We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
52 High Street, Burnham-on-Crouch CM0 8AA, England
+44 1621 785057
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 147: English reviews
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I've been here a few times. I've eaten in the restaurant which is very nice, although be prepared to spend a bit of money in here. The food is very well prepared and presented and there's a good range with new things to try. I enjoy a drink in the bar (look out for Happy Hour when cocktails are half... More 

Helpful?
Thank Justine P
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We had lunch with family and friends in this lovely venue on a Saturday. The service was friendly, fast and efficient and the food was of an extremely high standard. I had fish pie which was packed with delicious fish, more than I have ever found in a restaurant fish pie before. My husband is vegetarian and he had a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dianaburn
J_Cracknell, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dianaburn, Thank you so much for your time to write this fantastic review. We were very happy to read your comments about your experience at the Ship Inn. By changing the menus seasonally, our head chef aims to serve good honest food, locally sourced wherever possible and with equal care taken in every step from first preparation to final... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

It was our first visit and won't be our last. Very lovely food at a great price we both had what looked like London standard restaurant high end food. We will definitely be back

Helpful?
1 Thank Nichola N
J_Cracknell, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this review

Dear Nichola N, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are very happy you have enjoyed your experience and will be back. We cannot wait to see you soon! Kindest Regards, Jasie More 

Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Late lunch for two on a Saturday afternoon. Really attractive interior - modern but with character. Homemade bread with melted butter as a starter, which was excellent. Excellent selection of local and craft beers - I had the milk stout, which was top quality. For mains, we ordered the hake on risotto (which looked fabulous, with generous portions, and tasted... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank badger5515
J_Cracknell, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this review

Dear badger5515, Thank you very much for your fabulous review. We are extremely pleased to hear you have enjoyed your lunch here, at the Ship Inn. We are passionate about our seasonal food, drink and service and we always strive to bring you a truly enjoyable experience from the moment you walk through our doors. We cannot wait to see... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food was fabulous and the service even better. We could not have expected a better experience, the staff were great, attentive but not overly so. Well done to the Ship Inn for getting everything right - not an easy thing to achieve.

Helpful?
1 Thank EnnaJenna
J_Cracknell, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this review

Dear EnnaJenna, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback. My team and I were thrilled to know that you have enjoyed food and service. The team at the Ship Inn are passionate about our seasonal food, drink and service and we always strive to bring you a truly enjoyable experience from the moment you... More 

Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A warm welcome, delicious food, a lovely atmosphere, good quality drinks & great service...again! We'll be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Janefer3
J_Cracknell, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this review

Dear Janefer3, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback. My team and I were thrilled to know that you have enjoyed our homemade food, quality drinks and service. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon! Kindest Regards, Jasie More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic service and food ,never seen so many gins all top quality lovely place to drink in and eat , I can see this place going from strength to strength

Helpful?
1 Thank John S
J_Cracknell, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this review

Dear John S, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are extremely pleased to hear you have enjoyed your visit at the Ship Inn. We constantly work with new suppliers to introduce different spirits, wines, and beers to our guests. Hopefully, we will see you again soon. Kindest Regards, Jasie More 

Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I will start by saying that the food was very overpriced for what it was. Steak was very fatty and grisly. It was better when it was just a pub a couple of years ago. Also £22 for a rib-eye steak is really just a rip off. I have had better tasting steaks at a Wetherspoons.

Helpful?
1 Thank Connor M
J_Cracknell, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this review

Dear Connor M, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I am extremely sorry to hear you thought your steak was fatty and grisly. We wish you would have told us there and then and we could have adjusted the problem straight away. Everything in our kitchen is freshly made when ordered and we take... More 

Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017

Called in for a bar snack and a pint in this greatly altered old pub. The restauarnt area was very busy with diners but we chose to sit by th welcoming log burner in the pub area. The homemade scotch eggs were warm and runny in the middle and served with a beetroot sauce. Very nice! The Wadwoths 6X washed... More 

Helpful?
Thank R0bbie78
J_Cracknell, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this review

Dear R0bbie78, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased you have enjoyed your experience at The Ship Inn. See you again soon. Regards, Jasie More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017

We called here by chance, looking for a late quick pub lunch. In fact, the menu was so good that we ate more than we'd intended. The service was very friendly and professional and, judging by the food, the Inn seems to have a chef who has a rare talent and who loves his job.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy C
J_Cracknell, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sandy C, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are pleased you have enjoyed your experience at The Ship Inn. Food is our passion and we only source the finest, freshest and most sustainable ingredients and all our dishes are homemade. Our unique approach to fresh food and drink makes the Ship... More 

Travellers who viewed Ship Inn also viewed

Burnham-on-Crouch, Essex
Burnham-on-Crouch, Essex
 

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 52 High Street, Burnham-on-Crouch CM0 8AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Burnham-on-Crouch
  • Phone Number: +44 1621 785057
Description
The independently-owned restaurant and pub offers fine food and wine in a casual and relaxed setting. Provenance is key to the success at the Ship Inn, and head chef has developed relationships with the best suppliers to keep consistency of quality.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Ship Inn and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ship Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?