We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Real La Paz

4 posts
The Real La Paz

There have been some recent posts about the police bribes here in La Paz that have garnered some attention and, as a resident, I would like to offer a few things:

Bribes (mordidas) happen. This is seemingly unsettling for visitors. It's part of the culture and has been for decades. If you know how to deal with the situation, it's no big deal. Although I have a strong opinion on how tourists react to this, I don't aim to be inflammatory so let me just say this. Please understand that when you travel to a different country, you will be subjected to a different culture. Sometimes that means your comfort zone may be stretched a bit. Please keep an open mind and don't bash an entire city because you may have an uncomfortable encounter with a widely-accepted practice in a culture that is not your own.

I would like to make myself available to anyone who might have questions about anything here in La Paz should you be planning a visit.

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
731 posts
56 reviews
11. Re: The Real La Paz

No April, that's the point. You do NOT pay. Stand your ground.

Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Destination Expert
for Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Cabo San Lucas
Level Contributor
12,032 posts
12. Re: The Real La Paz

Some of you might be interested in this latest article about LaPaz... It has lots of information and comes from an excellent source.

borderlandbeat.com/2016/05/3-sides-war-for-l…

Houston...
Level Contributor
5 posts
28 reviews
13. Re: The Real La Paz

OK, I'm planning a family trip in early June with my wife and son. Our plans are to rent a car at the airport and drive into La Paz for a few days of diving and fishing. Then head over to Todos Santos to surf for a few days.