We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harvester Pontypool

Ty Felin Fawr, Lower Mill Field, Pontypool NP4 0RH, Wales
+44 1495 751551
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good22%
  • Average17%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible19%
Travellers talk about
“sundae” (12 reviews)
“salad bar is” (9 reviews)
Open Now
09:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Ty Felin Fawr, Lower Mill Field, Pontypool NP4 0RH, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Went for a meal at a busy time and advised it would be a 30 minute wait which turned into 45. The starters were really lovely. Unfortunately thats where it ended. The medium rare steak was almost raw the peas were cold ( and sent...More

Thank Julie H
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Pontypool, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Julie. I'm sorry to read your visit wasn't a successful one. The time of your visit should have no effect on the quality of service or food so for that I apologise. Please give me a call if you wish to discuss your visit...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We visited this establishment on a Saturday evening around 9.30 and although the staff were pleasant we found the food to be pretty average and I believe there are better eating houses in the area.

Thank Brian C
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Pontypool, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you Brian for your review. Apologies that the food was not up to standard during your visit and I hope you visit soon so we can show you we're above average. Thanks again. Geraint

Reviewed 1 week ago

We come here when we can as a family this is easy for us .my children love to help themselves to the salad bar and they also love the food here .everytime we come to this harvester the staff are always on the top of...More

Thank thegriswaldsWales
Harvester P, Manager at Harvester Pontypool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

WAW, a 'wonderful' review. Thank you so much. The team will be delighted to read your comments. Hope to see you and the kids very soon. Geraint and the team.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Service seemed a bit slower than other harvesters we have been to. Ordered the chicken and waffles, the waffles were hard, as if they were overdone in the microwave and the butter chicken was thin and dry. Informed the waitress and she offered to replace...More

Thank will2864
Harvester P, Manager at Harvester Pontypool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Oh no, what a disappointing review. Thank you for your honest feedback , you've given us a lot to work on there. I will make sure to share your comments with our kitchen team. Please feel free to give me a call if you wish...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a visit to the harvester pontypool I thought it was ok nothing amazing but good value. So I thought I would give a review saying that we had enjoyed our meals and experience. I decided to look at other reviews and that's what shocked...More

Thank Cinderellabellas
Harvester P, Manager at Harvester Pontypool, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Another ridiculous review that does not merit a response. A phone call to our Menu Development team at Head Office might be more efficient than a scathing review to us at sight level. We have segregated fish fryers by the way.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got there quite late after a long drive. The staff were really friendly and looked after us with a smile. Food was good. Thanks to you all

Thank ej59
Harvester P, Manager at Harvester Pontypool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you fro the review. I'm happy to read that the team looked after you and you enjoyed your meal. See you again soon. Geraint

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It wasent awful in fact it was quite adequate. The only thing was when rereading the menu I noticed that it said that some of the veatarians dishes clearly marked with a v might not be suitable to be vegatarian. Well how can they put...More

3  Thank Zara B
Harvester P, Manager at Harvester Pontypool, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Zara, What a disappointing and may I say unfair review you have left us. If only you had asked to speak to a member of Management or senior kitchen team and we could have put your mind at ease. Our menus are brand specific...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited a week ago. No room in the restaurant so we were seated in the bar. Ordered from the bar and invited to visit the salad bar which was lovely. All very fresh. Ordered three fish and chips which arrived really quickly. All very nice...More

Thank Ali264163
Harvester P, Manager at Harvester Pontypool, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Our fish ids a big favourite here and I'm happy to see you were served quickly despite having a full resteraunt. Thanks again, Geraint

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with my son, ordered two fillet steaks, one rare one medium rare, mine was Luke warm, my son's was over cooked. Very disappointed considering the price. Should of read the reports!

1  Thank Andrew V
Harvester P, Manager at Harvester Pontypool, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Apologies Andrew for your visit. Such a shame you did not ask to speak to the duty manager who could have rectified your issues on site. I hope to see you soon and restore your faith in Harvester Pontypool. Geraint

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited 2-3 times before with family, good food, good service and friendly staff. a little caution required to access from the Pontypool/Abergaveny road roundabout, but worth it.

Thank mjkirby007
Harvester P, Manager at Harvester Pontypool, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Great comments and we enjoyed reading your review. Hopefully your next visit will prompt a 5* review. Much appreciated. Geraint.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Unicorn Inn
170 reviews
1.43 km away
Aahar Finest Indian Kitchen
125 reviews
1.06 km away
The Open Hearth
59 reviews
1.43 km away
Tamarind pontypool
166 reviews
1.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pontypool Park
101 reviews
1.08 km away
Llandegfedd Visitor and Watersports Centre
89 reviews
3.70 km away
The Horseshoe Inn
16 reviews
3.93 km away
Folly Tower
37 reviews
2.42 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
23 October 2016|
Answer
Response from phiggins54 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, but this question bears no relation to the Harvester and I have no idea what this question relates to. My name is not Gerraint and I don't know where this traveller has obtained this name from. Please do not ask any... More
-2
Votes
23 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Tony J | Reviewed this property |
Why has a place like this is still trading I will never know. You expect poor quality of food in a lower class restaurant. I feel even a big mac is a better and much cleaner meal. There are many smaller restaurants... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ty Felin Fawr, Lower Mill Field, Pontypool NP4 0RH, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Torfaen  >  Pontypool
  • Phone Number: +44 1495 751551
Description
It is next to a Premier Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing