We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
msbones047 wrote a review Aug 2021
Lincoln, Nebraska90 contributions55 helpful votes
+1
This was our first experience on a Celebrity cruise-and it was delightful! The ship is gorgeous and so full of surprises and conveniences at every turn. The entertainment is largely centered around live music, and we were never disappointed. Eddy, the cruise director was absolutely the best-he seemed to be everywhere, and I wonder if he ever slept! He was so upbeat, and hilariously funny. The last day, he did a presentation of "Things to know about life on a cruise ship" that was absolutely marvelous. There were dance lessons by the pool, solo guitar performance, a glass blowing station and trivia contests constantly.

There are lots of guides for assistance locating the area you are looking for-in every elevator, every turn, models of the ship in the foyers-so helpful for those of us who are directionally challenged!

The Oceanview Cafe was out of this world! There are some changes due to Covid-no helping yourself, but instead you hold your plate out and the server loads it up. But no fear-you could have as much as you wanted-the servers were always asking if they gave you enough. All the food items were labeled for dietary restiricted-gluten free is a must for us, and this was so appreciated. The dessert choices were just out of this world, and every day there was a new gluten free cake.

The ship was sailing at 50% capacity, so this made it so enjoyable and safe. We could always get a lounge chair and in the hot tub when we wanted. The crew was constantly cleaning, and hand sanitizer was available everywhere.

This trip was definitely a welcome experience for us, as we had cancelled many trips over the past year-our first year of retirement. We hope and plan to continue with Celebrity.
Read more
Sail Date: August 2021
Cabin Type: Balcony
Type of Trip:
Destination: Caribbean
Cabin
Dining
Service
Pools & Sundecks
Onboard Activities
Entertainment
Value
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Scroll below for other great reviews

Celebrity Equinox

129 reviews
 All photos (2,610)2,610
Full view
Traveller (901)
Common Areas (1,462)
Dining and Bars (694)
Itineraries for this ship
Itinerary

Overview

About
Passengers: 2,850   |   Crew: 1,250
Passengers to crew: 2.28:1
Passengers to space: 42.7:1
Launched: 2009   

Decks

  • Deck 3
  • Deck 4
  • Deck 5
  • Deck 6
  • Deck 7
  • Deck 8
Additional decks
Deck 3 layout
Cabins
  Inside Stateroom (12)  
  Ocean View (08)  
 
Amenities
Grand Foyer
Silhouette Restaurant
Shore Excursions
Luminae
Passport Bar
Gents
Equinox Theater
Guest Relations

