We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Touring the Izu Peninsula in fall?

Redlands, California
Level Contributor
21 posts
21 reviews
Save Topic
Touring the Izu Peninsula in fall?

I'll be traveling solo in Shimoda between Oct. 29 and Nov. 1. I'm more interested in seeing fall foliage and soaking in some good onsen rather than the beaches (I'm sure it will be too cold to get in anyway).

Can you please recommend some good public onsen or places to see the leaves changing color? Would you recommend renting a car to get around the peninsula? If so, how mountainous is it? While I wouldn't classify myself as a terrible driver, I do have difficulty going up and down mountain passes that wind--I tend to go slower than everyone else appreciates.

Thanks!

7 replies to this topic
Vancouver, Canada
Destination Expert
for Tohoku, Hokkaido
Level Contributor
6,980 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Touring the Izu Peninsula in fall?

Izu Peninsula has a lot to see and do. We drove around for almost 5 days and still hadn’t seen all we wanted to see, so with 3-4 days you have to choose and select carefully those places you want to go. Your time of visit is a bit early for autumn foliage in the peninsula. In average year the season doesn’t start till mid Nov and late Nov is said to be the best time for koyo.

A self-drive road trip would indeed let you fully maximize the limited time available and yes, there are curvy mt roads to deal with but the drive shouldn’t be too difficult as traffic on the peninsula is relatively light.

Redlands, California
Level Contributor
21 posts
21 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Touring the Izu Peninsula in fall?

Great! Thank you so much!

San Francisco...
Level Contributor
4,922 posts
23 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Touring the Izu Peninsula in fall?