We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Opticians

Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 posts
90 reviews
Save Topic
Opticians

Whats Malta like for good Opticians. Need to change my glasses and im wondering if its worth waiting.

11 replies to this topic
Island of Malta...
Destination Expert
for Island of Gozo, Island of Malta
Level Contributor
4,530 posts
136 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Opticians

Opticians - there are a lot of them. Depending on the complexity of your prescription and quality of lens, thinned, light sensitive etc, it's not necessarily that cheap here.

You have the benefit of using the Euro so won't see the GBP crash issue.

Bugibba, Malta
Destination Expert
for Bugibba
Level Contributor
704 posts
1 review
Save Reply
2. Re: Opticians

I'm no doctor but if you need your glasses to see I'd get them instead of walking about blind.

I hope this helps ;)

Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 posts
90 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Opticians

No help at all....I was enquiring about getting lenses etc cheaper than at home. Of course I wont be walking around BLIND...

Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 posts
90 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Opticians

Thanks for that. Im used to topping up contact lens etc in Turkey for a tenth of the price at home but it seems I wont do as well in Malta.

Inverness
Level Contributor
105 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
5. Re: Opticians

I've used a couple of opticians in Malta. One gave a really lousy eye test. I don't think standards and technology are what you might be used to in British high street chains. Also, there doesn't see to be much in terms of 2 for 1 deals. On the plus side, service is reasonably quick.

Delmenhorst, Germany
Level Contributor
3 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
6. Re: Opticians

How did it cost a glasses with progressive lenses?