We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent flights”
Review of Virgin Atlantic Airways


Reviewed 10 March 2020 via mobile

Flew Heathrow to New York, did a cruise & then flew back from San Francisco to Heathrow. Both flights were superb. Seats were extremely comfortable; food excellent; in-flight entertainment very good too. Staff were very friendly & efficient. 2 extremely good flights. Looking forward to being able to fly with them again

Date of travel: January 2020
1  Thank copperat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (15,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 276 of 15,194 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2020

We flew with Virgin from LHR to CapeTown via Johannnesburg; no complaints re Virgin but it did take quite a lot longer. The return journey was from Port Elizabeth to LHR via Johannesburg. Both of the journeys in South Africa were with an agent of BA.
The times booked for the return journey looked very good; they gave us 4/5 hours to explore Port Elizabeth and get a good meal and a reasonable transfer in Jo'burg. About 6 weeks before our departure we were told that the return flights had been changed. This meant that our departure from Port Elizabeth was brought forward by over 4 hours thus leaving us with no time to explore; in Jo'burg our wait time was increased by more than 4 hours giving us a very long wait leading us well into the evening for the 11 hour flight to UK. My wife and I are both in our 80's so were quite exhausted when we got back to LHR with a 1.5 hour self-drive back home. If airlines have taken bookings for flights they should not be allowed to change them!

Date of travel: November 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank fbird167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020

Very good airline, great crew 22.02 and flight back 28.02
good food as well, We were sitting in last rows and was nice and comfy

Date of travel: February 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Katarzyna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020

Decided to upgrade to Premium Economy, and i'm so glad we did. So much more relaxing. Quicker boarding.Comfy seats and more choice of food.

Date of travel: June 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Widdertwanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020

Can not fault the service of the crew and ground staff. Food was very good and service was friendly and staff were helpful.

Date of travel: March 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank 196beverleyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.