We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Baths Cafe & Bar

$$ - $$$Cafe, ,
251a Esplanade, Brighton, Bayside, Victoria 3186, Australia
+61 3 9539 7000
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent14%
  • Very good33%
  • Average19%
  • Poor20%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“wedges” (4 reviews)
“pork belly” (2 reviews)
Open Now
7:00 AM - 10:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Australian, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
251a Esplanade, Brighton, Bayside, Victoria 3186, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

met friends for breakfast, got a table on the terrace overlooking the bay. Great view, quite a good choice of breakfast meals. Service fast and friendly. We certainly enjoyed the meal, and would go back again. They also have an upstairs bar and restuarant, which...More

Thank Mike S
TheBaths1, Manager at The Baths Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Mike, Thanks for the review, we are glad that it was enjoyed! Hope to see you soon! Kind regards, The Baths Management

Reviewed 1 week ago

Christmas Lunch downstairs at the Baths. Not only was the view amazing, but the service and food excellent. Went with a group (10). Waitress was great, very friendly. Food was very good - loved the Smoked salmon carpaccio and the Prawn and lobster ravioli. Other...More

Thank Geoff G
TheBaths1, Manager at The Baths Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks Geoff G! We are glad you had a good experience and hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, The Baths Management

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped in for brekky and it was a mistake. Wait staff were slow to acknowledge us, but otherwise pleasant. Our meals took forever to arrive and when they did we were not impressed. Small portions for the price and my friends pancakes didn’t come...More

Thank Larna E
TheBaths1, Manager at The Baths Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good afternoon Larna E, I hope this email finds you well, I am sorry that you had this experience with us, would you be able to email events@middlebrightonbaths with your feedback so this can be investigated. Kind regards, The Baths Management

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We (4 people) arrived on time, our table was not ready, our food was served cold, the service was terrible, waiters were condescending and rude

Thank anne p
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Unlike previous experiences at this venue our meal this time was not appetising. The lobster ravioli was cold and the fish was oily. Table service was also slow. The setting is attractive and ambient with views of the bay. I hope for better food and...More

Thank pbburton
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Absolutely terrible. We waited over an hour for drinks!! Arena if thats her name was horrible and rude. She rolled her eyes at us constantly, had a go at us for not booking. Gave one of the customers the wrong drink when they cant have...More

Thank hannahlindgren13
TheBaths1, Manager at The Baths Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear hannahlindgren13, Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. We have been in touch with 2 members of your party from your Facebook complaints and explained the situation. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us on 03 9539 7002. Kind...More

Reviewed 23 October 2017

We went for dinner and ordered chicken salads. After finding large chunks of fatty skin in both salads, we then discovered a 10cm chicken bone! The waitress was great, and we then ordered a salami pizza to try and play it safe, but sure enough...More

Thank Tim & Kate D
TheBaths1, Manager at The Baths Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Tim & Kate D, Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. We believe that every single customer who walks through the door should have an unforgettable experience and a delicious meal to accompany the views. We apologise that the food was a...More

Reviewed 19 October 2017

We met friends there for coffee and were not disappointed. The outlook was stunning and the service was good. The coffee was good too

Thank croftonMelbourne
TheBaths1, Manager at The Baths Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi CroftonMelbourne, Thank-you for your review. We are glad to read that you had a great time and enjoyed your coffee with us. We hope to see you again! Kind Regards, The Baths Management Team

Reviewed 16 October 2017

A meal last week caught us by surprise. A seafood platter worth $90 had one tiny oyster and three or four other oyster shells empty. I asked what was going on. They took the plate away and brought the four good oysters. There was no...More

1  Thank VolshebstvoM
TheBaths1, Manager at The Baths Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear VolshebstvoM, Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. We believe that every single customer who walks through the door should have an unforgettable experience and a delicious meal. We apologise that the seafood platter was a disappointment but it is only through...More

Reviewed 15 October 2017

We went for breakfast on a gorgeous spring morning - and discovered that the upstairs restaurant also serves the same cafe breakfast menu on Saturdays and Sundays. And at the same prices. Which is great because you get excellent service, comfortable elegant surroundings, a fantastic...More

Thank BenYorkie
TheBaths1, Manager at The Baths Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Hi BenYorkie, Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. The Baths is about offering the best of service and food in the best environment, so we are glad to see that reflected on your last visit. We hope to see you soon again...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Humble House
139 reviews
.73 km away
The Baths Upstairs
167 reviews
.02 km away
Cafe Florentine
180 reviews
.74 km away
Bistro La Provence
49 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Brighton Beach
562 reviews
.88 km away
Middle Brighton Baths
133 reviews
.84 km away
Foreshore Reserve
9 reviews
.94 km away
Historic St Andrew's Anglican Church
9 reviews
.66 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Baths Cafe & Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$18
Cuisine
Cafe, Australian, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Child-friendly, View, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 251a Esplanade, Brighton, Bayside, Victoria 3186, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Greater Melbourne  >  Bayside  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +61 3 9539 7000
  • E-mail
Description
The Baths overlooks Melbourne’s only remaining sea baths, offering fine cuisine and unbeatable service amidst magnificent panoramic views of the city and Port Phillip Bay. The Baths Middle Brighton is a restaurant, cafe and bar that also specialises in individually tailored functions, offering many different experiences within one venue. The Baths is perfect for weddings, cocktail parties, birthdays, anniversaries, conferences, product launches, corporate entertaining.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing