We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Weather forecast for 15,16,17 december

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 posts
14 reviews
Save Topic
Weather forecast for 15,16,17 december

Hi, we leave Las Vegas on the 15th. Have 1 night (12/15) booked GC. My plan was to drive out the east rim road on 64 & drive to Flagstaff the next day. Spend 2 nights in Flagstaff (16&17) with a day trip to Sedona on the 17th. On the 18th drive via Bearizona & a bit of Route 66 back toward LA, stopping a night somewhere enroute. We fly home from LA late on the 21st.

Some snow is forecast for the 16th & 17th. I have no experience driving in the snow. Not sure if I should modify our plans or hotel bookings ( we can cancel up to 48 hours before). We would be very excited to see snow for the first time , & My teens have really been looking forward to Bearizona. Also should ask the rental car company if I can swap to snow tyres in Vegas ? Not even sure if they will do that..

Any advice would be appreciated ...thanks in advance.

Lisa

6 replies to this topic
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Destination Expert
for Grand Canyon National Park
Level Contributor
7,675 posts
15 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Weather forecast for 15,16,17 december

>> Also should ask the rental car company if I can swap to snow tyres in Vegas ?

No, they definitely won't put snow tires on. If you've reserved a small car, you might be more comfortable in an SUV. Even the smaller ones, like the Ford Escape, will be more stable in snow. In general, heavier cars and bigger tires help.

Flagstaff is ski country and at a much higher elevation than Sedona -- 7K vs 4K. Chance of snow is going to be much higher in Flagstaff. Unless you're planning to be there to ski, I would consider staying in Sedona instead if you're nervous about the snow.