We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and excellent crew”
Review of American Airlines


Reviewed 9 December 2019

It is not often that you wish for a regional jet. This is so much better than the A319 or event the A320 that AA flies. It still has seats that you can sit in for the entire flight without becoming a squirmy person in the seat trying to find a comfortable spot or position. PSA operates the flight, their entire crew was excellent. Bump free landing in a RJ - not too many pilots can give you that. On time departure and arrival, although we did have to sit and wait for the E concourse corridor to open up at CLT. If you've flown through this airport you understand the frustrations you can eperience when you land on time and miss your connecting flights. Not the airline's problem it is a CLT problem. I book a longer connect time in CLT to make sure it doesn't happen again.

Date of travel: December 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank 345fredk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (71,715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,743 - 4,747 of 71,715 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2019

What a difference the cabin crews makes! I flew two legs on a Friday evening - one from GPT to DFW and the other from DFW to CID. Both were on Embraer 175s. Both were the same duration. And I was seated in the same seat on both legs (3A).

On the first leg, the first class flight attendant barely acknowledged boarding passengers. She did not serve pre-flight beverages. When we were at altitude, she served a round of drinks in plastic cups, passed the snack basket, then disappeared behind the curtain for the rest of the flight. When we deplaned, she barely acknowledged anyone.

On the second leg, the first class flight attended warmly greeted everyone and served a round of pre-flight drinks with a smile. Once aloft, she served another round (in glass) and chatted with each passenger as she did. She passed the snack basket twice. And before descent, offered another round of drinks. Deplaning, she smiled and thanked us all for flying.

What a difference a flight crew makes!

Date of travel: December 2019
Thank dwg51357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2019

Flights this year were on time and service to all airports was good. Did not have a lot of gate time, but made next flight just fine. Will use American to fly to Hilton Head again due to the fact they now use only jets and no props. Of course I picked exit row seats for comfort and they were excellent!!

Date of travel: November 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank John P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2019

flew out of STL with a connection through Phoenix. Once in Phoenix our flight kept getting delayed and we were held in Phoenix five hours as SFO had runway maintenance and would not allow us to land. We finally arrived to our hotel after midnight. As we now knew this we planned ahead and I played travel agent all day with American trying to get us out. We were upset as American already knew they had runways closed and we were NOT made aware! Had we known we could have planned an alternate arrival and departure city. Thank You American!!

Date of travel: September 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank gregmN8738EN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2019

Layover in Philly is where it all went downhill. Flight was late taking off due to maintenance issues in the plane's head (lavatory). Issue was fixed and we pulled away from the gate. While on the runway, another material alarm indicated there was an issue with a de-icing valve in one of the wings. This required the plane to return to the gate for repairs. During this time, the flight crew busted their flight time clock and all passengers were required to de-plane to allow time for another flight crew to be arranged. No alternate flight options were presented. New flight crew arrived. Snacks were promised but only arrived as everyone was reboarding. Flight took off over an hour behind schedule. Upon landing at SEATAC, there were no open gates for our arrival. Everyone had to disembark off manual ramps in the rain and board buses to get delivered to the N gate terminal and take the tram back to the main terminal. Apologies were abundant, but no attempt at compensation was ever made. Have always had issues with this airline, especially traveling through Philly. Will never choose to fly with them, again.

Date of travel: November 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank stevenvonrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.