Cabins

Balcony
Cabin size: 192 - 299 sq. ft.
Connected rooms: 237
Accessible rooms: 8
Maximum passengers: 5
Number of cabins: 427
Traveller rating
  • 81
  • 20
  • 16
  • 7
  • 5
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sarah S wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
A wonderful family holiday after a few years of not traveling. We flew from Europe to meet grandparents. We had adjacent rooms (7110 & 7112) and were able to share our balcony. What was great: the ship's cruise director, Eddy Jenkins, was phenomenal. A genuinely lovely, intelligent person who helped make the 12-day cruise special. The itinerary worked well and enjoyed a blend of ship excursions and self-guided ones. My teenagers really liked the new tour on Dominica of the emerald pool, waterfalls and snorkelling on champagne beach. They also thought the dolphin encounter on St Kitts was fun. The ship offers a variety of activities and spaces that suited all three generations of my family.
Read more
Helpful
Share
NoFuFu wrote a review Feb 2022
Fort Lauderdale, FL244 contributions101 helpful votes
The Equinox cruise Feb 11-20th was tremendous ! The food was great, the entertainment top shelf- the Shamrock Tenors show and Roy Tan ( pianist) shows were the highlights of the cruise; the comedian show with Fred Bevill was very funny; Curacao and Aruba are fun ports of call ; due to a change first in Cayman Islands and then in Jamaica restrictions on visitors to those islands- that port call was changed to Bimini and was a much more desirable destination –the water colors were mesmerizing and beaches beautiful The staff from the captain on down was terrific- cruise director Eddy and activities director Peter were dynamos- the Liars Club night in the theater with Captain Matt was hiliarious; Lisbon our cabin attendant was excellent, Elbert & Michael waiters, Farouk the Maitre’d, and Vicktoria the hostess in the Silhouette dining room were excellent; , I Wayan bartender & Ella in the Ensemble lounge ; Allwyn from India at Sky Lounge bar was great, Leto & the bartenders in Craft Beer bar were terrific, Teresa in Passport bar was great,Jesus waiter in Oceanview Café was very nice; The one gimmick that Celebrity needs to fix is the come on with their “surf wifi” always included- we paid a tidy amount to upgrade to “Xcelerate wifi” and it was extremely slow compared to a recent Princess cruise, frequently dropping out even when ship was stationary in port – I did several speed tests and the speed ranged from 1.75 to 2.5 MBPS – my cousin and his wife had “surf wifi” and speed tests on their wifi never exceeded zero – they could not even open photos sent via Whatsapp to them ; I even went in to the Icafe lounge and the staff there also did a test on their computers and even there is wifi central tests never exceeded 2.5 – anyone needing email for business be prepared to take an hour which normally takes a few minutes – very disappointing- suggest changing “Xcelerate” to “Just Above Dial Up” – copy Princess’ mode- one internet speed for all and it is very good- just build it in to your pricing Other musicians on board that were very good – guitarist Michael Redden and guitarist Michael White; the classical duo violinist and guitarist ladies were also good as was the house band; the True Colours duo not so much- songs all had the same cadence; the latin band was ok but when one of the male band sang it sounded like bad karaoke ; I did not notice anyone smoking in the casino which was a big plus- Celebrity still hasn’t figured out most people don’t smoke and still have half of the Sunset Bar allowing smoking- they have one smoking bar as it is the Mast Bar- one is enough – The ship was only about 50% capacity and the staff kept masks on everywhere- guests were allowed to take masks off everywhere but the theater and casino – there was a total of one reported Covid case- a guest who was quickly isolated- hats off to Celebrity for their policies ! Pillows were a bit hard in our balcony cabin but our cabin attendant Lisbon got us a couple of replacements softer pillows The casino was more fun than on Princess – they still have quarter slots and plenty of them
Read more
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
99dingo wrote a review Dec 2021
Leland, North Carolina6 contributions7 helpful votes
This is a beautiful ship, down to every detail. It featured a lot of fun activities, and great staff but above all I want to say that Roger V., Milan, and Denis (sommelier) at Blu provided our very large family group hands down the best service we have ever received. These gentlemen didn't miss a beat - and Roger in particular was incredibly kind and caring for my 87 year old mother, and to all of our group. Would highly recommend a cruise on the Equinox and definitely dine at Blu.
Read more
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
HolidayTraveler wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions6 helpful votes
I'll start with the positive - sailed the Equinox from Ft. Lauderdale to Aruba, Curacao, and Bonaire. This is probably my 17th cruise. Itinerary was great, had a couple relaxing days at sea (except for the d@nm pool chair self reservation bs) - someone high up on the RC / Celebrity management chain needs to put that on the process redesign list. We literally almost witnessed a physical fight over a pool lounge chair. Food was excellent, staff was exceptional. Here's the REALLY exceptional part of the review. We usually travel with 3 checked bags. On one of our flights the overhead compartments were full, so I had to check a bag at the gate. WELL, we get to the ship, no problems with the Covid-19 protocols, all SUPER SMOOTH, we get to our room only to realize I forgot the other checked bag and we have 1.5 hours until departure. Medicine and other critical items were in that bag so I call the front desk to tell them I'm heading to the airport via cab to retrieve our bag. I get to the gangway, and get stopped by this very polite gentleman who as on his radio talking to a Royal Caribbean / Celebrity staff member at the airport. I was told to "not worry, the bag is on it's way, go have fun and relax". About an hour later the bag shows up in our room and disaster is averted. Excellent, Excellent customer service. Now the negative. I've been trying since the cruise (end of October) to get someone/anyone from customer service to return my emails to discuss an item I purchased on board that never got delivered to our room. I've had my travel agent contact them, I've sent 4+ emails - nothing, nada, no call, no emails. It's a $50 item and it's more the principle of the matter more than retrieving the item. All in all an excellent trip, just the customer service blemish at the very end of our journey.
Read more
