We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The King Rufus

135 Winchester Road, Chandler’s Ford, Eastleigh SO53 2DU, England
+44 23 8025 5165
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good22%
  • Average15%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (6 reviews)
“lovely garden” (6 reviews)
“play area” (11 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
135 Winchester Road, Chandler’s Ford, Eastleigh SO53 2DU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We were a family of 10 , 4 children and 6 adults, for breakfast with santa ,we were allocated a lovely seating area with plenty of space,and the children enjoyed a pre breakfast visit with santa .Food was served shortly after ordering even thou staff...More

Thank Jayd D
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

The only positive thing to say is the front of house staff were very nice and tried their best. We were a Christmas party group. Our orders ( and full payments) were in 2 weeks before. The starters arrived quickly but were almost inedible and...More

Thank suep36636
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last visited about 18 months ago and had a terrible meal. Returned tonight and pretty much the same. Wasn't even worth the 50% off mains voucher. Front of house staff friendly enough but quality of food was dreadful.

Thank Carvella
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came for lunch and was not disappointed by quality or quantity. Unfortunately came On day that card machines were down so had to pay cash Price is reasonable and service good.More

Thank Trevor H
KingRufus, General Manager at The King Rufus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the nice review. I’m glad you had a nice time dining with us and on another positive note, our card machines are up and running again. I’m pleased to hear that even with the chaos that caused we were able to provide good...More

Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

This is a great pub to drink in and meet friends but the food does take sometime to be delivered. Good food options but they seem to take their time on getting the food to the right table.More

Thank Marc E
KingRufus, General Manager at The King Rufus, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you Marc for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed your drinks. We have A couple of new team members who are still learning and this may have been the cause of confusion with tables and table numbers. I’m sure this won’t be an issue...More

Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Visit 1645 18/10/2017 Very disappointed with my visit here. 1) the wine I wanted wasn’t available (Chilean Sauvignon Blanc) and I had to accept a (more expensive) New Zealand alternative. 2) the beer I wanted (Guinness) was not available 3) the ice machine was out...More

1  Thank parishorganist
KingRufus, General Manager at The King Rufus, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have been very unfortunate with several pieces of equipment breaking down recently. I am pleased to say however, that this has all been rectified now and would like to reassure you that your visit...More

Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

I’ve always loved this pub. However food has gone down hill. Very expensive for quality. Is a nice place however for drinksMore

Thank kathrynl1993
KingRufus, Manager at The King Rufus, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you for your review. I am sorry we didn’t deliver the standard of food you were expecting. We always strive to provide great value for money when it comes to our food and drinks. I will pass your comments on to our Kitchen Manager...More

Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We decided to try this place, and bitterly regret doing so. Over an hour for food, when there were only us and another couple having breakfast. When the food did arrive, it was cold, was measly in portion (a bacon sandwich consisted of stale bread...More

1  Thank Tordeb
KingRufus, Manager at The King Rufus, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

I would like to apologise for the poor service and food you have received. I would like to reassure you that we are always working to improve our service skills and your comments have been noted with the team. I am glad you brought this...More

Reviewed 2 October 2017

Service is awful but food average waited for ages for each course and not asked for more drinks. Very poorMore

1  Thank Claire S
KingRufus, Manager at The King Rufus, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate feedback in all forms so that we may better our service skills and provide the level of service our guests and I expect. I apologise this has not been the case for your visit, but would like to...More

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Delicious food in a friendly relaxed atmosphere no matter how busy the staff are they have time for a smile. Well done to all concerned!

Thank RobEmz2017
KingRufus, Manager at The King Rufus, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

The team at the Rufus always try to put their best foot forward and great everyone with a smile. I am glad this was the case for your visit and we appreciate the kind comment. We hope to see you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Special Thai Restaurant
132 reviews
1.11 km away
Waffles & Cream
46 reviews
.26 km away
Masala Lounge
170 reviews
.25 km away
Canton House
60 reviews
1.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Flip Out
38 reviews
1.57 km away
Chandler's Ford Library
10 reviews
.37 km away
The Race Centre
15 reviews
1.12 km away
Flip Out Southampton
15 reviews
1.57 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
15 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Carol W | Reviewed this property |
Hi....not sure....telephone them
0
Votes
James N
4 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Carol W | Reviewed this property |
James N....this is not a question...!!!! Do you realise that this outburst has gone to all the people that have written reviews about the King Rufus !!!...What gives you the right to chastise someone for their... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$21
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 135 Winchester Road, Chandler’s Ford, Eastleigh SO53 2DU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Eastleigh  >  Chandler’s Ford
  • Phone Number: +44 23 8025 5165
  • E-mail
Description
The King Rufus offers a mouth-watering value-for-money menu of favourite dishes, expertly cooked and served in a fun, friendly atmosphere. There is full table service in the restaurant, or pop in to the pub area for a pint and something to eat. Wherever you are, you can look forward to a comfy setting in which to enjoy the great food, cask ales and fine wines we have on offer. All tastes and occasions catered for. With a great outdoor children'splay area and a fantastic childrens menu with meals and dessert from just £3.99, we welcome families.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing