We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oneway to Rochester NY”
Review of American Airlines


Reviewed 9 July 2019

Nice flight, on time, and seats comfortable. Crew helpful and courteous. The Rochester NY Airport has just remodeled and installed hearing loops in the terminal boarding and check-in areas which is wonderful for us hard of hearing folks. I could actually hear what was said over the PA system! Wonderful improvement!!

Date of travel: June 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (72,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12,153 - 12,157 of 72,167 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2019

Flight left on-time and arrived ahead of schedule good smooth flight. Return flight was the same left on-time and arrived ahead of schedule. Both flights were non-stop.

Date of travel: May 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank mikehow148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2019

We travel between twice and three times a year to the Caribbean and have been doing so for years. The flight between Miami and St. Vincent & the Grenadines (our last three flights) is usually a 737.
Main cabin extra is a recent name for something AA has pretty much had for years now. Basically, you pay extra for bulkhead seats. The free drinks thing is new but frankly, we don't drink on flights anyway. Sodas are free no matter what seats you are in. But I'm six foot two (about 220) and the extra leg room is worth it on the 4 hour plus flights. Obviously "main cabin extra" includes more than the bulkhead seats...so AA can make more money. But those are the ones you want. The main advantage with bulkhead seats is that there is no one in front of you to suddenly decide to fully recline their seat.
When we can, we always fly front row business class. But AA has dramatically raised the price to our favorite destinations (SVD, UVF, BGI) and what was once between $2100 to $2500 for two non-refundable business class tickets is now $3700. And they will TRY to get you to bite on a $5200 price tag. I don't know exactly how that works but when trying to book ten months in advance, the first price is always $5200. We wait a couple of months and the price generally comes down to the $3700 we will pay. If not, we just book main cabin extra and pay for our bags. It runs us about $2500 total during high season.
Look...AA is just another giant US corporation. They want to get as much of your money as they can while continually telling you how wonderful they are. But they are not in business to do you, me, or anyone else any favors because they somehow "like" us. They don't treat the people who work for them very well...why would they somehow treat us better?
We fly AA to our Caribbean destinations not because we want to but because we have to. With Miami as their Caribbean/South American hub, they have the best arrival and departure schedules to and from the islands we visit. I've looked at Delta connections out of Atlanta (which are generally cheaper) but I can't seem to make them work for us.
When we lived in Chapel Hill, NC we could fly AA direct out of Charlotte, skipping Miami entirely. We miss that a LOT!!!

Date of travel: March 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Curt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2019

Short flight to ABQ and not too much in the way of turbulence. Service was swift despite the stale pretzels. Everything about the trip was okay until we landed. I swear the rear of the plane sounded like it hit the ground we landed with such a BANG.

Date of travel: June 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank JeannieS238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2019 via mobile

Flight was smooth and the seats were comfy. I like their boarding methodology by groups. It makes it easy to determine when you should jump up for your turn in the cattle queue.

Date of travel: July 2019
2  Thank floridatraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.