We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Merlin's Cave Pub and Restaurant

) #3 of 13 Restaurants in Chalfont St. Giles $$ - $$$ , British,
The Village Green | High Street, Chalfont St. Giles HP8 4QF, England
+44 1494 871072
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good30%
  • Average23%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“ham” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
The Village Green | High Street, Chalfont St. Giles HP8 4QF, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

After the funeral of a much liked friend we were all invited for a buffet at the Merlin's Cave. The variety and presentation of dishes was amazing. The staff replaced dishes when the were low There was sitting in the beautiful garden. A really good...More

Thank lambkaroline3
Jamie P, General Manager at Merlin's Cave Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks for the kind review and I'm glad you all felt looked after on such a sad day. All the best Jamie Peoples

Reviewed 1 week ago

The service was extremely bad especially when they are charging such high prices!. There were only 5 tables occupied in the restaurant, yet the table next to us didn't get their main until we left (after arriving 30 mins before us) and you would think...More

Thank Hanne H
Jamie P, General Manager at Merlin's Cave Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Hanne H, I am really sorry to learn of your recent poor experience. I have passed on your feedback regarding the portion size and the black buns to our executive chef who will look into this. Regarding the wait you had for your food...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After waiting over an hour for our starters (pate and salad) we were then promised something in five minutes. Twenty minutes later our starters arrived. We waited a further half an hour for mains. Disaster. Our own fault though as this is second time we've...More

1  Thank Kjsut
Jamie P, General Manager at Merlin's Cave Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Kjsut, You've reviewed the wrong pub I'm afraid. We don't serve pate and we don't make people wait an hour for starters. Please remove the review. Regards Jamie Peoples

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We returned for Sunday Roast Lunch after an enjoyable previous visit, again the staff were friendly, helpful and service was very good. I ordered lovely roast pork which came with a delicious rhubarb sauce, the three ladies all ordered lamb, everything else on their plates...More

Thank Lee O
Jamie P, General Manager at Merlin's Cave Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Lee, Thanks for the feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed the service and most of the food. I was pass on your comments to our butchers about the quality of the lamb and make sure this is addressed going forwards. It's really great to learn...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I had an excellent 3 course meal for £15 and were pleasantly surprised with the quality and portions of the food. We had chicken wings to start which were a little spicy with a nice tang, I had roast beef with parsnips,...More

1  Thank kimmymerino
Jamie P, General Manager at Merlin's Cave Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kim, It's always great to hear when one of our guests really enjoys themselves. Your great review will be passed onto the team and hopefully we will be welcoming you back here soon. Many thanks Jamie

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After the sympathetic but brilliant and much needed refurbishment, Merlin's Cave took a while to find it's feet. However, it is now getting into its stride and deserving of its place at the heart of this most wonderful of English villages (where John Milton completed...More

1  Thank RobLetts
Jamie P, General Manager at Merlin's Cave Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Rob, Great to hear you are a fan and you're enjoying what we are trying to achieve here. Your kind words are to be shared with the rest of the team. We really look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best Jamie...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Merlin's would be greatly improved by investing more time into their staff. The decor is excellent, but every time I have been it just looks a little dirty...bits of food and napkins on floors, tables that all need a wipe...just generally a bit shabby....More

1  Thank mysonisalsonamedbort
Jamie P, General Manager at Merlin's Cave Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your feedback Beth.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Merlin's is a large, well decorated pub, with a garden by the river. I have eaten there three times but wlll not do so again. I took my granddaughter for their 2 course lunch but there were only three choices, none of which appealed. She...More

1  Thank Helen17112013
Jamie P, General Manager at Merlin's Cave Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review Helen, I have passed on your comments about the under seasoned soup to the chefs. Its really good to hear you had been several times previously and enjoyed yourself. Sorry to hear we won't be seeing you again. Cheers Jamie

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

We popped in for a drink whilst out on a walk and ended up having some eats. Pulled pork nachos - amazing - proper baked nachos. Smoked haddock scotch egg - the sort of quality where i would have it for starter, for main and...More

Thank steve g
Jamie P, General Manager at Merlin's Cave Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Hi Steve, Thank you for the glowing review. It is great to hear when people are enjoying the food we do here. Look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best Jamie

Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

Dessert lacked the flavours it was meant to taste of. The manager wouldn't honour wine vouchers given on a previous visit.More

Thank Vanessa T
Jamie P, General Manager at Merlin's Cave Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Hi Vanessa, As I hope Alex explained to you on the day, if you sign up to the email club a voucher will be sent to you unfortunately we cannot give away glasses of wine in exchange for the paper comment cards we give out....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Ivy House
198 reviews
.35 km away
The Deli
54 reviews
.03 km away
Milton's Head
59 reviews
.58 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chiltern Open Air Museum
189 reviews
1.98 km away
Fired Works
15 reviews
2.93 km away
The Craft Beer Shop
27 reviews
4.03 km away
Everyman Cinema
115 reviews
4.94 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Earthwatcher1957
30 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Vermy100 | Reviewed this property |
Dogs are allowed in the bar area and garden but not in the restaurant at the back.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:30
Thursday
11:00 - 23:30
Friday
11:00 - 23:30
Saturday
11:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Village Green | High Street, Chalfont St. Giles HP8 4QF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Chalfont St. Giles
  • Phone Number: +44 1494 871072
  • E-mail
Description
The newly renovated Merlins Cave is located in the heart of Chalfont St Giles on the Village Green, a beautiful village only a few minutes drive from the M40 and M25. Merlin's Cave has been rejuvenated into a beautiful country pub, with an all-fresh food restaurant and a bar serving hand-crafted beers from the cask or bottle. As well as our uniquely designed restaurant and bar, which draw their character from the stunning countryside which surrounds us, we also put the magic back into our garden which, incidentally stretches down to the River Misbourne. Food is served: Monday to Thursday: 11am - until 10:00pm Friday & Saturday: 1pm until 10:00pm Sunday: 1pm until 9pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing