We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Safety for a Solo Female Traveler?

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
307 posts
334 reviews
Safety for a Solo Female Traveler?

Hello!

I’m planning a potential trip to Puerto Viejo in January. I have read some things on this forum indicating that there is a problem with crime, armed robberies and such in town that have happened to tourists. Some people have said not even to take your camera or phone with you when out exploring.

I have traveled solo to Guatemala and many areas of Mexico on my own and have always just used common sense and have had no negative experiences.

I am a photographer and always take my camera and phone with me, but typically carry it in a small backpack and only take it out when I am taking a photo and then put it away again.

Is Puerto Viejo really that unsafe that you can’t take a camera or phone with you around town? Can anyone offer their experiences or knowledge of how safe the area is for an experienced solo female traveler?

Thanks!

7 replies to this topic
San Jose, California
Destination Expert
for California
Level Contributor
18,181 posts
120 reviews
1. Re: Safety for a Solo Female Traveler?

I was a bit nervous too, then got here and wondered what all the dire warnings were about. Yeah, there is crime, but normal precautions should keep you safe and your belongings firmly within your possession. And you've traveled in other places with various levels of crime, you know what to do. It reminds me of the 1st time I went to New Orleans- based on all the warnings, you'd swear it was anarchy over there. More than a dozen trips later and it's all good.