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Debbie D wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Oct 29, 2021 9 Day Cruise on Equinox We booked this cruise on recommendations that this was a class up from Royal Carribean. It was touted as having higher quality food and entertainment. It was our first and LAST Celebrity cruise. Overall, entertainment was extremely disappointing. Music was not what we expected. Traveling through the Carribean we expected some steel drum island, reggae type of music. There was none. The pool had limited activities and sub par live music entertainment. The shows were also lacking in the Wow factor. Halloween… also disappointing. All we saw from one floor up was the working staff taking selfie pictures instead of entertaining guests. Winner of costume contest was never even announced. The pumpkin display up the staircase and scattered around was very pretty but took up all the space for people to participate or dance. We stayed a level up and just observed. Oct 29 8pm dinner in dining room with Edrich,(?), our waiter. He was very attentive to us. French onion soup was tasty but that was it. The Caesar salad was warm and wilted. The main course wasn’t much better. Oct 30 Reservation in Tuscan for 40th anniversary Ordered Crabcake for appetizer. No crab, tasted like freezer burnt fried breading. Sent back. Then ordered BEET salad…under a pile of greens was a plate full of cannellini beans. After sifting through beans, found 3 microscopic pieces of beets. Told waiter to please take that away as well. Ordered lobster Alfredo and Prime Rib. The lobster was good but, again, 3 little pieces of lobster. Prime Rib was chewy and tough, more like a sirloin roast than prime rib. Extremely disappointed in our restaurant experience that was supposed to be our special occasion. We could have been in the buffet for the quality we received. Broadway Caberet was good…not great. Oct 31 8pm dinner in dining room. Joined friends at their table that we met earlier in the day. Escargot was the worst I’ve ever tasted. Steak Diane was over cooked, dried out and was seasoned with funky spices. I felt like everything was infused with the tastes of the Indian chef. Nov 1 7:15pm dinner in dining room, same table as 1st night. Edrich went out of his way to make it more enjoyable for us. My Caesar salad was cold and fresh. Dinner was good. Nov 2 7pm dinner in dining room at same table. Nov 3 7:15 dinner, dining room, same table and waiter. Met a nice couple seated next to us. Went to see Comedy show with cruise director and activities director. Best show we saw! Nov 4 7pm dinner in dining room, asked for same table as usual. They said it was reserved. Was seated at different table. Had mediocre chicken roll, pretty dry. Noticing the table we usually sit at stays empty. We ask our waiter why? He says table is broken. Now we go back to maitre de station and ask why can’t they just move that table out. Hostess tells us it’s unavailable because guests sitting on the other side of table had requested “social distancing” from start of cruise. But we’ve been sitting there since beginning, so that is a blatant lie. Then the hostess says, we need to honor our guests wishes. What about our request…shouldn’t our requests be honored as well? Not to mention there are tables surrounding their table and they were all full. At this point, the maitre de comes up to me, snaps to attention and in a stern manner says “That TABLE WILL NO LONGER BE AVAILABLE FOR THE REST OF THIS CRUISE!” Seriously? How do you social distance in a dining room with tables all very close together. We were vaccinated and tested for Covid. If they were that worried they should have gotten room service or requested another, more remote, table. How about the rest of their cruise…how did they social distance around a crowded pool, full bars, theatre’s, buffet at lunch, etc. Now my husband is angry. We go to guest services to log a complaint…they called for head maitre d to come down and speak with us. My husband tells him the story and that he’s tired of all the apologies with nothing being done about them. So much for a Happy Anniversary! Maitre d says to come see him the next evening and he will get us a table. But not our usual table. I tell him now we don’t even want to go back to the dining room. Frustrated and insulted, I go to the elevators and go up to bed as I’m no longer interested in any activities onboard. Not only do these four people get to alienate us but they were in shorts and t-shirts, which to my understanding, were not allowed in dining room. Why didn’t they just move them to a more secluded area of the dining room (if there is such a place anywhere onboard except your cabin)! Once back in room, phone rings and it’s the maitre d asking if we would like to upgrade to one of the specialty restaurants. My husband tells him no, we already experienced that catastrophe. This is not a Carnival cruise…we didn’t complain to get an upgrade…again, insulted! Nov 5 It’s 7:30pm Our message is blinking. It’s the maitre d again. He’s telling us our USUAL table is available for us this evening. Well, isn’t that just great. It’s late…it’s evening chic night and we’re not even showered as we had no intention of going to the main dining room. How were we supposed to abide by dress code and get there by 8:30-9pm? Not only that, but we would have been eating alone in the dining room as every one else would have been finished and on there way to other activities. Again, ANOTHER INSULT! Nov 6 My poor husband, John, finally lost it. We went to get some dinner at the buffet. He got some kind of steak…must have been still frozen in the middle, because the outside was cooked and the inside was cold and raw. The server in the section came up to him and apologized. John started blasting him about how he was sick of all the apologies. At that point I came back to table and tried to calm my husband down saying this staff in here have no idea what we’ve been through, don’t take it out on them. They left and I cut into my burger that had just been cooked…same thing; cold and raw in middle. You shouldn’t be serving raw burger to anyone! Tried several things that night. Everything was dried out, raw, or tasted like it was old. John, again, said he wanted to talk to the chef about my burger. Chef apologized. We no longer wanted anything. Overall, you shouldn’t receive that many apologies on a cruise. Even the wine…ordered a Pinot Grigio and it was dark golden color…tasted like vinegar. At one of the bars, they did tell me there was old wine in storage they were using. Seemed like there was frozen food that was past its due date as well. Since it is now towards the end of our voyage, I have noticed that we both have been quite swollen after eating anything. Salt does wonders to mask old, tasteless foods. Yes, we drank lots of bottled water. We have gone on many Royal Carribean cruises and never, ever had a complaint. Our room attendant, Badrus, was very kind and attentive. We appreciated all the service people. The heads of departments… not so much. I’m sorry to have to write this letter but it will be the final APOLOGY. Debbie and John Dykinga
Read more
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456