We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Advice about iPhone use in Phuket

Exeter, United...
Level Contributor
47 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Advice about iPhone use in Phuket

Following an £800 bill whilst holidaying in Majorca, I haven't taken a phone with me on holiday since. However, I would like to be able to use the internet when needed in phuket without having to go to an cafe. I have a spare older UK iphone, is it possible to buy a sim which lasts for just a month with unlimited internet use only in Phuket ? I am not an expert with phones and have very limited knowlege:-) 36 day till we arrive !!!! Cheers

London, United...
Level Contributor
533 posts
1 review
Save Reply
1. Re: Advice about iPhone use in Phuket

There's a long thread here about it -

tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowTopic-g293915-i3686-k3…

Exeter, United...
Level Contributor
47 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Advice about iPhone use in Phuket

Thank you :-)

Kuala Lumpur...
Destination Expert
for Kuala Lumpur, Macau, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14,892 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: Advice about iPhone use in Phuket

Hi, the most basic is do not enable data roaming,but use WiFi ...many hotels provide free WiFi these days, but make sure it requires WEPkey.

your older phone--is it unlocked? Similarly, is your iPhone unlocked?

if it is, just get a prepaid SIM-also available in microSIM.

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,850 posts
27 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Advice about iPhone use in Phuket