We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Meeting animal

Japaratinga, AL
Level Contributor
186 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Meeting animal

Dear All,

I am going to visit Tasmania but I don't drive. I will rely on public transport and I will stay in the central Hobart. I would like to meet some animal like wombat, pademelon and little penguin. I have several questions:

1. Is there any animal in Mt. Willington Park?

2. For Hartz Mountains National Park, it seems not mention the above animals inside. Is there?

3. For South Bruny National Park, it mentions there are little penguin. Where can I meet exactly in the park? Do I have to reach the edge of land? Is it difficult? I am not good at walking and adventure.

4. Where is the nearest place to Hobart to meet wombat and pademelon?

20 replies to this topic
Australia
Level Contributor
88 posts
21 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Meeting animal

Public transport is poor in Tasmania, I would recommend a coach tour. I worked down there for some months, my car had to be repaired so I was without it for a couple of weeks and found bus services far apart and very slow. There are no trains.

If you are looking for reputable companies I can recommend Australian Pacific Tours, I have done Tasmania with them and was very happy with all aspects of the trip.

South Pacific
Destination Expert
for Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
27,806 posts
75 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Meeting animal

You will find it very difficult getting around unless you have a car or join a tour.

The easiest way to see animals is to go to Bonorong wildlife park on the northern edge of Hobart. Best way to get there is on a tour, but you can bus/walk to get there: http://bonorong.com.au/directions/