended the George for a "Leaving Do". We were given 2 bowls of chips, a couple of half sandwiches each,a miniature sausage roll and a bite size quiche- presentation was poor- and that cost us each £8.50!!- sorry also got one cup...More

1  Thank Northernfolk1990
Michael R, Owner at Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

We are sorry to read your comments. Any criticism is taken seriously. Having spoken with the staff working on your luncheon party, not all the food was eaten and no adverse comments were made as plates were cleared. There was plenty of tea and coffee...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Curious Table
164 reviews
.10 km away
Sugar Mouse
132 reviews
.02 km away
The New Inn Restaurant
171 reviews
.24 km away
The Angel
73 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Dutch House
34 reviews
3.86 km away
York Bird of Prey Centre
1,230 reviews
4.49 km away
Beacon Alpacas
43 reviews
5.03 km away
Easingwold Maize Maze
44 reviews
1.47 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Market Place Restaurant and Courtyard staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$32
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 20:30
Monday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 20:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 20:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 20:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 20:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 20:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 20:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Place, Easingwold YO61 3AD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Easingwold
  • Phone Number: +44 1347 821698
  • E-mail
Description
Seasonally changing menu using local ingredients whenever possible. Daily changing Specials' Board and lighterbites at lunchtime.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing