We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Newbie to Big Island and base question

Minnesota
Level Contributor
234 posts
4 reviews
Save Topic
Newbie to Big Island and base question

Aloha!

I’m a newbie to the Big Island. However, not to Hawaii. My hubby and I have been to the other islands 6 times as we love Hawaii.

We decided when we come back to Hawaii, we would try the Big Island. Perhaps we are saving the best for last? :)

Every island has something whether its history or beauty, each island is unique!

Ok, here are my deets. I’m looking to find a good base for a 2 week vaca Nov 19- early Dec. on the Big Island. Spending just 2-3 nights in Hilo. The remainder will be spent @ a condo on Kohala Coast. And flying out of Koa. Does this sound logical?

I want a 2 bedroom (1 king bed as hubby is 6 ft 5 & 1 queen is suffice) & 2 bathrooms with a $225 nightly budget. Thoughts on either of these please?

Waikoloa Beach Villas B3

I found this one on trip advisor but why can't I find it on vrbo? Does anybody book condos off of trip advisor forum instead of vrbo? Hmm I'm having trouble with vrbo searches for some reason. A lot of searches bring up nothing. Granted over Thanksgiving holidays are filled maybe.

How do I know if it’s a legal rental?

Thanks in advance.

I’m also contemplating this one...

Mauna Lani Kulalani 2405. Ok, another weird thing, this condo is $500 some dollars higher on vrbo than it shows on tripadvisor. Doesn’t make sense to me for the same dates. Hmmm...

If somebody can offer me their 2 cents on either of the above I would appreciate it!

Or if you have something better for me, please post a few condos that have 1 king, 1 queen , 2 bathrooms with a $225 night budget I’d certainly appreciate it. Those added fees surely add up.