We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Akaroa - still worth a visit in Xmas...?

Sydney, Australia
1 post
Save Topic
Akaroa - still worth a visit in Xmas...?

Hi all,

I've just started planning my 2.5 weeks NZ vacation during the upcoming holiday season! Akaroa looks like a real jam, but after reading the GR8 tips here, I understand it could be a problem during my visit given the masses coming in with their cruise ships… I’m a student travelling on my own, and I love nature and meeting new people, but always prefer secluded and quite places… What do you say?

If you vote yes, from the following, what do you recommend: (i) swim with the Hector dolphins, (ii) go to one of the cruises (i.e. Fox), or (iii) do the full package tour with Pohatu Penguin Habitat (inc. the sleep over & kayaking). Options 1+2 also include bike ride to nearby Maori village of Onuku.

Thanks in advance!!

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
533 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Akaroa - still worth a visit in Xmas...?

Hi Shea. The link below is a direct link to an excel (.xls file) table of cruise ships visits to Akaroa over the 2012/2013 period. Hopefully it help you plan when you would like to visit.

http://bit.ly/QCS0kN

Keep in mind that the cruise ship passengers return to their vessels overnight. Most of the ships only visit for the day. Many passengers will be on day tours out beyond Akaroa.

That said, it could get busy at times when multiple ships are in port. Not too sure what the Hectors are going to make of all the extra boat activity.

As far as we recall, Onuku is a Marae (Maori meeting/community hall) about 5kms from Akaroa. May have been a village there once but not now? There are a couple of local Akaroans who sometimes post here at TA. So they may be able to shed more light on Onuku.