We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buying a camera for Safari

UK
Level Contributor
110 posts
13 reviews
Save Topic
Buying a camera for Safari

Need a new camera and need advice on what to buy. Was looking at a budget of around £100 and can get up to 5x optical zoom and at least 10 megapixel etc..

I'm now reading that the bigger the optical zoom, the better, so would it pay to invest in something more expensive so with between 10x and 20x optical zoom?

Also a complete novice when it comes to memory and cards - how many gb do you recommend for a 4 day safari?

Finally, I like the sound of a lithium powered rechargable battery model, rather than lug AA batteries around. We're staying in Simba lodges - presumably I can charge the camera up overnight at the lodge or will I need a camera with AA's ?

Thanks in advance....

Telford, Shropshire
Level Contributor
2,431 posts
101 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Buying a camera for Safari

Hi

There's been a few similar questions - take a look at these posts:

tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowTopic-g294206-i9216-k2…

tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowTopic-g317068-i9744-k3…

Min

UK
Destination Expert
for Malindi, Ukunda, Kenya
Level Contributor
4,751 posts
9 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Buying a camera for Safari

Grumps

Go for the biggest sensor you can afford. Megapixels matters much less than sensor size. And get a spare battery!

Simba lodges have power points in the rooms, but it's surprising how little you're in your room, so a sprare is essential. With 10MP, a 4gb card is about enough for a day or two. I'd get at least one more, and a third to be sure. They're only a few quid.

Richard

Kingston-upon-Hull...
Destination Expert
for Kenya
Level Contributor
3,479 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Buying a camera for Safari